Hacks To Become A Millionaire

in #money8 years ago

These are some books that changed my life and financial thinking, I was raised in a poor family, and now I have more then I ever could imagine at this age.

The Millionaire Next Door: The Surprising Secrets of America's Wealthy, It discussed the thought process and daily life of millionaires. Which Is a completely different picture than one that is glorified in our daily media experiences.

After talking to some people, and taking what I learned from this book and applied it to a book I read a month or so ago

" I Was Blind But Now I see" By James Altucher.

It has had a life changing impact on how I see the world. Things aren’t as they seem at all.

We are so caught up in society’s expectations all the time, which they blind us. We know no other method or pathway. We all know what we “want” but only a few know how actually to get it. There are more opportunities for growth than ever before.

But the struggle is sorting through and picking out the right opportunities and risks to get effectively what we want.

Some of the hardest working people don’t have wealth. They aren’t using their money effectively, Or they aren’t generating enough income.

Growing up in a low-income family, while my dad runs his own contracting business and works very hard. We were raised being taught to live within our means If we want something larger or expensive. Like a new car, we set that money aside until we have enough or take out a loan.

According to my parents, Investing was something way out of reach, for those people who are “geniuses”. Although If you look at other people, we know, They are doing much better than us. And my parents are consistently insulting them. In the Book "A Millionaire Mind" By Harv Eker

He emphasizes that your brain DOESN'T want to become, What you continuously insult and criticize. Many people make fun of Rich people; They are clearly jealous of the person's wealth. And when you do that, You won't ever become rich. This is something I learned In the book by Harv Eker.

Whenever we’d go out to eat or go to a store, My uncle who is a pilot and his family was always buying generic and spending rather conservatively. We’d go out to eat, and they would share a meal or order something cheap off the menu. My parents used to get upset at this, saying that they could “afford better.” They also claimed that members of my family were "Cheap and Greedy" for always trying to save money When they are "already Rich."

As a kid I didn’t understand, but when I got older and started looking into a college education. I began to see how expensive it was. My Aunt and Uncle paid 100% of their daughter’s college tuition and she got a bachelor’s degree. My parents again insulted my cousin for this that she had her whole education handed to her on a “silver platter”. I was expected to pay 100% of my college costs.

I Would come home from my two jobs exhausted, immediately starting on piles of homework. As my mother sat on the couch all day eating fast food, drinking expensive coffees and watching T.V. All day long. My dad would also come home tired and exhausted, Working almost 12 hours a day and receiving no help with bills and having no money for retirement.

Having a wife that refuses to have a job, Even though all of her kids have grown up. As the youngest child, my mother was spoiled her parents gave her everything. As a result, she has no motivation to work and she expects people to do everything for her.

This was when I began to admire my aunt and uncle. Living a conservative lifestyle, while having a good quality life. Who would have thought you can have both of those! They are healthy and have time for their kids. As well as yearly vacations, my parents have never been on vacation; They are unhealthy and overweight. They leave the house only to pick up their daily pack of cigarettes, Expensive coffees, and daily gas station sodas. When there are cheaper alternatives.

This prompted me to learn about different types of cheapskate methods of obtaining what I need for free or for cheap. I’ve studied the minimalist lifestyle and learned tips from other frugal people. Dumpster diving, Thrift Shopping, Taking inventory of what you own, Cashing in recycling, receipts and other things that you find on the ground for an easy buck. Instead of eating out I taught myself how to cook, All of my food is cheap and homemade. I even add up the cost of portions, so I can be mindful as I’m eating, To how much money I’m eating out of my paycheck.

At 20 years old I started investing in stock, Learning about peer to peer lending, I opened a retirement account, and I save 15% of each paycheck. I was able to learn so much that Instead of working two jobs and going to school, I can work one part time job and pay for my tuition and all of my living expenses while building an investment portfolio.

Even though at 23, my life goals have changed. I have dropped out of college. I no longer have a job. Instead, I am comfortably self-employed. I continue to invest, In stock, Peer to peer lending and now a bit of cryptocurrency. I still hold the same standards about

  • Saving money
  • Living minimalist
  • Being super cheap.
  • Working hard
  • Cooking my own meals


The sacrifices were hard at first, But its peaceful. I can enjoy the items I do own and not worry about the clutter of having extra. Being financially stable is a much better feeling, Then having that fast food that just makes you unhealthy.

