🤑A LOOK AT LUXURY PACKAGING AND THE WAY MARKETING ENTICES YOU TO BUY MORE 🤑

in #marketing6 years ago

working file cover.jpg

You may remember, if you have been following me for a while, that in January I did a short series on unique South African packaging. Click here for a refresher.

I was in Woolworths, which is a more upmarket supermarket (supposedly😉), getting few supplies for Friday Night Pizza Night (a tradition my husband and I have), when I wandered into the tea aisle. If you know anything about me, you will know how much I love tea. I spent a good ten minutes reading all the descriptions of the different variations of flavours, and realised I was more drawn to the boxes with pretty, whimsical illustrations on them.

IMG_5566.jpg

It got me thinking on how I was more drawn to spend R40 on a box of tea, when the average was R25 or R30. (if i put that in dollars you may scoff at me, but remember that our currency is 13 to the dollar - $3 instead of $1.50). Yes, the packaging was really pretty, but look at those flavours! Chamomile, echinacea, rosemary and peppercorns! I ended up buying this one, the rosemary and peppercorns make for the most incredibly warming, spicy, herbal flavour.

If I think about the effort that goes into a marketing campaign for a product, it boggles my mind! For example, cat food. I always have bought the Whiskers brand, as it promises to be a food my cat would prefer. I always see the bright yellow bags and think instantly, that's the food my kitty loves! I did some research, and it actually turns out that my kitty loves Whiskers more because it has more sodium, making it more addictive! I started to compare ingredients and saw that most cat foods have the same ingredients, but the marketing was what brought in the different price points.

line break.png

Packaging is a really important part of marketing, especially for an unknown brand. If the two same coffee beans were packaged in two different tins, at the same price, I would take the prettier tin.

Take the entire Woolworths brand for example. They market themselves as an upmarket, more expensive supermarket that focuses on high quality items. The customer service is impeccable. The pre-packed items are so next level - roasted butternut and beetroot salads with a balsamic dressing. They play Frank Sinatra while you shop, dammit!


Source

A bag of flour is probably a few rands more expensive than at one of their competitors. Granted, I do think many of their products are far superior than at the main competitor, Pick n Pay, but the added few rands onto each product ends up being far more for a few necessities once you are at the till.

I generally end up spending around R200 ($15) more at Woolworths, because I am tempted to buy items that are not on the list, like these teas for example.

Noone, well not me anyway, is going to buy a few items at Woolworths that are better quality, and then the other items which are cheaper, but similar quality at a seperate supermarket.

I like to think that I am immune to marketing and packaging ploys, but when they've put so much effort into the tea packaging, or perhaps the jelly sweets that my husband dies over, I am definitely coerced into purchasing. They even sell beautiful plants, and I could not walk past a Delicious Monster. So I took it home!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on marketing and packaging.

footer.png



🌸Give Some Love to My Past Posts:🌸



INTERMITTENT FASTING - MY EXPERIENCE
EASY ASIAN SPICY CHICKEN
☕️ A COFFEE SHOP WITH A TINGE OF ANARCHY ☕️

🌸Recommended Reading:🌸

@joyrobinson Series: A Closer Look To The World Of Rice & Some Fun Facts - by @steemkitchen
What is happening and what will happen in Venezuela. by @albertocotuamedidas-económicas-maduro.jpg
Trailer Review - Shazam! (2019) by @morkrock
Sort:  

I'd buy :)

Colors, colors do tremendous things to the mind. The well known brands are aware of this and they spend millions researching and maintaining and promoting new research. Call it the SEO of the mind, if you will 😁. For example, the blue and red color causes together a push and pull mental state, and somehow in a way i dont understand it translates to a powerful marketing move. Think of all the companies who use those colors. Amazing and beneficial to those who know, but my question is...does it violate free will? I dont know..🤔

great point! Pepsi for example!

Does it violate free will? I don't think so. There are other variables which are completely up to the purchaser to decide - price point for example.

Good question - thank you

Your welcome ! 😁

Dear mam your love for the tea is interesting and thank you for introducing the very lovely packaging art and it's beauty from their culture I think they are traditionally very creative the Woolworths natives compel you to spend more it's their creativity and they succeeded on this I think.

They definitely did succeed!

Chamomile is one of my faves🍵 .
Thanks for featuring my post dear @princessmewmew! Hugs ❤️


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

oh me too! I love chamomile. I have a rooibos and chamomile that is my absolute fave at the mo.

Whoa, woolworths! We used to have those like crazy in the USA, but they have all but vanished, Maybe it's a different company? Ours were like a department store mixed with a chemist and often had a food/lunch counter.

Packaging has always intrigued me and I love to design things as packaging just for fun. I have done so in school as well, but I just love that entire piece of the art world.

My favourite time for that, besides art nouveau posters, is the 50's and 60's in ladies magazines. There was some amazing art in those. I have a pretty big collection of magazines from that time and I often get them down just to peruse the colourful art-filled adverts.

I have even purchased a book based on the cover art before!

I do think it is a different company as there is also Woolworths in the UK and it's not the same.

You're so right about the sixties. Do you watch Mad Men? If not, you'd definitely enjoy it.

I buy loads of vintage magazines too, I make weird collages with them

Hehe, Woolworths! I didn't know they were a global thing!

I was surprised to see Woolworths in the UK too, but I don't think they are the same. Our woolworths is like your Waitrose's

@princessmewmew I enjoyed woolworths for many years, good prices and good products, I lke to see colours and beautiful packages, invite me to buy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61