Consuming Rich Dad, Poor Dad Thanks to AnarchaForko Book Discussion

in #money6 years ago

One of my favorite portions of Anarchaforko was the book discussion held by @mwolfe13


As someone on the prowl for worthwhile new books to consume as a way to continue learning and growing, I found Mackenzie's book-sharing group deeply rewarding.

This particular group really embodied the participatory nature of the fork, as a microphone was passed around and forkers were asked to name the 2-3 most influential books in their life. This exchange of impactful literature was a memorable experience that has stuck with me since the fork took place. In fact, if anyone has the full list of books from the event, I would be really grateful!

I've begun listening to the audiobook of Robert Kiyosaki 'Rich Dad, Poor Dad' and it's already changed my perspective


I believe it was @sovereignbtc who mentioned this as being one of his most influential books, and I can certainly see why. Although I'm only 5 chapters in, the section on defining what an asset and liability are has blown my mind.

As someone who thinks they are reasonably financially literate, I now realize I was still not fully aware of certain fundamental aspects of money. For the record, an asset is defined as anything that increases your wealth while a liability costs money.

Similar to the paradigm shifts present in Tim Ferris's seminal work 'The Four Hour Workweek', 'Rich Dad, Poor Dad' is full of useful perspective-changing information. It's a book I have had on my radar for some time now, and thus far it has not let me down. In terms of the self-help/personal development genre, this is definitely a must-read, especially for individuals looks to increase their understanding of money and wealth.

I look forward to tackling another Anarchaforko-recommended piece of literature :)

For those interested in listening to the book on tape, it's available on youtube.


All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, please upvote and resteem. I reward all intelligent comments with an upvote :)


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Hey thanks for sharing @colinhoward. I would like to listen to the audio👊🏽 I too prefer books for personal dev. Shud be interesting

Passive income blah blah blah, first few lines of every chapter is all you need to know and the rest is just regurgitated. People are generally broke because they spend more money than they make. People are rich because they make more than they spend or have too much money to spend. Save more than you spend and you will be rich, Eventually.

I think there's value in the way he presents the information, even if it isn't necessarily completely original.

'Saving money' is a very general piece of advice, and if taken literally means just leaving your fiat in a savings account that earns you almost nothing.

Hey @colinhoward! My BF and I listened to this audiobook together. It gave me a better understanding of his trading world. Actually, he hung out with you a the forko :). It's great to connect here and I look forward to following your posts. Thanks for sharing such great information with this community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29