You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hacks To Become A Millionaire

in #money8 years ago (edited)

Some of the standard statistics of Millionaires they outlined were,
-Male, Middle-aged
-Don’t have multiple marriages

My personal experience is that the wrong personal relationships can totally derail the potential to become a multi-millionaire. And in that case, we have no one to blame but ourself.

In my case for example, I was offered a $million in stock options on top of an existing salary of $80,000 in 1995 by Fractal Design Corp (creator what is now Corel Painter, the first natural media painting s/w), and I walked away to go live in squalor in the Philippines. Multiply those amounts by 2 or 3 to get today's value due to inflation, e.g. a typical annual salary now in my field in California is $150 - $200K. FDC became MetaCreations and I believe the stock options I refused ended up fully vesting. My former boss Mark Zimmer now holds a top position at Apple Computer and was recruited personally by Steve Jobs.

From that squalor while I was battling horrendous living conditions that made it very difficult to work, I created CoolPage launched near the end of 1998 and by 2001 it was generating ~$500K annual gross (much of which was profit), but again it was relationship and concomitant lifestyle/venue choices that caused me to loose it all, end up bankrupt, and in a chronic health ailment that seems to mimic some of the symptoms of Multiple Sclerosis.

But here is the deal. I am 51. I am sick, hole in my skull (from a hammer), blinded in one eye 12/1/1999 (due to those relationship/venue choices), but still fighting and kicking. And its not too late (although almost so). When you wake up and realize, then you are empowered.

So first advice I give is stay away from people who bring even one iota of unproductive and unnecessary crap into your life (and that might include our parents or parent). You've got to have a stoic focus, a resolve, a plan, and a very competitive unwavering instinct.

Also I couldn't have made it physically, emotionally, mentally, and self-discipline without intense exercise. I also concur with you on healthy, home cooked food. Referring to your prior blog, eggs are very healthy, but cheese is not (for one reason because all the dairy is homogenized and cows are not typically grass fed ... goat's milk is much higher in Omega A). Or maybe I am just super sensitive to food since my digestive system seems to think any food is a pathogen now, but I also remember when I was younger and healthier that eating cheese made me feel bloated and lethargic.

Sort:  

I agree, Relationships have a big impact. Divorce is expensive!
Thank you for sharing your exeriences! you've had a crazy life and I hope you will share it on Steemit! :) I hope you are rewarded generously for it too!

I agree that cheese is unhealthy and society need to work towards sourcing our food properly! I personally buy only grass fed butter currently and I'm working towards changing other products I use over. I actually don't eat cheese often for the same reason lol! Although I love the flavor, So sometimes I'll "treat" myself to one of those small blocks you see at the store.

I hope you get better :( What you are going through sounds awful!

Thanks. :)

I'm determined to.

(typo I meant omega 3 vs. omega 6)

It's alright hehe :) I understood what you meant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53