Minnowbooster - The Voting Data, exposed! (Upgoats Everywhere!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowbooster7 years ago

Last week, I did some analysis on @randowhale's use since its inception. It isn't the only voting bot out there. I was approached by @reggaemuffin (thanks @suesa for the introduction) to look into the @minnowbooster bot to provide some stats on its usage.

I was provided some data, and today, I'd like to present my findings.

First, some information about @minnowbooster:

  • @minnowbooster is not just a bot you go to do upvote content
  • you can powerup minnowbooster, and get a return on the steempower you contribute.
  • you can delegate SP to Minnowbooster, and make it more powerful.
  • you can lease SP from Minnowbooster to make your own votes more powerful.

My favourite feature is what happens when you request a self-upvote:


@holoz0r, pictured as a dirty self-voter

There's a lot of features, and you can read about them in the Introduction Post

Now, for the votes, with the data provided kindly by @reggaemuffin:

Sample Size: 5422 Votes
Votes for Others: 655 (12.04%)
Self Votes: 4787 (87.96%)

Top 30 Users who have voted for others

UserVotes for OthersSBD Spent
@cardboard108.332
@kkkttt05100.28
@botmarley81.2
@renat24277
@anetchen78
@rkrijgsman71.8
@vinayakn76.5
@cheeto.blue73.5
@gpfelizco70.07
@dwightjaden60.06
@bhightech60.51
@foxycat67
@suggeelson50.9
@slayerkm56.45
@gee-world51
@kennyskitchen53.1
@deveerei50.81
@welcomesteemians46
@steemshiro40.8
@loveisintheair45
@rensoul1743.59
@travelingartgal43
@geke44
@sandaraclark41.41
@mdsquared45
@artcurator44.83
@zest43
@steemislove30.03
@quotesteemit31.543
@voghera32.485
@gamerpool34

Top 30 Users who have votes for themselves

UserVotes for SelfSBD Spent
@cryptopie3094.661
@gwapology20913.39
@aboutall1083.53
@qasimwaqar5114
@aniksh446.46
@duckmast3r336.8
@styleyfrancky286.12
@angrezi277.39
@asim2631.364
@bhightech2513.95
@rkrijgsman248.6
@writemore2462.832451
@pennystockhelp248.4
@sam992315.5
@pastzam237.9
@fairgirl235.92
@better-life-tips238.29
@abh123452211.463
@thedonfreeman217.23
@bloomberg2152113.912
@ghasemkiani2026
@tamiil198
@saveron23196
@alexthemagician1913.007
@shahabuddin222186.2
@pioner888777186.6
@kishan184.7
@morpheus031810.924
@coolwitch181.839
@lgfurmanczyk175.9
@arthestically1712
@minnowbooster won't let you vote-spam to oblivion, destroying it (or the rewards pool); this means that for most situations, users will need to think about what they're voting on, and not just throw SBD / STEEM at everything that they post, as evidenced by the prior investigation of @randowhale.

The bot is also fair, it refunds invalid bids, and is altruistic and fun in its design. With the data provided, we can see that just over $4000 SBD has flowed into the coffers of @minnowbooster.

It is fully transparent (just like everything else on a blockchain), however, @minnowbooster proudly streams its votes here .

I'd love to see a larger quantity of upvotes gifted to others with bots like minnowbooster, randowhale and booster, but from the ones that I've looked at so far, @minnowbooster does seem to have the most potential to allow the community (especially minnows) to be able to support each other (and themselves) within reasonable limits.


Want to go on more journeys with @holoz0r? Follow him, and his Steem-Mobile!

Sort:  

The picture that you shared is so relevant:

To the top with you 🐐
You have to post this under each post by @suesa xD

This is a great post! There's always a strange feeling when I use boosters for myself, but I'm glad to know there are brothers like me out there, who give themselves the old reach-around. Hahahah

Keep up the great work Mr. @Holoz0r. Looking forward for more! :D

Thank you, appreciate the comment. My ideal ratio of self votes to other votes would be 80/20 on voting services like this; perhaps with curation rewards earned from the person who "found" and upvoted the content being split between the bot and the person who paid for the vote.

@reggaemuffin how hard would something like the above be able to implement in order to drive greater incentive in using @minnowbooster for the posts of others?

We can give away comment rewards but sadly not the curation rewards of the upvote, that is something steem does not provide us with. Also tracking what curation came where is a nightmare.

But if we find a way to make this, I'd be all for it.

Really liking your suggestion btw. tip! link

@cipriang
nice comment...
if i have my way i help myself too!
i dont see anything bad in making some benefits for self...

Nice analysis, thank you! I've delegated some SP because I think it's a well-run project with potential to spread around curation and I like how they limit the amount which can be contributed to avoid over use and abuse.

This is one of the best features on the bot; the fact that it limits overuse, and isnt something that is going to obliterate the rewards pool to self voters.

Good work again mate. You cruising Hindley street in that? :)

Adelaide reference. Kudos.

I get around ;)

I think I'm too old for that these days. :p

I quiet picnic in Rymill Park then.

