Market Friday checks out Barbados

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)



Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) I hope you will join me as we share different markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see so many different markets and different cultures.


Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. They are easier to find in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much!! ❤



Bathsheba Beach in Barbados, located in the West Indies. Technically, not a real market, but, I had to pay a taxi to get there so, I am going to have to go with it this week. Oh, the shame of it all! Having to game my own tag!! But, the sound of the surf alerts you that the sea is near. A truly magical place on the Atlantic side of the island, where surfboards are abundant. The western coast of Barbados is on the Caribbean side, where the water is turquoise and the sea is calm.

Oh, yes!! The sea is still calling me! I am still away but, #MarketFriday carries on! I'll be home soon, a diving trip to Bonaire and calling it done. I'll be back again. Soonish. Until then. Enjoy a few rocks that were an actual bargain to visit.



These huge rock formations have been carved by the sea. Rugged. Stunning scenery and it was an almost deserted beach. Who could ask for anything more?


I have been to so many new places lately! I love to share and be shared with! I have always and forever liked to see different fruits and vegetables or products that are being sold. Perhaps I cannot get them here. So, yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace or even an art gallery. Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! We will love it! I promise you! Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.


mushroom rocks 3.JPG


Strong winds and rough waters make this surfing territory.



STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!



source


What is always coming but never arrives?


source


Answer: It’s tomorrow. So better do it today!


IMG_7011.JPG


Barbados Green Monkeys. All across Barbados, you will find this mischievous little creature including in the gullies that run across the island and even in peoples gardens! The green monkeys found in Barbados originally came from Senegal and the Gambia in West Africa approximately 350 years ago. source



CUE THE MUSIC MAESTRO!


source



The best way to get around most of the Caribbean Islands are to rent a car (be prepared to drive on the right, what a real trip that is) Hop on the local bus or walk. There is also the option of hiring a taxi, which can actually be quite inexpensive. Don't miss out on seeing the culture.


mushroom rock 5.JPG


I want to thank you for taking this trip to Barbados with me!I also thank you for understanding my Market of sorts... anything you have to pay for! :) I am still island hopping and so, will be gone for another week, so if I take a little longer to respond to your post, don't think I forgot you. I will answer them all! I am a little slower right now, but, I have loved looking through everyone's post! I appreciate your taking the time and energy to read the post and I hope that you have a most wonderful #MarketFriday! Steem on!!



¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥



A flower. There must always be a flower to color my world.



Have I ever spoke of how it feels
Your eyes touching mine with a veil of softness
The loveliness
Catches my breath, I hear you sigh
Still
To this day
The vision in my thoughts
Gives me reason to pause
Whispering your name
Aloud



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!


Facebook

Twitter

Instgram


Don't ever forget what wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.


Later that night
I held an atlas in my lap
Ran my fingers across the whole world
And whispered,
"Where does it hurt?"
It answered,

"Everywhere"
"Everywhere"
"Everywhere"

- Warsan Shire


Sort:  

Oh I love that top rock how the waves have worn such a cool shape. Totally amazing how plants can live on a rock. Just shows the power of life! I will get my post up eventually. You know I would not miss it for the world. Oh and I actually got the brain teaser!! I really need to get on one of these cruises. Well I have to saw it has been fun to enjoy virtually. Ben and I have been shopping for a sailboat for when we move. Found a few in Norfolk. Then slip down the intracoastal to paradise. Oh Paul V 2.0 is looking to be fun ;) Great post Princess.

I really wanted to be able to show a few of the more mushroom looking rocks but was having trouble downloading, however, I can say that it looks pretty cool driving up to it. It is amazing how plants can live on anything. I have seen trees on top of these odd looking pieces. Isn't nature amazing?

I am sure that your post is up so, you never let me down and even though I could see that you were nodding off oh, you still persevered. You got the brain teaser? Well let me just say that you are one of the very few and even I tripped up on that one when I first saw it. You and Ben are shopping for a sailboat? Just make sure that it is a sailboat that can be managed with one person because eventually our birds fly the coop. Then you'll have a sailboat with no mates. Norfolk is filled with sailboats, but just be sure that you will want to hop in your car and drive for hours before you enjoy your Sail. You know how practical I am. Oh yes, Paul 2.0 is bound to find some amazing fun. I'm sure of it.

!tip

Well maybe I can convince a friend to sail once in a while. I mean after all I am rather friendly and honestly the people down there were over the top friendly. I thought they were all trying to get something lol. Ah well who knows what the future holds. I just try to enjoy every day.