The Millionaire Next Door confirmed a lot of what I already know, but it also made me realize that I should be thankful, Even though I wasn’t raised in the ideal environment the fact I have never received financial help has created a motivated, Hardworking and opportunity seeking woman.

If I had money handed to me, I may of turned out to be a UAW, (Who earns to spend), When you need to spend more you need to earn more.

But instead it created a PAW, This book had incredible statistics that were also very inspiring.

“1 out of 30 nonaffluent people have a chance of being a millionaire.“

While Affluent people have a “1 in 8 chance” of having their children grow up to make millions.

Millionaires tend to teach their children the correct way to handle finances. Something that is denied to lower income families. They don’t know about it, So they don’t teach their children.

“Work a job for the great company and rack up the years so you’ll have job stability.”


Is what I was taught. Many of these millionaires hold only high school education or undergraduate degrees! In James Altucher’s book, it discussed the value of being an Entrepreneur and finding your own opportunities; You don’t have to stick to the conventional way of life!

We are brainwashed into believing that we must follow the steps that everyone else does, when it doesn’t have to be that way. The Millionaire Next Door Confirms this.

We see wealthy as having a mansion, spending freely, Driving fancy cars. Having everything made out of pure gold. The book highlighted jobs that may require you to play the part and spend more of your money, Such as an attorney, Doctor, etc. I was surprised that Teachers are wealthier, while they work long hours and make little.

They are smarter about how they spend their money and can easily live a more modest lifestyle.

Many millionaires shop at Walmart and Target, as well as J.C. Penny,

They look at price as well as durability. If they made a T.V. Show about how millionaires are, People might not care to be a “millionaire” as much; They may get bored by how long they spend planning finances and searching for nicely priced items.

On the T.V. show “Extreme Cheapskates” some of these people are millionaires. I enjoyed seeing how they were in real life. One lady had the same beat up $ 2,000 car, and she refused repairs on it.

“ I bought a crappy car, So I wouldn’t have to spend money on it,” She said.

Instead of Tuna, She’d eat cat food, because it was cheaper. She wouldn’t even flush the toilet. She’d pee in a jar only to dump it outside in her compost.

While these methods are extreme even for typical Millionaires. Every expense and penny add up. Cutting down one mini cost like flushing your toilet may not make a big difference, But cutting down a ton of mini costs, like not flushing, re using water, Not using lights can add up very quickly. In a place where you have so many extreme consumers, you can sometimes get many necessities for free. Some of the standard statistics of Millionaires they outlined were,

-Male, Middle-aged
-Don’t have multiple marriages
-Live well below their means
-They believe in financial independence being better than displaying high social status.
-They choose the right occupation
-Adult children are financially independent
-Self-employed people makeup less than 20% of the workers in America but account for 2/3 of Millionaires.
-80% are the first generation
-Paws are builders of wealth; The book spends a lot of time comparing the mindset and the finances of these people.

Many “rich” who show high social status on their sleeve are not wealthy. The people who are wealthy could live anywhere, even next door. These people are typically goal oriented. PAWS love to work,

Because they are usually doing something they enjoy, While UAWS only work a lot because they must support their massive consumption habits.

This book helped me realize that even though I haven’t been perfect with finances, within the time I am capable of getting what I want out of life. I can be financial independent. My knowledge is getting better every day as I dedicate at least an hour a day to nonfictional reading, on subjects such as finance, Entrepreneurship, Being frugal, and living a minimalist lifestyle.

At 22, I had my first retirement account set up, and I understand it enough to have correctly it set up, I own a little stock, and I invest in peer to peer lending. I’m currently looking into bonds and learning about more investment strategies. I was also building my credit score at this age.

Now at the age of 23, I am happily self-employed. I have added Cryptocurrency to my investments. I have decided not to do bonds, because of the lack of interest made. I figured I should take more risks while I'm young. I am making all of my dreams come true, One by one.

This book was motivating and enjoyable; I wish they required this book in jr high or high school. It has invaluable information that should be considered more important in society. If you haven't read it yet, You may want to take a look.

The Millionaire Next Door: The Surprising Secrets of America's Wealthy

Sort:  

Hack to become a millionaire

  • Find a new social media platform that pays you to post
  • Get in early, preferably within the first 6 months
  • Post quality content daily to build up a loyal following
  • Power up every dollar you make (you know...if there's a thing called "power up" on this hypothetical platform)
  • If possible, invest some of your own money in Steem Power (again, hypothetically speaking)
    Do this consistently for several years. If the platform grows to millions of users you will likely be a millionaire and have a very high annual income

HAHHA EXACTLY! But I also wanted to spread the word about other ways, haha.

