NewbieGames Bingo - Make connections and have fun (over 5SBD in prizes)

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)

As part of the #newbiegames initiative, and to support the great work by the #newbieresteemday team, I have put my thinking cap on to try and put a new twist into an old game to see if I can come up with a simple and fun way for us to connect with each other and the Steemian community.

I have seen this done by a couple of different people in the past, and I still think it is a good idea if done well with good intentions like these people:

Most of us will be familiar with the game, so I want to still keep it simple enough that everyone can play and it will be good opportunity to find out more about the people that are working hard to make the #newbiegames and #newbieresteemday a success. So here is my proposal for the NewbieGames spin on Bingo:

How to Play

Make your bingo card

Create a table from the list of followers of the @newbiegames account (there are 50 followers last time I checked so plenty to choose from). And just to show you a simple way to creating tables, you'll need to construct a 4 x 4 grid using the '|' symbol like this and then leave a space and add a username and repeat until you have four in one row.

PLEASE DO NOT use the '@' symbol with the username otherwise @ginabot is probably going to go crazy!

| davemccoy | mudcat36 | plushzilla | coolguy123 |

Then you repeat until you have completed four rows like so (but choose different names):

| davemccoy | mudcat36 | plushzilla | coolguy123 |
| davemccoy | mudcat36 | plushzilla | coolguy123 |
| davemccoy | mudcat36 | plushzilla | coolguy123 |
| davemccoy | mudcat36 | plushzilla | coolguy123 |

Or you can go to the Markdown Tables Generator (http://www.tablesgenerator.com/markdown_tables) if you like something fancier like this:

davemccoymudcat36plushzillacoolguy123
davemccoy
davemccoy
davemccoy

If you are artistic then there's also nothing stopping you from creating an image as well :)

Register your entry

Place a link of the post that has your card in the comments section of this post before the cut-off period (which is when this post expires). This way we make sure that all the bingo cards cannot be changed. In the mean time you can visit the people on your bingo card and drop them a nice comment on their post or chat to them on Discord.

Drawing of the names

When all the entries are in, I will create a post for the first game titled "Steemit Bingo Game (#)" and will randomly pick a name out of the list of followers of the @newbiegames acount each day as an update to the post until someone manages to 'BINGO' and notifies me in the comments section.

When one or more players have connected four names together in a row, column or diagonal then they will post a comment with the word "BINGO" (doesn't have to be capitals, but hopefully you'll sound excited). The first valid winning entries will be checked and the contest will be closed and winners announced.

Prize (now increased by 5SBD)

The winner(s) of the game will share in the SBD for the post and any additional donations or offers of prizes that I will gratefully accept. This will be transferred to their account and posted in the comments section to ensure transparency and fairness of the competition.

  • Thanks to @simplymike for his generous donation of 5SBD the prize pool!

  • Also, extra prize that goes to the most creative bingo card!

This will be voted on when the official drawing of names started when all the entries have been submitted.

Register your entry NOW and see you in a week's time for the first edition of NewbieGames Bingo!

Sort:  

I've decided to donate 5SBD to the prize pool, just because I think it's such a great idea for a game

this is a very nice thing you are doing @simplymike! As I've told you so many time, you are wonderful! :)

Like I told you on Discord, I won’t be joining the game itself. Not only because I will be in hospital all week next week, but also because I donated the prize - it would be not fair if I won my own donation - lol
I do want to stay in the running for the most creative card, though :0)

Maybe someone can use my Bingo card to play...? @beeyou: how about it? No need to spend time creating a Bingo card, just take mine...

Sorry @simplymike. I did not see this message and therefore did not tell my teammates. One of them will play, I think.

I liked your artful entry.

Thank you :0)

I was going to give out a prize for the most creative bingo card as a bonus, so I am glad you have put in some effort with yours :) Thanks for playing!

Thank you for hosting. I really had fun creating the card :-)

wow... very awesome.. that's wild!

No time to play but I LOVE your bingo card!!! Perhaps someone from our beeyou team will play.

Thanks.
Creating a basic bingo card takes about 5 minutes, I hope one of you can find the time :0)

How about using my card to play the game? see explantion here

Here is my Bingo Card
https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@losthippie/newbiegames-bingo-a-new-way-to-make-connections-and-have-fun
steemdiva I davemcoy I mudcat36 I newbiegames I
silentkiller I jorlauski I funcontest I bashadow I
bengy I wilfredn I cryptkeeper17 I losthippie I
beeyou I sillentkiller I leighleigh I simplymike I

Thanks for your entry :)

woo I see I'm inside! Here's a random like for you ^^

Special thanks to @fibrefox for organizing and @simplymike for the donation :D

This is my entry for NewbieGames Bingo!
https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@tifaong/do-you-wanna-play-with-me-in-bingo

My bingo card is

In table form is,

bashadowrantarraise-me-upcryptoriddler
jacksondaviesfibrefoxsimplymikegracefavour
melindaaleighleighbeeyouplushzilla
cheekahsmylie2005davemccoytryskele

Good luck everyone!

I like the style of the bingo card you have there :) Would love to see more people come up with their own designs. Maybe I can use it for the next time I run the contest!

Thank you @fibrefox :)
Yeah, this also prompts more people to think creatively and show that they put effort in the contest. Then you can judge based on those effort.
Note: I suck at art and design :P

Hi! Here is my bingo card entry :

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@babi13/my-bingo-card-entry-for-newbiegames-contest

rantarpowellx5leathertinkerroyaleagle
bottlestreetapolymaskreginecruznonstop
steemdivabashadowbeeyoubengy
cheekahipokesmotlosthippieseaslim

Thanks for your entry! Lots of familiar names there including @bengy who also hosted a contest that I participated in, and many people who are also hosting contests in this week's newbiegames posts :)

Hey that's me! I have an idioms game with SBD prizes, and also a steam key contest!

Aren't you joining us in the Bingo game, @bengy? Creating a bingo card takes only 5 minutes or so... ;0)

@simplymike

I plan to! I ben busy trying to grow the #classical-music community and juggle sick child. Should have a few minutes this evening!

Cool contest, here is my entry. I've noticed quite a few new people follow the newbiegames account since the start date of this.

https://steemit.com/bingo/@mrzurkon/bingo-card

iexplorethemanwithnonamemaeolloves143leighleigh
gracefavourneddykellypowellx5alyciakiss
tifaongsmylie2005gattinocryptoriddler
julieseverydaycoachwoodzibeeyou

Excellent! Thanks for playing and I am glad to see that not everyone puts davemccoy on their bingo card because the names will be drawn randomly and not by popularity :D

Thanks for entering and I am sure it will be even more fun now that the prize pool received a generous boost from @simplymike!

It was also because of him that I learned from this thingy! Cheers and again, thank you guys!!

Here is my entry. I hope I don't get to busy to check in every now and then.

Don't worry, now that I have your entry I will organize the contest so that no one misses out if they are a winner :) Thanks for your participation!

Great Game @fibrefox! Here is my entry Bingo Card! I'll be looking forward to playing!

Thanks for participating! I am actually looking forward to connecting with more people and learning about those names that I have not come across yet in the bingo cards :)

Absolutely! Thanks for putting such a fun game together!! Connecting with people is so important in this steemit world! 👍

I have seen your name on a few people's bingo cards, it must be that nice smile that you have. Thanks for playing and hope we can all have some fun :)

Aw, thanks! Always down for some fun! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34