Introduction to MDsquared

in #medical7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5087.JPG

Hi everyone! My name is Morgan Dresvyannikov and I am a 4th year medical student. I currently live in Kansas City and attend the University of Missouri Kansas City School of Medicine. This school offers a unique 6-Year BA/MD program, so I am a little over half-way to becoming a physician. I decided that I would like to start documenting my experience as a medical student- the good days, weird patient encounters, interesting facts, and everything in-between. There are some pretty unbelievable events that occur, so I figured why not share them? I mean Grey's Anatomy is coming up on it's 14th season, so I figured there might be some interest into what life is like as a real-life "Meredith", right?

Contrary to the popular belief, medical students are still able to have a life...somewhat. I will have been married to my 6th grade sweetheart for a year on July 23rd! One of the many things I gained when becoming married was my new, intimidating, forever-long, Russian last name. We figured I would need an easy signature in the future, so the most logical conclusion we came to was MD^2. This name satisfies my inner math geek like no other. As you can see we laugh a lot!

IMG_5089.JPG

We have a wonderful fur-child named Auggie! He clearly considers himself to be human.

IMG_5059.PNG

Some of my favorite hobbies are baking, watching movies, and taste-testing ice cream shops all around the city! So in addition to what life is like as a medical student, you will also see some favorite recipes, movie reviews, and ice-cream location recommendations!

My intention for this blog is to provide some helpful tips and insight to new medical students, or even people that are interested in medicine. We will discuss helpful study tips to survive challenging courses, how to dress under a white coat, and how to maintain a balanced life. Becoming a physician takes a huge amount of time, energy, and commitment; but it is one of the most rewarding processes in the world. I hope that I can encourage those who are struggling, and describe what it is like to be on this awesome journey.

One last thing, be prepared for some fun facts about the human body and your overall health!
- Did you know that nerve impulses travel at over 400 km/hr (249 mi/hr)!? That's some serious speed!

Looking forward to exploring all that Steemit has to offer! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @mdsquared I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @mdsquared ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Thanks so much @khunfarang! I am following you!

Welcome to Steemit, @mdsquared!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Welcome to Steemit @mdsquared!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Bienvenido a Steemit! Espero que disfrutes de esta comunidad increíble, te invito a visitar mis post y si ves algo de interés puedes seguirme.

Morgan, Nice to meet you and your husband yesterday at 'Stellabelle's SteemIt Class'. Great intro, I look forward to reading/learning more about health and the body.

Wellness and health awareness has been of interest for a long time. My ex-husband and I had Unicorn Health and Specialty Food Store, just of campus of Emporia State University, in the mid 70's, before Wild Oats and Whole Foods.

I look forward to seeing you at the next Stellabelle class and reading your latest tips. ~ljl~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64