Nice work man.

A little embarrassed to see myself on the top 30 self up-voters with @minnowbooster - it is $ for $ the best bot currently though!

I'll have to try to show some love for others with it also, for that i mainly use @lovejuice - Maybe you could liaise with @aggroed and see if he'd like to see something like this produced for the juice?!

Cheers

Asher

@abh12345
how does the other ones work as you mentioned @lovejuice
dont feel guilty your name appeared... at this period of low ratings in hard worked contents...one need to find ways to create more values on his posts... wish you can also check out my posts and show some love dude;)
nice comment

Thanks, mo following. Check my wallet to see when I sent bot money to 👌🏽

Loading...

I voted for @aggroed. Why? because if I ever have a problem, I send him a comment, and he IMMEDIATELY has me smiling again. What more could you want?

Indeed. Top 10 witness in the making, you heard it 1st (well maybe not) here!

I didn't know of the existence of @lovejuice! Would be happy to do a similar analysis if @aggroed would be happy to provide the JSON / Vote Data for the bot. Otherwise, I could go the long way and get the data from the chain itself. :)

Well I've messaged him on discord so let's see :)

replied to abh12345 in this thread.

@lovejuice is meant to be a pretty friendly bot. I haven't done all the research but I think we've made 2000 votes. It only has 12kSP so it isn't nearly as strong as the other bots. But it also only costs 0.1SBD and for a while it was 0.01sbd. From what I see it's mostly self votes, but I've done my best to message using it on others. Happy for you to take a look. I'm not sure about logs. Happy to help though.

Thanks @aggroed :)

it also only costs 0.1SBD...

Have you noticed me sending it .2 / .3 over the past month and failed to mention it to me?! haha!

The minimum bid is.1. If you do 0.2 or more it guarantees a higher share of the vote in the case others choose to bid at the same time. It's not a waste so I figured it was in an appropriate range. People bidding above 1sbd I would discourage.

Are you cool for me to pull the data and make a post similar to this to identify trends? (See if we have a similar ratio of voters, see who the biggest customers are, etc)

Ahhhh! Yes agreed, having a smaller bot encourages lovejuice for others 👍🏾

great post you shared here.. @holoz0r
whats the highest amount one can upvote using minnowbooster. i tried 1$ it worked...
also can i upvote same post once daily for the next one week?
i usualy take time for my content which is very undervalued...need to work on it...
also what amount and process can i use to buy delegated sp...

You can only upvote each post once from each individual source. So you can't use minnowbooster or any of the other bots more than once. Unfortunately, in my opinion; you can use all the pay for vote bots on one post.

thanks for the info
which to you is simple and the payout better
whats the max and min amount one can invest...

I completely disagree with people self-upvoting, especially using bots. The value of a post is supposed to be determined by the attention it garners from the community, not how much attention can be bought by the author.

The Steem Whitepaper talks about how algorithms need to be put in place to prevent reward pool abuse, yet I see no such thing from any bot I've encountered.

@randowhale seems to believe it's just fine for people to self-upvote, probably because that's where 90% of their profit comes from, and @minnowbooster apparently has just as high of a self-upvote rate. It's unscrupulous, bot as long as the people running the bots are profiting from abuse, it's not likely to change

There is really nothing stopping someone from creating two accounts to upvote each other. Otherwise we probably tried disabling selfgoats already 🐐

This is the same response I got from randowhale, but I still feel like preventing it would deter a large portion of the abuse, and might encourage people to act in an ethical manner.

I feel as though having the image of a goat licking its own backside amid your own comments on a serious post is enough to deter my use of a service to self vote. Perhaps if all the voting bots had similar disincentives to self voting we'd see a change in that trend?

One of the reasons we need to split the post rewards 50/50 between author and curators, like it was more than 12 months ago. The only way to end the self upvote, is to give people a more lucrative way to spend their voting power.

But will creating posts be worth it then? I personally would love a 50/50 split but I can imagine many problems with it...

Let's talk about them then :)
Most people are going to care more about a total than a percentage. It only needs to increase the payouts by 34% in order to make the change of net benefit to the author.
If steemers are madly upvoting anything they think will be popular, instead of hoarding their vp for self upvotes, a 34% increase is far from ambitious.

True that.

This could trigger an even bigger flocking on the top 1% because everyone wants big curation rewards (and educating them on the system seems futile). But that will solve itself over time I guess...

I think you have convinced me.

Hi @holoz0r! You have just received a 0.1 SBD tip from @reggaemuffin!

Check out @reggaemuffin blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU - send tips by writing tip! in the comment and get share in service profit :)
By upvoting this comment you support the service - thanks!

continue posting things like these holo...really helpfull..
-turtle here.

Ive never used any of the self upvote bots. Maybe thats where im going wrong. I just dont like the idea of boosting your own posts with @randowhale and the likes. It seems a little sad and desperate. Much better to create great content continually and earn your following and rewards.

G'day. I'm with you 100% on this one. Earn your rewards for interesting new content that people appreciate.

I'm with you all the way. Consistent Quality content = votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03