A Holy Basil Smoothie - Fruit and Veggie MondaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago

Imgur

The Steem community has so many wonderful aspects that it would be hard to mention all of them right now. But this one, the Monday Fruit and Veggie Challenge created by the beautiful Lena, also known as @lenasveganliving, needs to be shouted from the rooftops! She brings so many beautiful entries together and nurtures everyone along. Try it out!!! A link and more info are at the bottom of the post.

The picture above is a tasty mango - all cut up and ready to eat.
But I remembered @amy-goodrich's smoothies - especially the ones with Holy Basil in them.
Imgur
Into the garden I went to get some of that good stuff.

Imgur

A handful seemed just the right amount for the smoothie.

Luckily, I also had a bag of mixed fruit sitting in the freezer right in front. No rearranging necessary.

Imgur

Pink and yellow guavas and maybe a few grapes.

Into the blender it all went. The soft mangoes first, of course.

Imgur

And let's add some more goodies!

Imgur

Chia seeds, Spirulina, some coconut oil and some coconut flakes. Why not? They were there staring at me.

Now, add some water and blend, blend, blend.

And, since I am doing all these crazy selfie challenges right now - here is the entry to the green smoothie drinking selfie challenge for you all :)

Imgur

Then, the smoothie screamed at me that it is much prettier without me in the picture and so - here are the selfies the green smoothie took of itself. LOL

Imgur
Imgur

Yummy!!

Hope you all are ready now to join Lena's challenge next week. It is fun!!!
See more info below.

THE RULES ARE:

FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving

Post a photo of fruits or vegetables (it can be from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, RECIPES ARE WELCOMED)
Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
Mention the creator @lenasveganliving please upvote and resteem, the SBD will be used for the winners.
Please copy and paste link of your entry in the comment section under this post

Sort:  

Looks a lot like my green "power drinks" except I add chorella and hemp protein.

There are so many ways to make it!! All good :)

yes and so nutricious!

I love mango ;)) Great one

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mariannewest to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You are sooooooooooooooooo sweet and funny Dear Marianne............and oh boy, this smoothie is an elixir of life. Everybody should drink it everyday. Thank you so much for this wonderful entry and for putting smile on my face 🌸💖🌸

I always want a smile on your face :)!!!

I told u already how sweet u are, but I have to tell u again my Dear. Thank u so much you are so sweet Marianne 💖💖💖

hugs (((Lena)))

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!

Thank you so very, very much!!! Appreciate all you do!!

That does look delicious! You should do a post on how you freeze your fruit. It looks so simple, no peeling necessary. I always peel, chop, freeze, then bag. It's so time consuming that I usually don't get around to it.

This particular batch was leftovers from our refreshment table at the Rare Fruit Growers meeting. Everything was washed and set out in bite-size pieces. Now, here it comes - the moment you are waiting for...... the secret revealed......
I threw all the leftovers in a bag and stuffed them in the freezer :)
I throw the bag on the floor or hit it against the cutting board and the pieces come apart if they clumped up. :)
I peel bananas and mangoes and such before freezing, but guavas are fine...

Lol! I love it. I need to try that!

You got that right :)

Well formatted post Marianne (and nice pictures.)

It looks like you have a nice garden. However, do these smoothies even taste good? I drank one once in my life and I didn't like it.

Guess my testosterone rejected this blasphemous drink! :-)

hahaha - you just didn't have a good one. I make them almost every day and some are better than others :)

Strawberries, bananas, milk & ice would make a good smoothie.

People put all kinds of mystical shit into those smoothies claiming "FOREVER YOUNG".

Maybe there are too many wizards and witches in my city.

hahaha - yes, witches are everywhere :) I like to put a lot of fresh greens into mine. Frozen strawberries and bananas, lots of greens and water and very powerful blender like a blendtech or vitamix. Yummy!!

Loading...

When i see your smoothie i remind the smoothie of @amy-Goodrich, the green smoothie is full of energy and vitamins, and more tasty and healthy, me also i have to give a try with the tropical fruits, yeh, yummy.

Yes, Amy makes them a lot too. And I learned from her to use Holy Basil in a smoothie. I only used it for tea before.

That looks delicious! I absolutely love Holy Basil (I refer to it as Tulsi) and I wish I could get my hand on some fresh stuff. I have a neighbor who grows a bit but I am not inclined to ask for some as it is outside and so many people get their lawns cut and sprayed with pesticides and fungicides and such, and I know it all just spreads around places and in the air so I would rather not. But I do wish I could have some fresh as it is just an amazing herb.

maybe you can grow some indoors. Basil is pretty easy that way. Yes, Tulsi :) But many people have no clue what I am talking about when I say that - well, my Indian friends know....

Yes, I know people look at me silly when I say Tulsi too. I know it as that because I studied Ayurveda years ago and that derives from India so yes that is the term. I may have to try to grow one indoors, I would just have to see if I get enough light for it to be honest.

Well, due to all the lovely pot growers in the world, indoor growing systems are affordable now and come in all sizes :) You can have a nice indoor garden in a small space - takes a couple of growing lights and such :)

And you might be interested in this podcast I did with Brodie :) http://sustainablelivingpodcast.com/self-care-radical-act/

I love smoothies but when trying out green smoothies I never was very happy with them. I don't know why. Maybe I have to give it atry with your instructions?!!! 😃

I think the key is a super blender. If you have a regular one, it takes a long time to get the greens fine enough. You have to do one small handful after another. And something frozen is key. If they are warm, they aren't very good. I freeze a lot of really ripe bananas. this smoothie didn't have any but the mango was very sweet.
I think it is best to start with small amounts of greens added and maybe with also adding frozen blackberries. then it looks like a berry smoothie and you can fool your brain :)

Yes, it's all about fooling the brain! 😜😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77