"Eat that frog" and me

in #life5 years ago (edited)
“If the first thing you do each morning is to eat a live frog, you can go through the day with the satisfaction of knowing that that is probably the worst thing that is going to happen to you all day long -- Mark Twain”
Yesterday, my boss asked me to go to his office and talk to him about my work.

“It’s been a while since we talked about your work, I want to know how your work is going.”

When I walked into my boss's office, I didn't have those negative feelings I used to have, but it was an unusually relaxed, and I realized that I was spending a little less time at work.

Recently, I feel a bit restless, there are a pile of things waiting for me to do every day, spent a lot of time to do all kinds of things, but it felt as if nothing had been done.

This sense of powerlessness bothered me, and it wasn't until my boss talked to me that I realized that I was spending too little on my job.

In a nicer word, I spend too much time on writing in the weekdays.

But to put it mildly - I've spent too much time on my phone.


source

Sometimes there is a task to be done in the mind, but as soon as I turn on the phone, I forget what I want to do.

For a moment, I even felt like I was having a memory loss.

Yesterday, I read a book called "Eat That Frog", there are interesting points of view, but at the same time, this is indeed a book full of crap.

Pareto effect


That is, the legendary "80/20 Rule", 20% of the community's people occupy 80% of the social wealth. In terms of personnel management, it is "a key breakthrough in timing-putting 80% of the resources on 20% of the key benefits, which in turn can lead to the development of the remaining 80%."

"That is to say, this 20% of things determine the direction of our lives."

This is something that has been bothering me lately, and my time is completely chaotic. I always spend too much time on restless little things and less time on important things.

To improve the effectiveness of personnel management, I would like to implement the "Pareto improvements" to this system, by optimizing the time and effort invested in important 20% events without delaying other tasks, so that 20% of the important things can be done better and have a more meaningful effect on myself.


source

Arrange important emergencies for things and differentiate them into ABCDE levels


Level A is the task that must be completed and will detriment oneself if not done;

Level B is a need to be completed, but it is not harmful to do so for the time being.

Inspiration: Arranging important emergencies for things is a necessary rule that is mentioned in almost all time management books, and of course, I personally prefer to manage personal matters in a four-quadrant way of time management.

The sort of Alphabet ABCDE always makes me feel that the rest is not very important except for A. People are always greedy and just want to complete A, but in an important emergency four-quadrant way, it is to encourage "important and not urgent things."

Do only three of the most important things every day, those 3 things are "frogs", the rest of the things are "tadpoles";


This is very easy to understand, the dense list will not make you feel relaxed, but you will feel the pressure the whole day. This time, pick out 3 of the most important things, psychological thinking "as long as these three most important things are completed is good enough", unload the burden, easier to start the day.

Then do the "tadpole" task if you have extra time.

Get up every morning and "eat the biggest frog", then the rest of the day will be very relaxed and pleasant-because the most important and difficult task, which is to eat the frog has been done;

This is the main purpose of this book - to eat the biggest and worst frog first.

Sometimes when procrastination is committed, we don’t want to do that one particular thing, and that thing may be the biggest frog. But often, no matter how we delayed, it still needs to be done in the end. At this time, say to yourself: "Eat that Big Frog first." "Maybe it's a good self-pacification strategy, too."

I don’t know whether this method will work for you or not, but sometimes I feel like a grumpy child, always need to coax myself to obey.

Write down any goals and troubles!


When you are in trouble, you tend to think a lot in your head, and sometimes the more you think about it, the more confused it is, the more difficult it is, the harder for you to find a solution.

But the "write it down" action can often help sort out confused ideas in the mind, help to find the key to the problem, see through those neglected dead corners, and find a real solution.

follow

PREVIOUS RELATED POST
Do you still believe in life?
You can only rely on yourself
Living between wanting to do and not wanting to do
When our dream gets smaller, we are getting older
Don't be influenced by others
Self-motivation is not as difficult as you think



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://walkinharmony.vornix.blog/2018/11/21/eat-that-frog-and-me/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88