Market Friday: Christmas Market in Karlsruhe, Germany

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

On today's #marketfriday initiated by @dswigle I won't take you to the other side of the world as in last weeks Photo documentary on the Market in El Alto, Bolivia. Instead, this week I will share the Christmas market of my German home town Karlsruhe with you.

01-jpp-20171222.jpg
10mm, f9, 1/10; Click on image to enlarge.

The Christmas market in Karlsruhe has recently been in the media all over Europe since an Islamist was arrested for plotting a terrorist attack on the Christmas market. Luckily, the attack was prevented and the market stayed open, so I was still able to get some shots with my wide-angle lens last week.

02-jpp-20171222.jpg
20mm, f6.3, 1/50; Click on image to enlarge.

03-jpp-20171222.jpg
14mm, f8, 1/20; Click on image to enlarge.

04-jpp-20171222.jpg
10mm, f4.5, 1/80; Click on image to enlarge.

05-jpp-20171222.jpg
13mm, f11, 1/10; Click on image to enlarge.

06-jpp-20171222.jpg
12mm, f6.3, 1/20; Click on image to enlarge.

07-jpp-20171222.jpg
17mm, f7.1, 1/30; Click on image to enlarge.

08-jpp-20171222.jpg
13mm, f5, 1/13; Click on image to enlarge.


09-jpp-20171222.jpg
18mm, f5.6, 1/20; Click on image to enlarge.


Check out my recent posts

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow & upvote. All my photos are available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Sort:  

These shots are amazing in so many ways. What a scary thought that there was the potential for something horrific like that to happen. It frightens me.

Perhaps maybe that is why it is so beautiful. or perhaps it is just beautiful. I lived in Germany and loved, loved, loved it and miss the wonderful markets, especially at Christmas when all is calm, all is bright.

Thank you for participating in the #MarketFriday Challenge. It is absolutely special that you added a Christmas Market to the day!

Upvoted and Resteemed tip!

Thanks for your support! The Christmas markets here are really something special, they kind of make up for the cold weather in winter. Where in Germany did you live?

Hi @jpphotography! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Thank you for following me. I love your travel blog! This is on my bucket list!

Thanks, you have some pretty great posts on your Blog as well, that's why I followed you :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-christmas-market-in-karlsruhe-germany


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

This market is looking wonderful, the lights especially! :)

Christmas markets are wonderful, I also love the lights :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jpphotography to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

What a beautiful place to shop!

Totally! They also have some delicious food there but most of the food stalls were too crowded to get a proper photo.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 6.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.25
Server time: 21:08:50
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1162.59/1600.00
Total Photos: 58
Total comments: 31
Total contest wins: 23
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful post and photos! You have my full support ;) Also, I would really appreciate if you could check out my profile I do photography too. P.S: Are you using Canon 10-18mm? :D

I think I am already following you haha.
I am actually using the Nikon 10-20mm, they released it just this year and finally Nikon has a compact and lightweight wide angle zoom comparable to the Canon 10-18mm. I should probably include my gear somewhere in my posts :D

Canon also has a 10-20 (I have it)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jpphotography from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53