How To Use Velcro Rollers

in #makeup7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit, today I'm going to show you how to use velcro rollers to create big voluminous curls. Yes, this method is a little old-school but I just love the effect they give! Once you see how easy this retro little method is, you'll be bringing it back too! Nothing else gives me as much volume and bounce for a night out or special occasion!

1.jpg

Velcro rollers are not only easy to use, but they are cheap and cheerful too. No need to splash the cash on a big set of heated rollers, just pick these up from your beauty supply shop or even the grocery store! I like to start off with my hair dry for this technique. The trick is to apply heat to the hair in order for it to become more elastic. When your hair is hot you can mould it around a shape and as it cools it will set. I like to use either a curling wand, my straighteners or even my blowdryer! Once your section of hair is heated, place the velcro roller underneath and pull towards the ends. Holding the ends in, begin to roll upwards, towards to the root. Velcro rollers will actually stay in on their own, however I like to use a bobby pin to make it extra secure!

2.jpg

Once you have a full head of rollers in, you will need to let them set completely. This can take anywhere from 10 - 20 minutes. As a general rule, the longer you leave them in, the longer the curls will last and the more bouncy your look will be! I like to pop them in before I do my makeup, this gives me time to get ready whilst they are working their magic! The beauty of this method is that you can achieve so many results depending on what size rollers you buy. The ones I'm using in this tutorial are a pretty standard size but you can buy much thinners ones for a tighter curl (more of a ringlet effect) or ones twice the size which will add a lot of volume but more of a loose wave. Take your pick!

3.jpg

I think velcro rollers have become a big part of my routine now and I just love the bounce and texture they give to my hair! You can't beat a good sing in to your hairbrush with a head full of pink rollers too!! Let me know what you think and if you would try velcro rollers out now...

Sort:  

Congratulations @saramichelle! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @saramichelle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41