I wouldn't bet the farm on Steem(it), because it doesn't appear to be spreading virally, there are only ~1500 active users who've earned $100s, and posting metrics have been declining since mid-July.

You are being paid out of a debasement (i.e. increase in the supply) of the pool of Steem tokens, which requires investors continue buying Steem tokens, and the other users don't power down. But if SP holders and investors realize the site isn't actually growing at a sufficient rate to become viable...

Btw, you were the #13 top defector from the ecosystem this past week. I was #44. You tried to sugar coat the reason you withdrew funds, ostensibly because of the politics of how you generate income from your posts. I didn't try to make any excuses for why I withdrew my earnings from the site. That isn't a criticism, but rather perhaps an observation instructive to why some people refer to this place as a "circle-jerk".

You are talented and I hope you can find a sustainable niche in art, as Leah McHenry as apparently done in music (even after she has borne 5 children!).

I wasn't intending to imply your only possible talent is in art. I agree with what @schro wrote in a comment about your communication senses being very compatible with the current desire of the Steem community for inspiring, intelligent, thoughtful, feisty, provocative messages, regardless if that is something any significant group would actually pay for.

My point is that it is easy for people to monetarily vote to tip such, when they feel it isn't being taken out of their own wallet. There seems to be this groupthink on Steem that we can force the rest of the world to change because we are so awesome, but that isn't the way marketing actually works. You have an astute sense of the reality of the world, so even if I haven't communicated my point clearly, I assume you will understand.

I don't expect Steemit to be a permanent source of income. I mean if it is, COOL! But that is why I am always focusing on building multiple sources of income just in case one platform falls away. Even without Steemit I can survive comfortably.

Thank you! I was really confused when you said that "I sugar coated my excuse" because I haven't told a lot of people why I've taken money out. Usually I power up or most of my stuff, But recently I became self employed and I have a lot of debt. I'm using some of the money Ive been making to go on a small vacation and to pay off my debt. Once that is done, I intend to start powering up more.
I believe in Steemit and I want to build up my voting power as much as I can.

I have a passion in a lot of subjects. I feel like if I only post about art and nothing else. I may get bored. So I"ve been expanding to a variety of subjects. This is probably not smart in the long term for my "Niche" But I can't help it. To be honest I'm not sure if I fully understand your comment. I don't plan to to "bet the farm" But I do want to invest in the platform.

But recently I became self employed and I have a lot of debt. I'm using some of the money Ive been making to go on a small vacation and to pay off my debt. Once that is done, I intend to start powering up more.

It is very wise to pay off all debt before investing in a speculative blockchain project, especially one that locks up your money for 1 year average holding period.

I should make some disclosures so that you will be able to weigh my opinion with an understanding of my biases. If you had followed my links to Bitcointalk.org discussion, and had read many of iamnotback's (my) posts there, you would come to realize that I am intending to create a competitor to Steem, that will have some significant differences.

The problem I see with Steem's voting paradigm is that it motivates producing content which appeals site-wide, instead of to a coterie of like-minded followers. But site-wide focused content is a groupthink, meaning I think Steem will struggle to be relevant to wider diversity of audiences.

Also blogging is not something most people can do well, so why will millions of others join if the only they can read of the "we are change" (self-help, libertarian principles, anarchy proponents, why steemians are awesome, etc) groupthink blogs. The stats show that 93% of signups don't even earn $10 on Steem(it), so why would they bother to stay here. On Medium there are 20,000 people who blog weekly, and 25 million unique monthly blog readers. On Steem(it), we appear to have about 1500 serious bloggers active in the past week who've earned at least $100s. I doubt that Steemit has 2 million unique monthly readers (which is another reason to think Steemit's Alexa rank is not correct or manipulated as it estimates 6.5 million monthly readers).

But more importantly, I don't see why those serious Medium bloggers would switch to Steem(it), when they can't earn anything because their content doesn't appeal to the "we are change" mindset of the Steem groupthink.

And without growth, the monetary system of Steem will implode as it would then just be all of us extracting from the collective debasement of the money supply without any widespread viral growth to show for it, that would drive investment.