Hey!! You know it is the only thing we can all do. The people are friendly and I am sure you will wow them all with your wit and charm. ;)

I laughed when you thought they were all trying to get something. Who knows what the future holds. I have been surprised more than once. Believe me.

Hope all is well in tundra country. Got more snow? ((shivers))

I dont know, the wit and charm used to earn me a lot of money, but it seems to not work as well on the ladies lol. Maybe a change an latitude will help. ;)

Well I am a cup half filled kind of guy so I am hoping for the best.

Well old man Winter seems to run out of snow lately, but I am sure he is just saving up. I heard it was in the 60's in VA yesterday. That is calling my name, alright!

Well, didn't your mother tell you that you can't get by on your good looks forever?

Nope. Mom was a woman and wouldn't talk to me either :D

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh my what a wonderful beach that rock is unenviable i would love to build a little rock house on top of that rock and enjoy that awesome view and play with them green monkeys just the perfect paradise i got to get myself over there one day thanks for showing us your secret paradise it going to be hard to leave that behind and back to that cold weather...lol :)

Here is my link my friend ...meanwhile back in UFO land...hehe :)

MarketFriday - initiated by @dswigle - UFO's Land in Bangkok !!

p7nc85opjw.jpg

The beach is actually pretty incredible and I love beaches, as you know with rocks included. There is something decidedly beautiful about the different formations that this wild surf has caused. I was awed by the number of freestanding mushrooms / rocks that inhabited this Beach. I think you would have liked it here and the weather of course is perfect. But of course your weather is perfect. I guess the difference is that there is not the humidity and that Thailand offers. I would say that the temperatures rest right about 80 degrees, sometimes a little bit higher but that seems to work perfectly with my body. My body responds well to not too hot and not too cold.

As for those green monkeys, they are abundant and are like seagulls oh, they will come for food. They are kind of cute but I am not a huge fan of feeding wild animals, teaching them bad habits. Thank you as always for visiting my market Friday and for participating! I always love to see your posts and of course, we'll be over to see it. I hope you have a most wonderful day in your own little Paradise.

!tip

It really does look like a awesome place and the temperature sounds fine i hope that one day i do make over there to see your paradise and yeah it's not a good thing to be feeding them wild ones they expected all the time then and they can get quite aggressive :)

Yes!!! Well, this is only one of the islands I frequent. But, it is the one I go to the least.

There are so many of them, it is hard to choose which one to go to! I hope you do come someday, I think you would love it also, although, Thailand is sooooo hard to compete with!

Yeah i know that feeling choices and as you said there are so many more island even here i haven't been to yet but it would be nice also to see other parts of the world :)

Yes! Have you been to the United States? I know we have had this conversation before and I am searching my Rolodex in my brain, but cannot remember!

It is so big, it is really hard to visit one time unless a month or more is used.

Yes i have years ago i visited my cousins in Connecticut and then we when to New York and California but as you said with 52 states ...yeah..you really need some time there :)

That's right!!! I am from Connecticut too. :)

🎁 Hi @hangin! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Here is my post Princess although I was nodding off as I wrote it!

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@old-guy-photos/loading-up-some-provisions

Well fancy meeting you here! I have to admit that I and pleased to see you in post even if it is Market weekend. LOL

You know that I'm kidding and that I always appreciate the effort put forth to put together a market Friday post. Thank you so much for taking the time.

I am hoping you did not have to risk life and limb to go out to the store because I know that you have nasty weather. I hope you're having a great weekend.

!tip

OMG listen to you girlie! I will have you know this was posted Friday night. Just because you happen to be in another time zone, is not my fault lol. I was nodding off and waking up! Honestly, I cannot believe I wrote that!! Such weird sentences...and the "you cant win" line thrown in for no reason OMG!!!!!!! So humiliated LOL!!! I think some dweeb got on my computer last night! The things guys do for you and your MF sheesh!

Oh, old man!!!!

Technically 1:30 am falls into the next day, like Saturday but, my time stamp could have been between nods. LOL

Oh you are so cute and funny but also a stickler for the technicalities! Pfft mearly lines in the sand and I never was one to worry much about that :)

He said, she said

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

WOW what an amazing beach, and hey its a market for natures wonders so I say your not gaming your own tag :)
I so want to be there now and exploring those huge boulders they are so cool

here is my post for this week :)

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@tattoodjay/market-friday-more-shops-in-downtown-milford-ct

!tip

I had a bit of trouble downloading, but have gotten a few pictures up. I will just post the others i. Others posts perhaps. So i punted a bit on the post, but, I promise not to do it again! Lol!

Barbados is an interesting little island, as are most of them, with a mixed cultural heritage that makes them unique. I love eating in these places with their flavors melding.

