Once There Was Mos Def And An Underground Warehouse, A Pop Up Venue In BalisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #massivevibrations7 years ago (edited)

The Warehouse82 was my last project in the music industry. 

Mos Def - Image Source Freemagz and Photo Gallery of this party by Life without Andy 

It was time to let go of the music business. 35 years working for artists and their audience was enough! I "burnt out" and set new priorities for my life to come. I fulfilled pretty much all dreams so far and thats not as as easy as you might think. Paris, Palermo, London but I wanted to live in a factory loft in New York so badly and later, I wished to organise good parties in Bali which I did. How many? Hmmm, I can't remember all of them:) 

A Decade of Eelectronic Madness in Bali's Underground - MassiVeVibrations Party with DIPLO

I can proudly say, that I was one of the pioneers of the electronic scene, bringing a lot of talent to the island or I was involved with great projects all over SE-Asia.  

One day, I had the opportunity to become a partner, 1 out of 4, in an underground project, to offer the Bali youth a unique event venue. 

I went for this right away without thinking much and don't regret those crazy 2 years. It was the perfect ending of exciting decades in the most challenging business on this planet.  

We got it done! 

After two years of many cutting edge events, gallery openings, black fashion markets, dj and live events, photoshoots, movie screenings ........We closed. 

The rest is my story, offline or maybe I tell it another time. 

You better stop when you feel its the right time!

There will always be ups and downs in life and even in your businesses, if you live an unconventional and maybe risky lifestyle. We took risks, maybe too high but we all had passionate intentions. Bali likes beach parties and the underground scene at that time was too small. 

I can't even count my many failures nor successes. At the end its only about the path we choose to walk on. You can't always stay on top, nor in the bottom. There is no way that life doesn't put stones on your way.

Der Weg is das Ziel! 

It doesn't matter! Live it and love it! Its called life! 

I accept the down rides as much as I am excited about flying.   

One thing I want to assure them
If they think I'm going to change,
and compromise my attitude, my way of life.....in my expression.....or in my... goal.....What's politics? They are making me stronger... and I'm much more stronger now - To the bang to the boogie say up jump the boogie to the rhythm of the boogie to be... to the rhythm of the boogie to be - Lyrics for Quiet Dog 

MOS DEF aka Yasiin Bey in Bali!!! 

published on 11 Sep 2014 by Baliradio.net

From  time to time, Bali is blessed with the presence of internationally  renown artists, like Snoop Dogg, Fat Boy Slim, or John Legend (just to name a few), who come to perform, and probably get a little taste of the Island of Gods. This time, it's hip-hop artist /actor Mos Def who  hosted an awesome party at Warehouse. Despite the crowd, we have been  able to catch a glimpse of the man and his crew setting the Warehouse on  fire. Booyaaaaa! 

Thanks to @pulpworx who was involved bringing Mos Def to our attention and sending those awesome memories and clip, I have never seen before. Its time to share it with you as well. 


Follow @mammasitta 

www.massivevibrations.com

 

PS : There will be many more posts and stories about many music adventures and if steemit would finally verify my new account " massivevibration(s)" I could focus on my musical adventures for a new profile.   

@uwelang Last minute :) for your "dance weekends" and follow @qsounds for quality music and of course @welovesteemit

Sort:  

Hey Mami Dj :D s mall world even on the web we meet across the world :D
Following you again for more adventures...
Hope life s great miss you in Bali... See you soon... X's

OMG OMG OMG You finally joined and found me and I found you. Bali doesn't miss me :) I miss Bali
Glad you keep the music alive over there for me when I come back :) So happy you are here on steemit.

Really nice to join, only learning... happy to see you doing great and that you and you daughter look well.
Big kisses to you and family :D
If you have some helpful links to learn more about steemit please share.
Merci gros bisous :*

Be patient !! It takes time.
Will do for sure send some links but you will read a lot here on the platform
Join my steemit.chat channel #mammasittas and post your links to promote them when you write something. First only comment and vote.

Really Really Nice work you did! Requires such an energy to get something going in a market that is not easy! You must have had a fantastic time and experience. But I also can imagine, you kind of ok with having this life behind you. Power Woman now ready to take over Steemit!

Thanks for the Power Woman:)
I need to refill that "energy" pool like the platform did a while ago. I feel the same but as I wrote : Der Weg ist das Ziel
Behind me ! It's time for meeee!

You Recharge and I give you some of my 'power' :) Happy Tanking.

Friggin' Epic!
This is the kind of concert I'd fly halfway around the world for (if I could afford it xD )!

So awesome you managed to get him there.

"The Mighty Mos Def"
"It's simple mathematics"
"Check it out"
"I revolve around science.."
"What are we talking about here?"
"The Mighty Mos Def"
"It's simple mathematics"

Geee! oh Gee oh Gee
I have so many stories
For you
To See
Hear
Listen!
But
not enough time!
Where is that flow?
Where is that “sister?
Her passions are bigger than dreams can be
The boogie to be
In one lifetime
It’s simply mathematics!

Can we organise the #steemitrapbattle next? :)
<3

Lawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwd, lawd have mercy

Hahaha! I think I should get some aleep and stop eating those magic brownies

hey gimme some! xD

Banana triple decker sandwich made by @jeffjagoe took over ....I leave you my brownies 😜🤣
Nite nite

Thanks for the mention! We had fun, collaborated on a few occasions beforehand too. Remember when I was ent director at PotatoHead we booked quite a few acts through you. Stanton Warriors was the first of these I beleive.

Great post, brings back memories x

Wonderful memories.
Those count on a long run!
I am really glad we reconnected here in a super cool and supportive community again Kev!
We go a long way back and ahead 🌸

Remember our photo together? Head in head Hahhaa ! I need to find it

Waaaah! Thats a classic fo sho! x

MusicSitta

This has to be a new tag #musicsitta lets bring it on

Ich geb Gummi!!

To the bang to the boogie say up jump the boogie to the rhythm of the boogie to be... to the rhythm of the boogie to be

uhaaaaaaa...

🐲🐲🐲

Falls es mal zu einer realen Steemkonferenz kommt müssen wir uns tiefere Inhalte überlegen :-D

Amazing post, and adventure, Yasiin Bey is one of my top5 emcees.

Glad somebody knows what and who I talk about 🌸

I liked this one so much
keep up your good work

🌺🌺🌺

it seems that you are having a great times back in Bali,
thank you for spreading the words of Bali as always. and also nice to read your story.
waiting for your new account. 😃

🌴🌴🌴 sharing memories is fun !!!

The worth article. I get more information from your post. Upvoted 👍

🌷🌷🌷

muy buen blugg

Grazias !!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58