A Smattering of Macrophotography ~Part X~ As Summer Begins

20190625_195800.jpg
(All photos taken by @paradigm42)
I invite you again to journey with me into the world of macrophotography. A place where I get excited to see a tiny insect sitting on a small wildflower. Where common flowers and insects are shown to be the true gifts from nature they are.
20190625_195822.jpg
This interesting looking little bug is called a Flower Fly. There are several different types pattern wise, but in general they all mimic a small wasp in form and pattern for camouflage against predators. The Flower Fly however does not bite or sting. The adults drink nector from flowers and their larva eat aphids and other small garden pests, making them welcome additions to any garden ecosystem.
20190625_195850.jpg
The wildflower our little friend is taking its repast from is called Prairie Fleabane. This commonly found wildflower is native to southern Canada and large areas of the US. A member of the Astor family, the leaves have astringent qualities and some medicinal uses. The flowers attract butterflies and various pollinators like our little friend.
20190625_195918.jpg
Here we see two Flower Flies locked in the embrace of an intimate moment on a member of the Daisy family. (Or in a full out brawl lol.) Which one it is we may never know.. ;)
20190625_200249.jpg
I love watching Ants. This one is hard at work clearing dirt. I am not sure what kind these are, but I happen to find Ants to be absolutely fascinating. I plan on doing a full informational post on local indigenous Ants in the future to go along with my macrophotography of them.
20190625_200316.jpg
It is not easy to get good shots of them because they are constantly working and moving around. I can't wait until I get a better camera and lens to work with.
20190625_200001.jpg
This pretty, vibrant, and sassy looking wildflower is called Spiderwort. It is a perennial (comes back every year) flower that I am lucky enough to have had made its home year after year among my Black Raspberries. I know summer has officially arrived when these are in full bloom!
20190625_195942.jpg
Native to Canada and the Eastern US, the plant is fairly common in my area. It prefers moist soil and partial shade, and can be found in several different soil types and ph balances.
The entire plant from flower to roots is edible. The leaves can be used in salads or cooked in soups. The flowers make a pretty addition on top of a salad as well. Spiderwort also has several medicinal qualities well known in Native American medicine.
20190625_200035.jpg
Speaking of Black Raspberries, I can't wait for mine to ripen! I am very lucky to have them growing all over the property. I'm especially excited this year because last years crop was decimated by an extreme heat wave that lasted two weeks as they fully ripened..
20190625_200020.jpg
I have been taking photos throughout the growing process this year and look forward to sharing them along side plant info in a post with their own featured staring role!
20190625_195704.jpg
This is definitely not one of my better photos.. It did however come out sort of cool looking in an abstract sort of way.
20190625_195640.jpg
I went back out in the rain after walking Malcolm to get some photos of my cool looking visitor as it used my yard as a reststop on the last leg of its migration back up north. Unfortunately out of several macro shots these were my best of the bunch..
20190626_153714.jpg
I am pleased to introduce to you to my cool looking visitor the Twelve-Spotted Skipper! This nifty looking Dragonfly's prefered habitat is near ponds and boggy areas which is how I know my yard was definitely a pit-stop to rest and perhaps grab a snack for the road.
20190625_195416.jpg
In remembrance of spring now that it has past, I will leave you with some pretty mystery flowers I have yet to classify.
20190625_195353.jpg
They bloomed around mid spring (early May this year around here) and only lasted a few weeks. I think they maybe a type of Honeysuckle, but don't quote me on it lol. If anyone knows what it is, please comment below.
20190625_200149.jpg
And for a bonus macro shot.. Some Baby's Breath! (From a store bouquet of flowers.) Just because it's super pretty and looks like something a summer pixie or fairy would wear in their hair! ;)
I hope you have enjoyed this intro to summer through macrophotography.
As always remember that it is all about the little things in life and thanks for looking in! :)

Sort:  

You really did well by taking these shots without the insect recognizing.

Amazing shots.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! :) I definitely have to try my best to be quiet, quick, yet with as little movement as possible to get any decent shots of flying insects because I'm using a cellphone with a seperate macro lens for all of them.

@paradigm42

To begin this post... I am here to say hello, as my neighbor in the #RedfishPowerUPLeague by @paulag...
Source...

Now let's talk about those photos!!

I do believe your "uncertain" photo, might indeed be a Honeysuckle variant... it has the same petal design as the Honeysuckle we have in our yard:

IMG_1559165509109.jpg
Samsung SM-G960U1, ƒ/1.5, 1/60, 4.3mm, ISO64

See Larger Image

I would also love to know what type of Smart Phone Lens you are using... I have a Samsung S9, but grabbed a cheapy "ONI Lens" from Wal-Mart, and can not get it to work... You keep up with these wonderful photos and congratulations on being accepted into the Redfish Power UP League!!

Hey neighbor! Thank you for the flower info, pretty photo, and kind words! :) The lens I use is part of a set of different cellphone lenses my boyfriend surprised me with last year. I don't remember the brand but he ordered it from Amazon. It does take a while to get used to using the macro lens because the phone will not properly auto focus with it, so you have to have your phone very close, but at just the right distance from the subject to get a good shot.

Awesome! Thank you very much! :) I hope you continue this initiative in the future. I will participate and let others know if I see another contest post.

This post is supported by $0.56 @tipU upvote funded by @photocircle :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Those are the best photos I have taken recently. Would appreciate, if you could also mention the camera used

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! :) I have been using a 5mp cellphone camera, with a 15x macro lens made to be used with a cellphone. I am definitely ready and looking forward to upgrading soon to a real camera and lenses in the near future.

It is necessary to mention your gadgets while sharing photography post to make people know and help to applaud

Posted using Partiko Android

I will definitely do so in the future. I was admittedly a bit embarrassed to write on my posts what I use after seeing so many different photographer's awesome work on steemit, and the equipment, lenses and settings they use. I am very much still an amateur on a learning curve lol..

Well it's good to mention atleast it give some helpful tips to other photographer too...to learn photography tricks

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.

Thank very much!! This is a great curation initiative, and always well appreciated! :)

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to paradigm42! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

@paradigm42, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46