What makes a good parent?

in #life7 years ago

Before I start this post, I want to say a big 'Thank you' to everyone who read my post last week and made it my most succesful post to date. I had no idea that it would hit off like that, or that people were even interested in the topic. Therefor a heartfelt Thank you!. I'm glad you liked my post and I hope that I won't disappoint you. Feel free to come with suggestions and questions or even just ideas for future posts.

Raising a child (or more) is like . . . . . No! There's nothing like raising a child!!!

In this post I want to deal with something very natural and also very difficult. It can be very rewarding and fulfilling if you deal with it properly, but if you do it wrong, it comes back to bite you in the *ss.

Jealousy

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-27 um 15.48.39.png

I think this is probably one of the most difficult things to deal with as a parent. Jealousy is natural, if we didn't have jealousy in the world, a lot of problems wouldn't exist. Let's be honest, even adults still suffer from this. My neighboor has a Tesla, I want one. My brother has bought a 4 bedroom house with a large garden in a well respected neighboorhood, I need that as well. My rich uncle in the Bahamas bought 1000 Bitcoins in 2009 .... well you get the point.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-27 um 16.08.31.png
Jealousy is natural and it is still part of us.

What I find the most difficult aspect of dealing with jealousy is agreeing with my wife on an approach. My wife is of the opinion that it's normal that kids are jealous and that you should leave it, only when it gets out of hand, you should step in. I am of the opinion that jealousy should be addressed, now it's on a small scale, but the kids are still small. What will happen when they're older?

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-27 um 16.24.16.png
The Times today

or even worse:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-27 um 16.25.44.png
ABC's Eyewitness News on Friday 24th November (not caused by Black Friday 😉)

A simple example my daughter gave us last Friday. My parents in law bought my daughter new curtains with the characters of the Disney movie Frozen on them. To compensate this, they bought my son a stuffed animal, a Husky-dog. My son is too young to be jealous, so I guess this was more to make themselves feel good about spoiling my daughter. My daughter loves the curtains, but it's not as tangible as the dog. After a while I noticed her walking around with the dog and I took it from her and tried to explain to her that it wasn't hers. Obviously this didn't go very well, as the damage was done. The presents were unbalanced and she obviously felt that she was in a disadvantage, as much as I tried to explain and calm her down. This was still too much for her to understand.

There are a few lesson I have learnt from this:

  • When you want to give a present to your children, make them equally meaningful
  • When a child is not happy about the present they receive, make them swap for something that both are willing to give away
  • As parents stick together and be consistent
  • If you spoil one child, do it when the other is not around, but also treat the other when the first isn't around

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-27 um 16.08.04.png
A very good example of 2 presents not being equally meaningful, but also 2 kids not being treated equally

Another cause for friction is wanting to play with the toy that the sibling/friend is playing with or the other person receiving attention (despite them just having had 1-on-1 attention). Here I come back to my first post about how I educate my children. Both children/kids deserve equal shares and it's important to try and balance this out all the time ... which is impossible.

When one child does feel disadvantaged and starts taking toys away, whilst the other is playing with it, or worse behaves violently, I go to the punishment stages. It's important to keep communicating with the child, explain them what they do wrong and warn them. I described this process in my first post here.

The best way to treat jealousy is by taking the cause away altogether. So sometimes I take my daughter out on walks or try and spend quality 1-on-1 time with her, away from her little brother. That way she's not distracted by what he does and she gets your full attention. I also praise her when she shares toys or helps him when she is nice to her little brother.

The most important aspect is to reward good behaviour, that way she will try and copy that and hopefully you as a parent have one less problem to deal with. But remember, jealousy can not be eradicated!

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-27 um 15.50.43.png

Doron

Sort:  

This post received a 93.61% upvote from @randofish1 thanks to @wolfje!
For more information, click here!

very well written, and sound advice

treat the symptoms while they are young and hopefully they stick later on in life

Thanks, it's so difficult to get it right, all you can do is hope you're giving them the right tools along the way.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wolfje to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received gratitude of 6.72 % from @appreciator thanks to: @wolfje.

Congratulations @wolfje! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 90.40 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @wolfje.

This post has received a 4.02 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @wolfje. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69