I have what I think is a better design, which solves these dilemmas. I think voting is a dysfunctional paradigm for numerous reasons. We shouldn't even be bothered with trying to discern what a vote should mean, as for example how you used downvoting as a weapon against @nameles who you felt was bad for the site. I understand the frustration with trolls and also the desire to protect the site, but that ends up as a war of attrition and no one wins if we all bind ourselves together in one groupthink and fight over who has control. Instead the solution is decentralization of groupings, so our like-minded groupings have localized control, not site-wide.

Also I think the Steem(it) name sucks. It doesn't speak to what a site like this really does and should be about, in terms of being a store of content for content producers.

I am not powering up because I must lock up my investment for 2 years (1 year weighted average price to power down). And in crypto s/w world, everything can change in a one month. The design I am contemplating, won't force anyone to power up in order to invest. Steem's design dilutes (liquid not powered up) STEEM at 50% yearly, thus it is not very attractive for medium-term speculation.

There are numerous flaws I see in Steem, although I think it has been an important experiment and I congratulate the creators on their initial success.

As in all things, best to diversify to hedge our bets. I continue to support Steem(it) and want to see where it can go, while I am also working on a competing design, so we all have options. Competition is what drives improvement.

Edit: my key point is that the groupthink of voting will discourage diversification of content and readership and thus limit Steem's upside adoption. So far, the metrics seem to support my view that Steem is topping out in a crypto-libertarian-nerd-hippie groupthink.

You tried to sugar coat the reason you withdrew funds

Apologies I confused you with @katecloud who was #19 "defector" on the prior week and her excuse:

https://steemit.com/art/@katecloud/i-cashing-in-steem-hiking-the-appalachian-trail-and-body-painting-a-maxium-model

I'd also add, mine to start off with. I've gotten far more SP through mining than through curation/author rewards...

EDIT: Well, I guess that's unless you're famous somehow or really good at writing posts people like.

Wow thats awesome!!
I have no idea how to mine! Heeh I'm here for the blogging aspect But I feel like I"m doing well too.

Yeah, you were the "really good at writing posts people like" half of that sentence. ;)

Lol Oh gosh XD
Writing isn't my best skill, I'm an artist.

Wow thats awesome!!

The 12 SP in his Wallet seems to indicate otherwise.

Image

Agreed :) Very smart quote.

when you don't fear money, it simply falls into place when it's needed

Very cool to hear your opinion experience and thoughts on this. What do you think about napoleon hill's think and grow rich?

Ohh! I've actually read that one. I agree and disagree, I feel like you should be more active in the process. But his data was very interesting too! Thank you for bringing that up.

I totally agree on being more active in the process. But glad to hear you also found that interesting.

can anyone else verify the quality of these books? seems interesting

If you go on Amazon or click the links I put in the article, You can read all the reviews :) Most of them have 4-5 star reviews. I think Harv Eker's book "millionaire mind" has a full five stars.

I totally get it and my parents were the same way. I was naturally bitter towards those that were born into wealth. It's a pretty toxic mindset.

Its very true, If you hate rich people so much, Why would your brain want you to join them. Besides most millionaires work hard for their money. It's not always inherited. And they deserve respect too!

Unless they are destroying the planet, I have no qualms with them. The only thing I really hate is corruption.

EXACTLY! Sometimes money can give you the power to hurt the earth and I'm not okay with that at all.

@kaylinart, speaking my first language are ya? :-) Eker's Secrets of a Millionaire Mind is such an awesome book!

"Start with Why" by Simon Sinek I highly suggest if you haven't read.

There is also the book the started it all - "Think & Grow Rich" by Napolean Hill. I posted a cliff notes version of it if you are interested: https://steemit.com/life/@scaredycatguide/think-and-grow-rich-the-greatest-motivational-book-in-history-summed-up-in-a-5-page-essay

GREAT book. Simon Sinek is a total badass.

Agreed! That book changed the way I approach many endeavors. Including steemit! That line of thinking is what keeps me chugging along here regardless of outcome.

The millionaire hack is 30% of every paycheque deducted at source and sent to a tax-sheltered investment account where it is invested in a few diversified dividend ETFs set up to automatically DRIP. Starting a business is great, and I have done so numerous times, but for the majority people (ie. employees) this is the surest and fastest path to financial independence. At least, according to me. ;)

I've heard of this :) But I haven't put it into practice! Maybe it's something I need to do :)

Well, that or powering up. If Steemit goes mainstream SP and SD will be all the investing most people ever need to do... SP = equities, SD = bonds. So the percentage of portfolio in SP = 100 - Age and keep the rest in SD. ie. if you're 40 years old 60% of investment funds in SP and 40% in SD. Easy and effective.

