High On Dispensaries #1 - A Letter to First-Timers

in #marijuana7 years ago (edited)

Did you ever think you would be shopping for weed in a store?

Neither did I. We've come a long way from the risky and paranoid toking of our youth. Now we have a full-spectrum medicine available to nearly anyone who wishes to pursue "alternative" ways to health and happiness.

This post is the first in a series called High On Dispensaries, which I will be creating over the coming weeks and months.

I've got some great first-time visit advice for you, but first, here's a little introduction to High On Dispensaries.


I couldn't be happier about the direction cannabis is moving, and its increasingly important role in our lives. As a Colorado resident, it is my right to grow six plants for personal use. I have six lovely, healthy and spoiled ladies growing in three-gallon pots on my back deck. The material that I harvest in just a few weeks' time will provide no-cost medicine to my family for the whole winter.



Toward the beginning of this year I decided to get my Colorado Medical Marijuana Badge so that I could work in the industry for which I cared so deeply. After receiving the badge, I got a job as a manager of a recreational dispensary near my home. Since then, I've been selling cannabis products full-time.

I thought I knew something about pot. I was wrong. Since beginning in the industry, not a day has gone by without me learning something new. There are so many different strains, products and delivery methods available that a first-time dispensary visitor, no matter how seasoned a user they may be, will always be overwhelmed.



Our shop is in an exceptionally beautiful part of southern Colorado, so we cater to many out-of-state and even international guests. I've seen first-hand the preconceived notions most of them carry and I've done my best to clarify everything for them and make them feel as comfortable as possible. That's exactly what I intend to do for you, the reader of this series. I aim to make you more equipped to make the transition from black-market back-alley dealings to shopping from a variety of professional and quality cannabis products in a store.

So you want some advice for your first dispensary visit?
Here we go.



Relax.

You may feel like the employees are rushing you, just because you may have had to wait and there may be other people waiting after you. You are the customer. Don't think of them as dealers. They work for you. In fact, they are literally working for your tips. Take all the time you need, and look at everything in the store, as there are no doubt hidden gems. Trust me, almost no one takes as much time looking as they ought to. You're only shorting yourself if you make a cannabis purchase hastily. Just breathe and enjoy the surreal experience.

Communicate.

Tell the budtender what you are looking for, and be as specific as you can. Budtenders are by no means doctors, or even pharmacists, but there is one thing that they know more about than 99% of everyone: cannabis. They can give you incredible suggestions based on your specific needs. And get this: They hardly ever work on commission. That means that they have no special interest in what they're selling you, other than to get you the most appropriate product for your needs.

Smell.

This may seem strange to someone who is new to the whole... cannabis thing, but smell everything. If you see twenty different kinds of weed on that shelf, you better have smelled at least 12 of them before you made your final decision.
I'll get into this more in later posts, but in my opinion, the way a bud hits your nose is the most important deciding factor.

Ask.

Ask about everything. The budtender will be happy to answer your questions, and if they can't, chances are they have Google handy. In my shop I'm always happy to take time to learn with a customer. After all, we're all very new to this medicine.

Follow the Rules.
To first-timers and out-of-staters, our rules and restrictions may seem over the top. All visitors must be adults with a valid photo identification proving they're at least 21 years old. Furthermore, guests must agree not to give any products to any minors or transport anything over state lines. This is a big deal. If we hear someone talking about taking product out of state, we are obliged to refuse them service. The bottom line: There's no need to complain, just play ball. We're lucky to be allowed to do what we're doing in this industry.

Have Cash.

Dispensaries in the United States are generally cash only, and often they do not have ATMs. Plan accordingly, but remember that you're going to be a kid in a candy store. You'll want to spend all the money you brought.

So there you go! There's some quick dispensary advice for first-timers, straight from a dispensary man. Every day I see a real need for more education about this "budding" industry. I look forward to using this wonderful platform and this series to further that education for as many people as possible.



I will address common issues and questions I deal with in my work such as:

How do I get the most value out of my cannabis visit?
How do I select a strain of bud that's right for me?
What are cannabinoids? Terpenes? Trichomes?

I will also address cannabis issues from a more speculative viewpoint:

Why is cannabis still illegal?
What is the long-term future of cannabis?
Who's going to make the money?

