The parable of the Mexican Fisherman

in #money6 years ago

This is my favorite little story to remind myself everyday about enjoying the simpler life and not get caught up in the rat race. I'm yet to find the perfect balance as I still think I'm working a bit more than I would like to but hopefully in the coming years I can find a bit better balance.


Source

I was actually introduced to it through the Garth Brooks song FISH, when he gives a simplified version of the story. I usually listen to it daily on my walk to work, You can check it out here


Source

Anyways sorry for the long introduction as always

I'll share the parable, which I got from this source here.

An American investment banker was taking a much-needed vacation in a small coastal Mexican village when a small boat with just one fisherman docked. The boat had several large, fresh fish in it.

The investment banker was impressed by the quality of the fish and asked the Mexican how long it took to catch them.

The Mexican replied, “Only a little while.”

The banker then asked why he didn’t stay out longer and catch more fish?

The Mexican fisherman replied he had enough to support his family’s immediate needs.

The American then asked “But what do you do with the rest of your time?”

The Mexican fisherman replied, “I sleep late, fish a little, play with my children, take siesta with my wife, stroll into the village each evening where I sip wine and play guitar with my amigos: I have a full and busy life, señor.”


Source

The investment banker scoffed, “I am an Ivy League MBA, and I could help you. You could spend more time fishing and with the proceeds buy a bigger boat, and with the proceeds from the bigger boat you could buy several boats until eventually you would have a whole fleet of fishing boats. Instead of selling your catch to the middleman you could sell directly to the processor, eventually opening your own cannery. You could control the product, processing and distribution.”

Then he added, “Of course, you would need to leave this small coastal fishing village and move to Mexico City where you would run your growing enterprise.”

The Mexican fisherman asked, “But señor, how long will this all take?”

To which the American replied, “15-20 years.”

“But what then?” asked the Mexican.

The American laughed and said, “That’s the best part. When the time is right you would announce an IPO and sell your company stock to the public and become very rich. You could make millions.”

“Millions, señor? Then what?”

To which the investment banker replied, “Then you would retire. You could move to a small coastal fishing village where you would sleep late, fish a little, play with your kids, take siesta with your wife, stroll to the village in the evenings where you could sip wine and play your guitar with your amigos.”


Source

Makes you think eh?


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

That's funny you post this. I didn't know the Garth reference, but did you know that the restaurant Jimmy John's has this parable on their wall at one of their St. Paul locations? haha, we would always eat there as it was across from the birthing center we were going to have our daughter at. Brings back some memories for sure. I actually wrote a post about it too :) oh so long ago... https://steemit.com/story/@intothewild/how-much-is-enough

I remember hearing/reading this story and thinking "for an Ivy League MBA that guy is not very smart" XD though I like to think he came to the same realisation and felt very silly afterwards ;D

You have been defended with a 100.00% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

That is what happens with our lives. The only difference is that we do not know the last answer.

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @phelimint!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 29.13% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

So very good...and thanks for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64