Medicine Card Monday #16 "The Bear"- My Gift To Steemit - For The Week Of August 20, 2018

in #medicinecardmonday6 years ago (edited)

The Bear


maxresdefault.jpg
Source


Happy Monday Steem Fam,

It's been awhile since I shared a Spirit Animal card with you, so can you guess which animal I picked from the deck for this week? You got it! The Bear

The Bear is quite an interesting creature and deserves a little bit of deep understanding in both the physical and spiritual aspects. Let us give some respect to this magnificence by finding out a little bit more. The Encyclopedia Britannica defines bear as:

The (family Ursidae), any of eight species of large short-tailed carnivores found in the Americas, Europe, and Asia. The sun bear (Helarctos malayanus) is the smallest, often weighing less than 50 kg (110 pounds), and the largest is a subspecies of Alaskan brown bear called the Kodiak bear (Ursus arctos middendorffi; see grizzly bear). The polar bear (Ursus maritimus), however, is the largest bear species. The black bear (Ursus americanus) is common in parts of the United States and Canada.

Bears are generally omnivorous, but dietary preferences range from seals for the entirely carnivorous polar bear to assorted vegetation for the largely herbivorous spectacled bear (Tremarctos ornatus). The giant panda (Ailuropoda melanoleuca) eats only bamboo. Usually gaining weight beforehand, most bears sleep fitfully through much of the winter, but they do not truly hibernate. Despite their bulk, most bears climb with ease and swim strongly.

I don't know about you but the last two movies I saw regarding a bear they ripped the men to shreds. That pretty much freaked me out and every time I go into the wilderness I am on high alert. A part of me wants to just hug, cuddle, and maybe keep the fur (maybe a claw or tooth too), maybe it's the NdN in me ... shrugs.


Soul_of_the_Bear_for_Warlord_by_feliciacano.jpg
Source


When Native Americans think of Bear Medicine these are the attributes a person will have when this creature has been called to your side:

  • The primary meaning of the bear spirit animal is strength and confidence.

  • Standing against adversity; taking action and leadership.

  • The spirit of the bear indicates it’s time for healing or using healing abilities to help self or others.

  • The bear medicine emphasizes the importance of solitude, quiet time, rest.

  • The spirit of the bear provides strong grounding forces.


Source


As with all things in the Native American culture the bear is a sacred creature that provides oil, pelt, healing, and celebration. This week I feature a lovely dancer, Laura Grizzlypaws from British Columbia who is a descendant of the St’át’imc tribe, and she belongs to the people of Xwisten the Bear Clan.

Her words about the bear are as follows:

The Grizzly Bear dance is an expression of culture that is unique and authentic.

I walked where the Grizzly Bear dances. I feel his pleasure, excitement and freedom on the earth and in the wind that carries his messages from the past. I dance where the Grizzly Bear danced his steps leaving an ancestral footprint on the land like a cellular memory in my blood. His face is a shadow that calls to me as the wind calls his name “St'alhalam.” The Grizzly Bear he sings his songs as we unite under his skin. I now walk where he left his ancestral footprints. I heard his prayer, I felt his pain, I am his anger, I am his hope, I am his faith. He now dances upon the earth, now, only where I leave my ancestral footprints.

Enjoy a short video as Laura Grizzlypaws presents her dance:


Source


All of my readings are geared towards a healing; breaking through mental, spiritual, or emotional blocks that will assist us in overcoming every day obstacles.

If this is your first time swinging by, my Medicine Card Monday initiative is my positive intention to pull a card of healing or medicine for the community. This is different than tarot in that the cards I use are on the medicinal aspect of humanity other than the most common cards found in a tarot deck.

The decks I use are The Wild Unknown - Animal Spirit, Mystical Shaman Oracle, and the Chakra Wisdom Oracle. The cards will assist in helping those interested, find comfort in things going on in our community and the world we are now dealing with. Namely, issues around the world, astronomical, or overcoming health issues of all sorts, etc., maybe just something out of balance that we are feeling on any particular day that needs guidance.

By pulling a card for Steemit this will in turn assist with my Medicine training, give back to the community, and help those seeking answers. I will take some of the reading from guidebooks provided with the cards, but primarily give intuitive and medicinal words to help our community. We all have days when we need encouragement, inspiration, and comfort.


The Card


unnamed.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit


The card I pulled was The Bear from The Wild Unknown Animal Spirit deck.

Meaning

Waking from spiritual slumber, beginning anew.


The Message


Source


After a long winter, the Bear arrises from deep slumber. At first the movement and efforts are difficult, but the Bear knows it's time to awaken and move toward the dawning light. The Bear card represents an individual on the cusp of new directions and personal transformation. The initial weeks and months of this spiritual quest may feel tricky, cumbersome, and full of obstacles. But you have no choice, Bear. Winter wanes, the warmth of spring emerges, and your transformation begins.

