MARCH MADNESS- DAY 11

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Read
photo 102 21-30-40.jpg

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10

Chapter 11

Father finally came back from his trip after two months. It's the longest he had be gone. Mom had been so angry at him before he got back so she totally forgot about her threat of reporting to him about my atrocities. She was being an angry wife missing her husband. Even grandma was a bit worried; she wouldn't eat until mom was able to reach dad on some days. I learned to tiptoe around them cause they were like grenades ready to blow up.
When Dad Eventually show up, there anger disappeared and they were there petting him and loving him. Mom hadn't Cook in while but she cooked six different soups with the help of Sheri when dad got back. It was amazing, the things you do when you miss someone.I guess the feeling is just the same way I missed ken.

Dad came back with a lot of gifts expect my car. I didn't get to celebrate my birthday except for the cakes mum ordered. Kenneth sent some gift over too, but the best gift was Dad's call that day he said he had a huge surprise for me. I knew how huge dad's surprise could get, so I thought it meant a more expensive car. But it's been three days since dad got back and I still haven't received a surprise delivery. So I decided to ask him.

Dad was sitting by the fountain the next morning,reading a newspaper and nibbling on an almond fruit. He loves it.

"Hi,Dad" I said, with a wide grin.

"Hello, Daughter" He said with a sarcasm,eyes fixed on his paper.

I smilled and hugged him from the back. "Any thing from the news we have to worry about?" I asked trying to sound concern.

"Ahhh, since when do you read the news? I know you want something so tell me" a smile escaped his lips.

"No..." I giggled. "You look realty engrossed with paper and I just wanted to make sure you were ok."

"I am Ok dear. There's nothing for you to worry your pretty little head about" he finished his sentence giving me a peck.

"And it's not like I came here to ask for something, I came for what yo promised." I chipped in immediately.

He let out a hoarse laughter, "Mikunnn, ok tell me, what is it?" He said with sincerity.

"My car" I mumbled out the words.

"Your car" he said , now laughing harder. "But I told you I had a bigger surprise for you" he added.

"And I thought you meant a bigger car" I said, a bit confused.

He took me buy my hand and sat me down beside him.

"Ayomikun, you are my daughter. You and your kid sister will eventually own all I have. You don't not have to worry about this things, ok?" He said.

"Yes sir" I said

"And my big surprise for you arrive yesterday, I was going to show you today but you beat me to it. Go to my room, there's an envelope on the table, its for you" he smiled.

I stood up and upstairs screaming even though I didn't know way it was. But, dad's surprises were the best so I knew it would be awesome.

On his bed lay my admission letter into Harvard school of business.

"Dad," I said laughing and almost crying. "I love you" I added and gave him a hug.

I was so happy i didn't know what esle to say . He had ask me to write an A level exam but I didn't know why, I just thought it was for a private university in Nigeria. But, harvard business school.. That was something i would love to do. I have never really thought about my life. But, business- business was what everyone did in the family and i felt it was the right fit for me too.

"Dad are you hungry? Do you want me to cook you anthing" i said in my bid to say how glad i was forgetting how bad of a cook i was.

He started laughing. "You! Cook!" He laughed more.

"Dad, I do try" i said sluggishly.

"It's ok dear". Sheri is in the kitchen cooking already."

"You are leaving the country by may even though your session resumes August. You should prepare towards that. Spend time with your friends, you will miss them" He said.

My heart skipped, Ken.. My fantasies..
I went back to my room thinking if I truly wanted to go to Harvard or not


Day 11 prompt:Hungry
Word count :760

If you don't know what the free write march madness is about. Click on the link below.

https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@freewritehouse/march-madness-day-1-prompt-in-the-club

Excuse my typos, All will be edited later on. Follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for the full details about freewrite

Total word count:9,617

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72