Very smart :) I'm using a bit of my SD To pay some debt, Then I'll be powering it all up too! I believe in Steemits future and I want a bigger piece of the pie hehe!

Yes, getting rid of debt is the smartest financial move anyone can make. Debt is like being in a jail cell with a vampire.

I officially declare my self a big fan of yours! And I've been following you since the beginning, so I will enjoy seeing how you keep improving and improving. :)

You're right about the J.C penny etc. Bill Bonner the owner of Agora publishing for example, his wife complains about his 10 dollar jeans :) And he's a billionaire I think or close to it.

Though eveyone has to live in harmony with themselves (those who want/need to look good have to invest in themselves) to create a better outcome in accordance of what they need.

But you're right, you become rich by producing more than you're consuming and saving the difference.

Great post once again! :)

Thank you :)
I feel like being a "cheapskate" especially when you first start off is important. Then gradually building your income until it's something much bigger. Then you can spend a little more, But keep investing in yourself. That is the only area where I"m not as frugal. If I need a fancy Illustration tablet to make my drawings better, I won't hesitate to find one. After checking reviews of course.

Keep us posted :) I love the illustration you did with Sterlin the other day! :)

Wait, is that called: illustration, drawing or profile? I suck at art :P

I think it could be called anything. I'm actually not too sure either LOL some artist I am. haha thank you for your compliment.

Some of the standard statistics of Millionaires they outlined were,
-Male, Middle-aged
-Don’t have multiple marriages

My personal experience is that the wrong personal relationships can totally derail the potential to become a multi-millionaire. And in that case, we have no one to blame but ourself.

In my case for example, I was offered a $million in stock options on top of an existing salary of $80,000 in 1995 by Fractal Design Corp (creator what is now Corel Painter, the first natural media painting s/w), and I walked away to go live in squalor in the Philippines. Multiply those amounts by 2 or 3 to get today's value due to inflation, e.g. a typical annual salary now in my field in California is $150 - $200K. FDC became MetaCreations and I believe the stock options I refused ended up fully vesting. My former boss Mark Zimmer now holds a top position at Apple Computer and was recruited personally by Steve Jobs.

From that squalor while I was battling horrendous living conditions that made it very difficult to work, I created CoolPage launched near the end of 1998 and by 2001 it was generating ~$500K annual gross (much of which was profit), but again it was relationship and concomitant lifestyle/venue choices that caused me to loose it all, end up bankrupt, and in a chronic health ailment that seems to mimic some of the symptoms of Multiple Sclerosis.

But here is the deal. I am 51. I am sick, hole in my skull (from a hammer), blinded in one eye 12/1/1999 (due to those relationship/venue choices), but still fighting and kicking. And its not too late (although almost so). When you wake up and realize, then you are empowered.

So first advice I give is stay away from people who bring even one iota of unproductive and unnecessary crap into your life (and that might include our parents or parent). You've got to have a stoic focus, a resolve, a plan, and a very competitive unwavering instinct.

Also I couldn't have made it physically, emotionally, mentally, and self-discipline without intense exercise. I also concur with you on healthy, home cooked food. Referring to your prior blog, eggs are very healthy, but cheese is not (for one reason because all the dairy is homogenized and cows are not typically grass fed ... goat's milk is much higher in Omega A). Or maybe I am just super sensitive to food since my digestive system seems to think any food is a pathogen now, but I also remember when I was younger and healthier that eating cheese made me feel bloated and lethargic.

I agree, Relationships have a big impact. Divorce is expensive!
Thank you for sharing your exeriences! you've had a crazy life and I hope you will share it on Steemit! :) I hope you are rewarded generously for it too!

I agree that cheese is unhealthy and society need to work towards sourcing our food properly! I personally buy only grass fed butter currently and I'm working towards changing other products I use over. I actually don't eat cheese often for the same reason lol! Although I love the flavor, So sometimes I'll "treat" myself to one of those small blocks you see at the store.

I hope you get better :( What you are going through sounds awful!

Thanks. :)

I'm determined to.

(typo I meant omega 3 vs. omega 6)

It's alright hehe :) I understood what you meant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48