The beach is super cool with rocks shaped like mushrooms and the turbulent waters breaking at their bases. Thanks always for being a part of #MarketFriday! It is always a pleasure to see you in the tag!

!tip

Your post and comment makes me so want to visit Barbados Doubt i ever will but can but dream of making it there one day :)

You just never know! Stanger things have happened!

There is something magical about this place and most of the Caribbean, the joy, the friendliness, but, as a world traveler, you have been to places like that! Always good to hear from you @tattoodjay JJ!

Thats true as they say never say never
Yes I ca'nt complain it I never travel again I have been lucky to travel a lot over the years

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hey Denise, thanks for this fun challenge! :) Here's my entry for this week:

Mkt (1).jpg

Your enthusiasm has been contagious. :) Thank you for the tip! I love visiting markets too.

Thank you so much! It is my pleasure!

Are you kidding me!? I am exceedingly grateful for anyone that post in the market Friday tag. Thank you for dropping your link and I am excited to see your post. Especially seeing your picture.

!tip

🎁 Hi @itchyfeetdonica! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much, @pixresteemer! I appreciate the resteem!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I hope I can visit this lovely place one day. Here's my link 😁https://steemit.com/life/@erikah/6qtppr-marketfriday-goes-to-the-gardening-section

I hope so too! Barbados is a wonderful place to visit and the people there are oh so lovely! They all make you feel so wonderfully welcome.

I want to thank you for dropping your link into the post and also for taking the time and effort to post into the market Friday tag. It is certainly appreciated and I hope that you are having a most wonderful weekend!

!tip

Thank you for your support and generosity! I hope you too are having a wonderful weekend 😊

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hello again! I've finally made another entry for your initiative... I hope you enjoy it:

A Visit to Mercado do Bom Sucesso, in Porto (Portugal)

ftvofr56a6.jpg

You hope I Like It by!? If its for Market Friday, I can assure you, I'm going to love it! I have not met a market Friday post that I don't love!

I want to thank you for taking the time and effort to post into the market Friday tag and I hope that you are having a most wonderful weekend.

!tip

🎁 Hi @trincowski! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I think those people had to buy the surfboards, so you are in! I love how this place looks, Denise. Lucky you. I need a beach about now, but instead I have trinkets!

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/market-friday-goes-to-the-korean-store-in-kuala-lumpur-malaysia

I thank God for you! At least you almost kept me honest! I realize it a little cheating was needed this week, however I did pay for the taxi to bring you there so in a way, money was spent, right? Why do I think that a beach was not too far from you?

Thank you for dropping your link and also for putting together a #MarketFriday post!

!tip

I was exhausted when I did that post, but I hope you like it. We have to what we have to do! You paid money, so you are in!

Can you believe I have not seen one beach in the whole time I have been in SE Asia? I only travel to cities now for Visa purposes. And KL has no beach close at all. I lived near beaches for most of my life before this, so it's very different for me not to have one in walking distance.

I can only imagine! I lived in Phoenix at one point and thought I had died! :) I grew up on the East Coast with the waves of the Atlantic in my backyard, so being one with water is a necessary evil in life!

I know you understand!

I am sorry about the Visa thing and hope that the future gets brighter in that regard!

Thank you again!

I felt that way for two years in Denver. That is why I fled to California. Maybe I will find a way, but it will not be in this country. Now I am just looking at this as another phase of life :)

You don't intend on staying there? Are you hoping to go back to Thailand? Or will you try to come back to the States?

Thailand sounds like a perfect place, despite their rules regarding living there.

Well, plans are something God laughs at, but...

I plan to stay here until they kick me out. They will give me a last 90 days to leave. So far, nothing has been said at the border so I am good until August at least.

After this, I will probably go to Cambodia. Cambodia will let you stay forever if you just keep paying, but the life is harder. I might end up in Siem Reap. No beach there!

My other thoughts are the the Philippines, Myanmar, Vietnam, and Sri Lanka. But I am not really planning.

Thailand is unlikely and I hope to never see the US again, but never say never :)

Truth! Never say never. I am wondering which option is best!

🎁 Hi @fitinfun! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Checks Out Barbados Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Maybe there was one pedlar there, that would kinda make it a market of sorts
ok, stretching... but the rock brought me here
It looks amazing... how to resist
And this time I got the answer to the riddle ... yay :D

Hehe! There was a peddler of sorts selling trinkets, along the beach and I paid a taxi to get there!

Wow! That really is stretching it! LOL

Thank you so much for visiting #MarketFriday and yay!!!! You got the riddle!

!tip

hahaha
Thank you <33

🎁 Hi @kaerpediem! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48