Market Friday #3: Market in Otavalo, Ecuador

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

After I have taken you to the Christmas Market in my hometown Karlsruhe on last week's #marketfriday, today's #marketfriday initiated by @dswigle will be exotic again: I will show you around the Indigenous market of Otavalo, Ecuador.

01-jpp-20151128.jpg
18mm, f4, 1/60; Click on image to enlarge.

Otavalos, Indigenous Ecuadorians, make up a big part of the population in the Otavalo region. They are known all over Ecuador for their handcrafts and textiles. Every Saturday, tourists as well as locals flock into the small town to visit the giant market.

Apart from a rather touristy section where souvenirs and indigenous textiles are sold, there are many other parts of the market where living as well as roasted animals, groceries and even drug store items are sold. As a guy in Bolivia once told me: “We don't have supermarkets here, we have markets where you can get anything you need!”

Local Vegetable Market

02-jpp-20151128.jpg
18mm, f6.3, 1/160; Click on image to enlarge.

Caution, Hot!

03-jpp-20151128.jpg
35mm, f4.5, 1/60; Click on image to enlarge.

Just another Poor Pig

05-jpp-20151128.jpg
35mm, f5, 1/80; Click on image to enlarge.

Market or Supermarket?

04-jpp-20151128.jpg
18mm, f4, 1/60; Click on image to enlarge.

Let's Walk towards the Textile Market

06-jpp-20151128.jpg
22mm, f7.1, 1/200; Click on image to enlarge.

Textiles for Tourists

07-jpp-20151128.jpg
18mm, f6.3, 1/160; Click on image to enlarge.

Indigenous Colours

08-jpp-20151128.jpg
28mm, f4, 1/60; Click on image to enlarge.

Otavalo and Around

The market is not the only place to see in Otavalo. In fact, the Andean nature sourrounding the city is really worth a visit. From Otavalo, I did a hike to this sacred tree.

There are many more great markets around Ecuador. To see some photos from Santa Clara Market in Quito, head over to this post by my friend @world-travel-pro. He might not be a professional photographer, but he has an amazing talent to capture the real life!

09-jpp-20151129.jpg
35mm, f8, 1/500; Click on image to enlarge.


Check out my recent posts

Some posts are older than 7 days so you can not vote on them any more. If you like them, please consider voting on one my recent photo posts!

Camera Gear

The camera I used for these photos is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Sort:  

I heard about you and your new blog from Dan @world-travel-pro ! and im glad he sugested i check you out !! loved your post and your awesome photos well done , And Welcome To Steemit ! I will follow you now as well !! Upped and resteemed ! Keep up the great work @jpphotography ! 😀💕✌👍👌💕✌👍👌✌💕👍✌💕✌💕

@karenmckersie, I am very grateful for your support, thank you so much!

Hi this @karenmckersie on my other account @momskitchen ! also upped and resteemed , plus following you as well on this account as its an all food and drinks blog !! 👌👍✌💕😀

Thank you so much Karen! :)

Hi @jpphotography! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.1 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

These were awesome shots of Ecuador! Those are truly super markets! No doubt about it!

The indigenous market held some many surprises, from the whole pig bring roasted to the endless rows of merchandise.

Thank you for this entry into #MarketFriday! I appreciate the time and effort spent to make this market come alive for us.

Upvoted and will resteem later. Tip!

Thank you for your support and your tip @dswigle, I love seeing all those markets from around the world in #marketfriday!

Thank you so much for the mention brother. I'll pass you along to my friend @Karenmckersie. Who has 3000 followers and resteems a lot of peoples work. You're doing great!

https://steemit.com/contest/@karenmckersie/wild-and-strange-contest-round-3-meme-entry-1-rags-to-riches

scroll down and see the comment I left for you on her page. Doing what I can to make your steemit dreams come true! Like mine recently have! -Dan

Dan, thank you so much! You are helping me a lot. So happy to see how popular your blog has become!

Me too, regarding my recent success here. And you are so very welcome!

Du bist auch Karlsruhe? Ich kenne someone from there. This encouraged me to maybe also post my pictures from Otavalo! I love Ecuador. I keep going back to it.

Wow, you know Karlsruhe? I always thought not many people knew it outside Germany!
Ecuador is amazing, I have only been there for two weeks, but I plan to go back!

Yeah I know it. Only because iche hatte ein Freund auch Deutschland und er hat arbeitet dort (haha sorry, mein Deutsch ist schlecht aber ich habe gelernte ein bisschen). If you're still there...check out Baños if you have die Zeit!

I went to Baños, beautiful place!

Beautiful colors - upped and resteemed

Thank you very much :)

good post...

what colors, there are probably lots of opportunities to photograph over there, the colors are stunning, I would spot such colorful patterns in buildings, clothing, streetscenes.

There are, Ecuador is an amazing country to travel!

haha das Foto mit den Schwein ist ja gut!

Jaja, das arme Schwein :D In Ecuador is das aber ein normaler Anblick, schmeckt auch sehr gut!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52