Just be Yourself...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

beyourself_titleblog.png

Imgur


People like to stereotype, put labels on others based on how they look or their background. When those labels don't match with how those persons behave we tend to find that behaviour "odd" or "strange".

Imgur


Peer_Pressure_banner.png

When we grow up especially in our teens we all have the desire to "fit in". We want to be part of a group and change our behavior accordingly. We fear that if we act different then maybe we lose the connection with our peers and end up outside the circle of friends.

But what if changing our behavior clashes with who you really are? Should you pretend not to like a certain singer or music just because it is not regarded as cool?


beyourselfsinger_banner.png

Imgur


Elvis_banner.png

When I grew up (I was around 17) I met this guy named Miguel, I knew him from around the way and we often hang out with kids of our own age. This was a time when everybody was deep into Hip-Hop music and R&B. Now Miguel was kind of an odd duck in that respect because he liked Elvis. He even dressed like he just came out of a 50's retro video clip.
To make things even worse Miguel was Indonesian which is not what you normally associate with Elvis fandom.

Of course (kids being kids) Elvis was made fun of a lot because you know.. Hip-Hop is cool and Elvis is not. However Miguel never changed, he stayed who he was, dressed the way he liked and never buckled under the peer pressure.

I never forgot about Miguel, more than that I really admired the guy. He stood for what he believed in, was never afraid or embarrassed to let people know what he liked, how unpopular or uncool that might be.
He was an Elvis fan and the rest of us just had to deal with it.

The teasing stopped and Miguel was accepted by the group for what he was. He hang out with us and went to the same places we did, he was one of us although he dressed and looked totally different.

Imgur


uncle_vester_banner.png

At the time I did not understand the lesson I should have learned from Miguel. It was not until later when I was watching a movie that it clicked.
The movie was House Party 3, now it might sound strange to learn something from importance from a movie but....hey, that's what happened.

In the movie the actor Bernie Mac (brilliant comedian) plays the role of Uncle Vester (no, not that guy from the Addams Family) and there is one scene where he sits down with his nephew and gives him a lesson about life. The nephew was having trouble getting the parents of the girl he was dating to like him because he was not up to their standards.

Uncle Vester sat him down and said the following:
Boy, just be yourself. If people don't like you for being yourself... FUCK 'EM!

beyourself_banner.png

Imgur


lessons_learned_banner.png

It hit me that like Miguel I liked things that were uncool (at the time), things that gave me joy but too embarrassed to share with my friend.
Like all kids I just wanted to fit in and hid my "guilty pleasures" just to look cool for my friends.

Yes I like Rap music and R&B but I also love classic Rock music, I can't play basketball to save my life although everyone just assumes I must be good at it because of my height and skin color. Truth is that I am a nerd, I love gaming, anime, comic books, sci-fi and fantasy, I read all of the Games of Thrones novels and loved every one of them.
I stopped apologizing for the things I love a long time ago, and you know what? I am much happier now then I was back then.

So just be yourself and if people don't like you for being yourself......

Well, just watch the clip...



dont_forget_to_leave_a_comment_darkerblue_banner.png

Imgur


classy_signature6.png


Imgur

Read more about: Peer pressure | Bernie Mac |

Imgur


recommendedpostsbannerdarkerblue.png

who_is_responsible_banner.png


recommended_header_darkerblue.png

minnowjourney.png

more_info_extensions2_db.png

steemit_scam_db.png

Imgur

Sort:  

good lesson

Thank you, it can be hard but the outcome is always good.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @xervantes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Nice post @xervantes! Yep I agree, just be yourself , and be open with it! Resteemed.

Thanks gingerninja, really appreciate the support. It seems easy to just be yourself but is sometimes hard to pull of.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 12.21 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @xervantes. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

People love stereotypes. It precludes thought.

Yeah, I guess stereotyping is easier than trying to get to know people.

Great enjoy a lot want to see more of this in future. @xervantes

thanks gamzeuzun, don't worry there is more where that come from....

Крут не по годам

Sorry my Russian ain't all that. But I am sure you said "greatest blog I ever read" :)

Be comfortable with yourself, if you want to do it, go for it.

Life is too short to live the way others wish to perceive what you should be like @xervantes

Those are words to live by. Thank you for sharing this.
I guess it is also a cultural thing, in some cultures being different, is not always appreciated.

Hey fellow MAW member, I saw your post was the Make-a-Whale High Five post of the day and came to check it out. I love the message. Be yourself, don't worry what others think. It's hard to imagine how many people would be so much happier if they took that message to heart. Thanks for sharing a great post!

Hey gregory-f, thank you for the support. It was something I had on my mind to post about for a long time. I figured that the MAW high five was the perfect opportunity to finally do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36