MARCH MADNESS - DAY 2.

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Read
photo 102 21-30-40.jpg

Chapter 1 here

Chapter 2

It's been a week and some days, father wasn't back from his trip. We were all use to this. Father never came at a specified date, there's always more work, more trip and more extension of days. We expect to see him by weekend.

Today is Tuesday but I am skipping school to visit the hospital, thanks to my feet. I stepped on a nail yesterday. I had gotten back home to see some workers renovating the store room. Mum had called them, even though I couldn't see what needed replacement in there. I watched her as she gave out instructions to them. She was like a boss. Mother loves to be in charge, she had this mental toughness and it was this grit she had used in running her five businesses.

I came back down stairs after taking off my school uniform, I was hungry. I called out to mom but there were no answers. I moved closer to the store room area and one last step before I would be standing right in front of the store room. I felt a surge of sharp pain from under my feet and immediately my whole body went sore. I screamed and cried out. The workers got to me first, they supported me as they checked to see what was wrong. It was a nail, it went through my soft slip on. The boss pulled it out and barked at the others for being so careless. I kept crying, watching as my blood tickle down onto the tile.

I could hear grandma's slippers making the slap slap slap sound as she walked towards us, Sheri walking closely behind her. There my leg lay like a log of wood. Grandma saw me bleeding and started screaming. I was a bit confused, her voice was louder than I that was in pain. She called on Jesus and then Allah. She held my leg and used her hand to stop the bleeding.

She sent Sheri to the kitchen to get some things I couldn't make out. The workers kept saying sorry to me. Grandma started praising my lineage, calling on ancestors not sleep. It was a sight, I wasn't dying people!!! I thought to myself.

Sheri came back with a knife and palm oil and I wonder what was happening. She took it from her while Sheri held out my feet upward showing my injury. I tried standing up to see what grandma was up to. I saw her pour a little palm oil on the flat surface of the knife. I saw the palm oil danced and made a frying sound. The knife had been placed in a fire. I saw her moved towards me to pour the hot oil on my wound, I screamed and tried to get away but the two guys still standing over me held me down while grandma dropped three drops of the oil on my exposed wound. I cried out more than I did when i got injured.

Sheri helped me up whilst i limped on one leg. Grandma patted my back and wiped my face. The last thing I remembered was taking a pain reliever and I slept off.


"Ma, I have had enough of you in this house. Do you want to kill my daughter?! Do you want to kill her?! Knife ! Palm oil!!"... Mum was screaming at grandma

Their noise had woken me up. I stared at the wall clock in my room. It was 11:00pm.So late and this argument at this time. I got up.It's been a while there we had any form of altercation in my house. The last one was two years ago, when father slapped our former driver and sacked him. He sent him to deliver some money and he had siphons some for himself. He came back with thugs, but they couldn't enter at the gate of the Estate. We had a very tight security at Awolowo Estate in Abuja. Yes, Awolowo, my father owned the Estate and many other more.

The screaming continued downstairs as I made my way to the sitting room.

"Grandma don't turn my house into a shrine, don't turn it into a Shrine."Mum was still shouting, her voice raising and dropping.

Grandma's voice wasn't as high as hers, I couldn't make out her words until I got closer to them.

"It was nothing. I applied our traditional first aid. Why do we have to take her to a hospital over a nail wound, stop acting senseless. And where were you as her mother?! Ehn Where were you?!?" Grandma said.

I watched them biker on for a while. They didn't notice my presence. I wonder where they got the energy for this.

"Haa, Ma, If anything should happen to my daughter, If anything happens... Eh eh eh," Mom threatened.

She turned towards the staircase and saw me. Grandma looked towards my direction too.

"Ayomikun! Ayomikun!!"

She rushed towards me, with her voice breaking. I didn't know if I saw tears. I would have been confused if she was crying over a nail would.

"How's your leg?" They both said at the same time.

"My feet is better, I walked downstairs, I didn't limp. I just feel a little bit pain, but I can handle it. I said." Looking from one to the other.

Grandma smiled. Pleased that her achaic first aid had worked.

"We are going to have a look at it at the doctor's tomorrow." Mom said.

"I am fine mom."

"I said we are having a look at it at the Doctor's tomorrow." She repeated, staring into my eyes.

"Yes ma"

She wasn't going to accept defeat. Grandma let out a hysterical laughter as she went upstairs. At that moment, the only thing I wanted to know was where mom had gone to be back this late. I couldn't ask her since her mood was erratic. We all went to bed.


Day 2 prompt: Log.
Word count : 990

If you don't know what the free write march madness is about. Click on the link below.

https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@freewritehouse/march-madness-day-1-prompt-in-the-club

Excuse my typos, All will be edited later on. Follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for the full details about freewrite

Total word count:2262

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 148 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much.

Hello @wems, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Awwn ....Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10