Make It Healthy Project: Is Hoarding Healthy or is Simplifying Sweeter?


Have you come across that meme yet, the one that says...


"No-one  is going to stand up at your funeral and say: 'She had a really expensive couch and great shoes'.  Don't make life about stuff".


It made me smile, but it also made me think.  Whoever came up with that little gem is spot on... At my funeral I'd like to think people would talk about who I am rather than what I have.  If, at the end of my life, my loved ones were focusing on my 'stuff' then I'd be really upset.  I'd be gutted if a relative got up and said "Joanna was a hoarder!  She had way too much and didn't use any of it to help other people". 



Often we buy things because we buy into the image associated with it.  Like a nice jacket, or a nice phone.  We like the vision of ourselves using it, or wearing it, and we imagine what people will say.  But to be honest it pleases me more if I'm greeted with "You look well!" rather than "Nice jacket!"  I want people to see ME, not my stuff.  I want the impression they're left with to be about what I said or did or how I made them feel, not whether I looked groovy or have cool apps on my diamante-covered smart phone.  


Things, gathering 'stuff'... Is it ever a healthy choice?  Competing, comparing, consuming, envy.  I see now how it traps you, ties you to a particular place and state of mind – makes it harder for you to give it up, even when you don't need it anymore.  Personally, the more I have, the more I feel uncomfortable, burdened.  


It's quite stressful, for example, thinking about moving house when you have all your stuff to sort out and pack away.  And finding places to put it all!  Argh... headache.  Not healthy.  



As I see it - enough is enough, but more than enough is too much.  Who needs more than what they need???


So the first challenge I give myself for an all-round healthier 2018 was to SIMPLIFY... get rid of stuff we don't absolutely need.  That includes stuff stored away in boxes... for a rainy day... or 'just in case'... who knows why we keep it?!


I started with my clothes.  Personally I never wear a different outfit every day... I don't see the point.  I have my favourites, and as long as I'm clean and not smelly I wear the same things for days and days!  So why do I need all these outfits?  The answer is........... I don't!  Granted I buy mostly from charity shops and so they're not expensive or name brands, but even so, there's a limit to how many cheap clothes one person can wear!


Here's the wardrobe in my bedroom...



The wardrobe and shelves in the spare room...



The two large boxes I had stored in the garage...



All emptied out on my bed!  Goodness... what a lotta stuff!



So, two hours later I've sorted through it all, put away what I definitely wear, and everything else is going.  I have these two big boxes for charity.  Another box I put aside for my Mum to look through when she comes to visit, and anything she doesn't want will also go to charity.



As well as all these clothes belonging to me, I also have boxes and boxes of old baby clothes and items, and no imminent plans for more children.  They'll probably get mildew before I have another child, and then it's all good for nothing except to be thrown out.  What a waste.  What inconsiderate behaviour too - as there could be a mother or family down the road in desperate need of these things, and what I have could make all the difference in the world to them.  I remember being a new mother and all the worry that comes with it - how can I afford all the things this baby needs?  Will I be able to provide for him adequately?  So my recent thought was - use what I have and don't need right now for the good of others.   


This, shamefully, was all the baby things I was storing.  Four big boxes plus a suitcase just of clothes.  And I have a moses basket, bath, baby walker, three different baby carriers, and several other things still in the garage!  It must all go to a family who needs it.



And a little tip - if you have clothes in hole that aren't fit for giving away, you can use the material for other things.  One thing I do is cut material into strips to make hairbands... very useful when you have long hair and live in a windy place!



So I guess impressions do matter – do I want to give the impression I'm the kind of person who stores away unused things whilst people elsewhere are losing sleep worrying how to get the very items I have?  What am I saying by presenting myself in this way?  That I value material wealth?
 

Or do I prefer to give the impression that I value people?  That I value health?  I realised all our attitudes and behaviour towards 'stuff' says a lot about what we value.  Perhaps it's time to simplify and...

For more from the Make It Healthy Project, and all kinds of information related to good health, crafts, photography... follow me! 


Feel free to link your own 'good health' posts to this project, just remember to include a link to one of my "Make It Healthy" posts, and tag with   #makeithealthy  to ensure all this invaluable information, recipes, tips, whatever is all in one easily accessible place.  And it's even better if we re-steem each other's posts too.  The point, after all, is not only to gain SBD  and followers for ourselves, but to help inform and heal whatever parts of the world are within our reach.
 

Many thanks, much love.