Things to be aware of

When in Balance: inner strength, yearning to grow.
When out of Balance: withdrawal, lethargy, heaviness.
To BRING INTO BALANCE: movement, exercise.

Are we possibly losing sight of how we can grow on Steemit? Are there other avenues instead of just sticking to the same crowd? How about making new friends, encouraging new people on the platform, or find new groups. The call to develop spiritually does not entail religion it means to grow as a human being.

Are we doing all we can to communicate, share new ideas, have fresh perspectives or sticking to the same routine of trying to capture the attention of everyone important? How about making yourself available to mentor, teach, or train. The choice is yours ...

A'OO,

Eagle Spirit


I hope you liked the reading for this week. If so, please leave a comment below. I'd love to hear what you think (but not if you think it's all BS!) That's typical Eagle Spirit humor right there.

If you would like a personal Medicine Card reading:

  • Send 2 STEEM per card.

  • Choose a deck and spread: Animal Spirit (1, 2, 3, 4, or 13 card spread), Chakra Wisdom (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 7 card spread), or Mystical Shaman Oracle (1, 3, or 4 card spread.)

  • Each person is given a special one-on-one healing energy session with a reading sent from a Reiki Master Teacher (that be me), and a Native American ceremony is included.

  • Photos will be provided and explained. Please do not share these publicly.

  • You can find me on Discord under the name Eagle Spirit #4491.

Have a glorious week and come back next Monday for another Medicine Card reading!

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit


Source


Eagle Spirit’s Disclaimer
Energy therapy is a natural method of energy balancing, but is not meant as a substitute for medical, or psychological diagnosis and treatment.
Energy practitioners do not diagnose conditions, nor do they perform medical treatment, prescribe substances, or interfere with the treatment of a licensed medical professional.
Energy therapy or any other natural healing therapy should not compete with medical doctors and their treatments. All therapies are meant to complement medical treatments.
If you wish to learn more about energy work or the methods I use to assist others in Native American medicine practices feel free to contact me privately.

Sort:  

I have always found bears fascinating, a little scary but very beautiful animals. Majestic!
I love this reading cause it says alot and I realize that I think we all have a bear side inside.
Lots of things I belive and the personal growth is mabye not what we think, but outside of the comfort zone. Wide the horizon... Don't know if that's how you say it.... Lol
Thank you for sharing this. Really loved it ❤️🤗❤️

hi saff! you are right on about the bear sides :)
yes exactly about broadening our horizon for sure.
so happy you loved this, i really appreciate your thoughts and feelings. 💜😘💜

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Eagle Spirit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

A great message. I've definitely been feeling stronger lately but there are some things I need to work on in order not to backslide to the darkness I was feeling a few months ago. I definitely need to dig out the Reiki books and study again

yay! thank you WW! hope you are having a good week. have you been attuned?

Not in a very long time

what level? it never goes away

Level 2 I believe. It was ten years ago

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

This is so true of me, er, one of my animal guides:

Things to be aware of
When in Balance: inner strength, yearning to grow.
When out of Balance: withdrawal, lethargy, heaviness.
To BRING INTO BALANCE: movement, exercise.

I can se that 👍

very cool, i 👀 u. 💜

Very Beautiful pictures and excellent reading!
Nice to meet you. :-)

Thank you I needed that. I guess I have always felt close/connected to bear spirit...

Upvoted and followed!

Wishing you Smiles, Happiness, Sweet Dreams and Sunshine! :-)

thank you so much, your last words are so kind and i appreciate that. :)

You're very welcome. :-)
Good Luck Here! :-)
Thanks for your reply.

thank you, i appreciate that any well wishes are welcome. LOL!
even after 9 months on the blockchain there is never enough good lucks! i wish you the same. :)

Awake from the slumber.... Rise from the deep. Funny that the bear has another meaning for traders that is the opposite hehe. But looks to be a good sign!

Thats a good point to bring up! will this mean the bear trade will swipe down like the bear paw?

If anyone has not heard of The Bear as Defined Market Trader here is the meaning:
>The Bear- This trading animal believes the market will be going down and plays the short side. Bears think that a market is going to be very red. Source

It appears that there are those that are defined by how they trade. If you are a bear, is this your time to shine? We shall see ...

I love how she says in the video "when I dance I am one with Grizz"
I also love the quote you included. Especially

leaving an ancestral footprint on the land like a cellular memory in my blood.

Such a great example of someone who feels a deep and powerful connection of spirit.

I resonate with the reading very much. I have been taking my Steeming in some new directions. Maybe this is indication that some of the things dancing in the realm of ideas right now are destined to come forth and flourish in future.
I guess we shall see.
Thank you for another great reading.

oh yes very much about expressions, creativity and connection to spirit. its what inspires me :)
thank you for stopping by and your support. hugs

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 234 (8/22/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

thank you so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57730.16
ETH 2445.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34