CostCo - Market FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

Today, I am going to take you to CostCo. This is an initiative by the lovely @dswigle who brings us markets from all over the world. See for yourself. find the #marketfriday and go on a shoppin spree which can take you anywhere.

Usually, I don't like huge stores but I am making an exception for this one. Why, I actually will tell you in another post. Today, I am in a hurry. You know - the Holidays. Shop, shop, shop. Rush, rush, rush.

Let me tell you. this is a huge store!

Imgur

Isles and isles which look like this.

Right when you come in, you know the holiday season is upon us. Wreath and poinsettias are a sure sign.

Imgur

And prepared Turkey, ready to pop in the oven lets you know that it is Thanksgiving in the US.

Imgur

And huge bottles of wine are on display!

Imgur

Well, I don't drink and I am to bring appetizers. So, off to the section I most often go to.

Imgur

So much organic vegetables!! When we were doing the Gerson Therapy, I bought at least 7 of those big bags of carrots every week. Without the great price at Costco, I don't think we could have paid for all the produce and coffee we needed.

Imgur

I had added Greek Yogurt to my shopping list. @dmcamera made me do it!!
She told me about the ice cream she is eating. Greek yogurt, vanilla, frozen fruit all blended together and eaten right away like a soft serve. If you are an ice cream lover like me - how can I not go home with a big tub of yogurt?

Imgur

This is what my shopping cart looked like when I got to the checkout. All organic besides the olives.
That is good. What I don't like is the huge amount of plastic I am taking home with me.
Of course, I can bake bread and often do. But my husband only likes the bread you see in the cart. Hummus I make from beans I cook myself. But this was a Holiday and right now, I don't feel like cooking.

I am grateful that I have the choice. That I can buy all kinds of food already prepared and still pretty healthy. The plastic containers will be reused over and over again. The bags will be reused and then recycled. Still, I would love to have a different option in the near future.

And today is finally the day I am posting this early! Not when everybody's Friday has come and gone.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Bittersweet

Protect Nature

Cactus - Guava - Grapes

Weekend Freewrite 3

SteemUSA Potential

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

Day 27 - Prompt

Silver-Freewrite prompt: Bubbling

Freewrite Prompt: a shoe

Weekend Freewrite 2 - Donald

prompt compilation

MAP Forum Introduction

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

it is really huge!! But didn't you share pictures of an outdoor market once that seemed huge as well

I go to Costco once in a while, but, like you, it is not my first choice. But having all that company for Thanksgiving! Yikes!

I took a few shortcuts myself! Wonderful post and thanks for the tip on the soft serve! Thank you also @dmcamera! There are people in our house that will love it!

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! xoxo tip!

Upvoted and I will resteem later in the day.

Nice choice of organic foods love my organic's when i can get them the Greek Yogurt.... oh yummy one of my favorites.Looks like a huge ideal market to shop at the Turkey and the wine great Thanksgiving dinner. Nice post enjoy your Thanksgiving Day :)

Thank you so much!! I like it best if I can buy from a farmer I know. But if that doesn't work, organic in the store is my next choice. Happy weekend to you!!

Your welcome and a great weekend to you sure it will be a entertaining one with Thanksgiving over there enjoy :)

Marianne, do you think you'll give the prepped turkey a 'go' next year? :)

Nope, not going to happen :)

Happy Thanksgiving and enjoy putting your feet up and enjoying your food, totally agree big shops are not for me @mariannewest

Thank you! Enjoy your weekend. I am hoping that we will have more small stores in the future instead of them all going away....

OMGosh! Can you believe I have NEVER been to CostCo? The closest one is about an hour away. I have heard about it but never actually seen pics from inside.

Looks like someone (me) could spend some big amounts of money in there!

Everybody calls it the $200 store. They go in for one item and come out with..... at least a $ 200 dollar tab. I am a very disciplined shopper and really just go for the items I know are the best deal there. Like the bread. It is $ 8 for 2 loaves there - the same bread is $6 for one loaf at the regular store..... which is also a big chain. I could justify to pay more to support a small local business - not to support another mega-chain...

We have a Cosco in our area now, one of these days I am going to have to check it our. Great post, I never saw a whole Turkey prepared before.

If you are a disciplined shopper - it can save you a lot. If not it is very tempting to buy lots of things :)

yes the store and the truth is huge. probably this is a hypermarket. we rarely go to such a store - it is far from us. but I like to shop there because there is a large selection of goods and acceptable prices. I adore hummus! but I'm lazy to do it myself and buy it already ready. you're doing a good job doing it, Marianne!

That is true. You can get very good prices on many things. I love hummus as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49