Sort:  

I live in a van, so I have very little storage space and I'm STILL finding things I don't use that are just wasting space! Moving into this thing taught me a lot about what we truly need. Quality over quantity. It's also nice that now I have to REALLY think about a purchase before I make it. When you can have so few things, they need to be really good things :)

Ooh you're a van man, how exciting, I often fantasise about living that way... maybe one day I hope! I guess you're aware more than most how little stuff is actually needed for an enjoyable life, and that not being tied to a load of stuff means you've a light load and ready for adventure! I'm glad you stopped by @climb-yoga-van... I've had a very quick look at your blog and it looks like a good one! So I look forward to having a proper look later :-)

That's exactly what I had in mind, only I didn't have the courage to take the pile of clothes out of the wardrobe... too scared I'll get buried underneath and no one's ever going to find me. Good for you, though!

Haha... well @ladyrebecca it sounds to me like you've got too many clothes! Time for a sort out! Do you ever hear of 'swap or sell' parties in your area? Often held in community centres, though many people just have them at their house and invite all their friends or neighbours round for drinks and swapping. Great fun and you lighten the load at the same time! Perhaps a thought for the future... when you're ready to finally tackle that wardrobe! :-)

Believe or not Dear Joanna, this is something I deal a lot when I am doing staging,( which is my regular job). From my own experience, when people selling a house, they are usually forced to declutter, lol.

Congratulations to you doing it without being forced. I know it's not easy 🌸💖🌸

We did it once before when we moved from England to Ireland. Since we didn't have transport of our own to drive a van over on the ferry we had to do a serious de-clutter and send everything we kept via courier (not cheap as you will know!) We invited friends and family and friends of friends, and they donated whatever they could for our 'moving fund'. I remember watching all our stuff being carried away and the house getting emptier, and what a liberating feeling it was! I was elated! Never been comfortable with owning lots of stuff. We rent a furnished house and still I think we have too much of our own things! We want to move, but nowhere to move to yet, so I'm starting on the de-cluttering anyway!

Moving is never easy, but it's usually fo the better. Good luck finding your new home soon 🌸💖🌸

Great food for thought, the what if's put a lot of stuff back into the boxes for a rainy day, we as humans are quite emotional to let things go.
Have containers of baby clothes from our four kidlets, wanting to keep them for their kidlets so they don't have to struggle like we did, but then you have people that are in need now.

You're right... emotional attachment can make it hard to part with certain things. But I reckon when there's a reason to store things, like your kids clothes, then it's a very thoughtful thing to do and also practical. As you say, they won't have to struggle if there's already a load of things put away for them. Also your NZ climate won't cause mildew like here in Ireland, where even the air inside the house can get very humid and I worry about storing things like clothes that can ruin easily. If I lived in the same country as my family I'd be giving most to my sister, who's pregnant right now!

interesting :)
I also did some ridding but not just clothes lots
but don't you guys have a container where you could just put the old clothes away we have that here so it's not hard to rid of them
the toys and other stuffs had to go to a recycling place basically given away to charity as well

I'd like people to say; Nice me instead of nice stuff

how about both ;)
but first ME :D
but you're so damn right at that too!

Yeah, we have one of those bins up in the village for clothes, but 2 problems: 1. I don't have a car to take it all up, and 2. the drunks post things other than clothes into the bins on their way home from the pub so all the clothes get ruined. I'm thinking, with regard to the baby clothes, I will contact the local health nurse and see if there are any poor mothers/families in the area desperate for stuff. I have 'tiny baby' clothes too for prem babies, all in perfect condition. Maybe the neonatal unit in the hospitalwill take them... I will find out! For everything else I'm thinking maybe having a garage sale one afternoon, and local people come and donate a little what they feel is appropriate. Over the next few weeks I'll be sorting out the rest of the house so probably will be stacks of stuff to give away!

You should see the outfit I have on right now, and you'd realise I'm not at all interested if people think I look good haha. Thank you for compliments though... you always have a knack for getting a smile outta me!

I've done the same thing several years ago. I have also stopped buying new clothes and new stuff in general. Its liberating!
Apart having more space, less work that goes with it all (washing, ironing, storing etc...) now I also have more TIME and more MONEY too. 😉

Exactly! And there's the mark of sanity right there :-)

Moving to Cambodia with very little has learned me how to have less stuff (except;t kitchen stuff can't have enough of that hehe). Best things in life are no things!

It's liberating isn't it? And this is only the beginning - I have the rest of the house to work through! Can't wait to get rid of everything!

Hehe.. enjoy the ride... it is very liberating indeed!

I've done the same thing several years ago. I have also stopped buying new clothes and new stuff in general. Its liberating!
Apart having more space, less work that goes with it all (washing, ironing, storing etc...) now I also have more TIME and more MONEY too. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61