So if you're interested in hearing a humble dispensary manager's take on these questions and more, follow me. There will be plenty more to come in this series

I sincerely thank you for reading this post. Now let's all go out to the nearest dispensary, stock up and get elevated. :D

Images are either mine, or free from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Here's a few more pics of our ladies! (I'm the wife of this handsome bloke.) 😍

https://steemit.com/marijuana/@carrieallen/a-little-post-about-pot

Oooooohhhh! She thinks I'm handsome!

Lol! 🤣♥️

Nice pics and even nicer story! I had my first experience a while ago in Amsterdam... I smelled a lot that time, as per your advice!
My advice to everybody else is: use vapourisers for dry herb guys. (you'll thank me later)

I'd love to go to Amsterdam someday. As for vaporizing, yep, it's the way to go. Some folks like myself just love smoking, and probably always will. But with vapor you get way more flavor, and that's the best part for me. I really like a good terpene-infused cartridge.

Thanks for reading, welcome!

What a great read! I'm so excited this series will be coming out.

Isn't it a little cool & surreal to be able to buy weed in a store legally? I love it! This is a way of being a 'kid in a candy store' that I never could have imagined & it's feeling seeing people get over their Reefer Madness & start experiencing how wonderful this medicine can really be!

Thanks for such a great read! Talk about elevated! :)

Thanks! Appreciate the info. :)

Wow, thanks for your kind words! It's incredibly weird, even for me. It's a little hard to handle sometimes for the newcomers. Luckily my shop's in the middle of nowhere so usually people have time to shop. :)

One day the UK will have something like your shop, but I can't see it happening anytime soon.
Good luck ✌️

Thanks! I hope that prohibition ends in our lifetimes worldwide. It's such a strange thing to be controlled everywhere. Bizarre world we live in I guess. :) Cheers

Unfortunately for me, i live in Pa.
By Far one of the MOST Draconian States in the Nation..
Most stoners were all excited about getting medical in Pa.
i knew it would be the WORST medical program in the Country ...
and it is...
That's why they pushed it through so quick;
it actually prevents further progress...
Pa. boasts a spot as one of the Top 5 States in revolving door politics;
it has no spine, and consistently panders to Federal intervention..
It is a Federal state..
we want to move,
but have to get out of debt and sell our house 1st..

Thanks for sharing :)
Sorry for the Pennsylvania trouble. I understand. About 7 years ago I moved from Kansas. Pretty similar to PA, except they would NEVER accept medical. As for the regulations, I'll bet they'll come along eventually. CO does really have it together, better than most states, from what I've heard.

Did you buy property or rent...? i heard tell, homes are pretty expensive in CO

We rent. Our landlord's trying to get us to buy the house that we've been renting for the last five years, but he wants way too much. I figure once the crypto-haul comes in maybe I can think about being a homeowner. ;)

It's pretty expensive to live here. Cost of living is pretty high, and outside cannabis, there's not much work.

We're thinking Colorado or Maine... the thing about Maine is you can still get Land for $500+ to $1,000 an acre... Also legal there; 6 mature plants per adult in the household, 12 in veg, unlimited seedlings.. and there is already a strong Homesteading Tradition... Following you...

Good luck with the debt and the house! Hopefully Steemit will help us all with that kind of stuff.

Thanks... We'll be out of debt by next summer... Don't know how long it will take to sell the house; but i'll do owner financing; so it should sell pretty quick, with the way banks are today...

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the Steemit.com community! I’m also new here.
Followed and up-voted. Please consider following me back and checking out my past posts:

Intro:
https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@rebele93/another-minnow-learning-to-swim-in-a-very-big-pond

Cheers,
Mike Bryant (AKA: Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

If we hear someone talking about taking product out of state, we are obliged to refuse them service.

I'm scratching my head over this. Hope to visit your dispensary soon.

It's true. You don't have to live in CO to purchase, just have a valid ID with photo. But nothing is meant to be taken across state lines. And for some reason, people love to tell the bud staff their illegal plans. It puts me and the business in a tough spot when someone tells me that they intend to break the law and I can prevent it.
Hope that clarifies. Thanks for commenting. :)

I haven't found any of the dispensary weed to be of the quality that I am used to. Smells good looks good says 30% on it but it just doesn't cut it. Glad I don't have to buy it!

I'm pretty proud of the bud selection that we offer at our shop, but I've heard some sad stories about other places.

Obviously it's best to get it free if you can. Plus, plants that you grow yourself will probably work better for you no matter what.

I guess count yourself lucky that you get the good weed :)
Thanks for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55213.27
ETH 2919.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.95