Hells Kitchen - Attitude & Memories!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This cute girl, my girl, got that Manhattan attitude! Right? 

(The entry photo is below)

Those two snapshots of my 4 years young daughter Tahnee were taken at my and my neighbours fabulous midtown lofts in Hells Kitchen, NYC around 1997/8, the famous, infamous, awesome, unforgettable building with the name "Glassfarm House" where we lived for a few exciting years. 

Probably, the most happy but also crazy time of my life. 

Thanks to @macksby to take me back in time with your well written, authentic article about Hells Kitchen where I spent so many wonderful moments as a single Mama. 

I am sad that the cupcake corner, delivering the best and most creative cakes in town at that time is gone as probably so many other spots I used to hang out. 

I also wonder what happened with the little Italian shops where the smell of fresh pasta-sauce kept me coming back daily. I really loved those big wooden jars of fresh green or black olives with goat cheese, caught my girls eyes when we passed by on our bicycle while friendly Greeks handing her one of each every single time she starred at them. 

I haven't been back to NYC since 9/11. 

 I had to find out that I lost most of my belongings I left behind in a storage. Oh well! The story is much longer but I will not get into details now. 

Basically, I came too late to pick them up due to flight delays that crazy day. I got stuck in LA and Arizona before I finally was able to reach the big and sad mess of New York City those days.

I only brought 2 suitcases with me when I relocated to Bali in 1999 and hoped to pick them up later. All was gone! 

I tried to keep that loft , wanted to buy it for only!! 170 000 USD but due to my legal status the deal didn't get through. Somebody else was more lucky than me and raised my rent for 1600 square feet from 1500 to 4500. I had no other choice than to get out. Brooklyn or another island?

The flat was sold a few years later for 700k and I can only imagine that the value now would be around millions.  

Anyways, Those printed images on regular paper mean the world to me. 

Sometimes photos say so much, even though the quality is low. 

I wish, Tahnee could remember more of  those first 5 years of her Hells Kitchen lifestyle, in the breathtaking town of  New York City. 

Glassfarm House  on 448 W 37th street 

Lots of memories stored and imprinted in my heart, those sunsets in Midtown Manhattan. How lucky I am that I had the opportunity to experience such an adventure to live in the most amazing city in the world. Many stories there are to tell. 

I miss that multi-colored apple a lot and might take my girl there sooner than later. 

Its my dream to do so !

outside: 

inside: 


Yours 

Mammasitta 

Sort:  

Beautiful nostalgia. Family is forever. May your present be blessed.

Thank you so much for reading and your sweet comment. She is my family and my heart. My present is a bit chaotic but fun :) Its called life! As long as we wake up every morning and breath, all is good !

Can't believe I didn't follow you yet but now I do

I realize there was a lot of sadness in theses memories, but it made me very happy knowing that you cherish the images you still have so much.

without sadness we don't appreciate happiness. I will never get over the loss of so many precious things I collected with lots of passion. At the end of the day , memories are in our hearts, stored forever.

easy said :) much harder to follow through

Very true. I wish you luck in your endeavor.

It's sad to see what happened to this gritty, somewhat dangerous neighborhood... All those little shops you remember are gone, the only ones left are Esposito's butcher shop and Manganaro's Hero Boy (best chicken parm hero in the city). 700k won't buy you a crappy, tiny studio in this town, anymore... It has become one big shopping mall, lack of any character. Things really started changing fast after 9/11...

You're spirit reminds of so many people I used to know in this neighborhood..,. Wishing you all the best @mammasitta. If Im ever in Bali I'll look you up -- CHEERS!

So so so nice meeting you :) your spirit is huge and I feel you like one of my neighbors back then. Keep in touch. I really can learn from your style of writing. For now I am in Vienna Austria but Bali is waiting.

Right back atcha'... :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59