Why Is There Such Controversy Over What a Healthy Diet Should Be?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

No One Seems to Know What Constitutes a Healthy Diet

It has to be one of the biggest global conspiracies that we find ourselves in an era where we can sequence the human genome, put robots on mars and make our poop disappear with a simple press of a button and yet feel like there's no real scientific consensus on what broadly constitutes a nutritionally healthy diet. Bacon and eggs make for a fine breakfast...except the bacon will give you cancer...but the eggs are a good source of protein...except the yoke will clog your arteries...in a good way though, because your arteries can't function without the vitamins B2, D and Zinc contained in eggs...except everything other than kale gives you an extreme case of dandruff where eventually your entire head disintegrates into flakes and you die.


If you eat this piece of paper you get the combined benefits of all these diets

Sound familiar? It's like all our Newtons and Einsteins went exclusively into maths and physics, while every nutritionists and cardiologists were, at one point, aspiring astrologists but failed their tarot card reading exams. Thus, they had to pursue their lifelong passion of bullshitting others in their new professions instead. Why the hell does this appear to be the case?

The Science Is Contentious

The science behind food may not appear to be as deep or advanced as cramming billions of transistors onto a chip, engineering a self learning computer or building a lightsabre, but in many ways, just like long division, it is more difficult. The problem lies in isolating causes and effects as the data in this area is very convoluted. For instance, the relationship between saturated fat and heart disease is difficult to draw conclusively considering there are so many other factors like smoking, environmental factors, variations in genes among individual, other dietary intake etc. that could contribute to the causal link.


I just want to go to Taco Bell

Where there are so many variables at play, longitudinal scientific studies can often establish a stronger correlation between bowel cancer and consuming yellow M&Ms than red ones. Distinguishing causation from correlation can feel like sorting snails based on gender (they're hermaphrodites) outside of very obvious cases. This is why nutritionists can generally agree that getting wasted on a bottle of Listerine a day is perhaps not great for your long term health, but can't reach a consensus on whether half a glass of red wine is healthy or not, especially if some of them are wasted from chugging a bottle of Listerine themselves.

Food Industry

The multi billion dollar food industry's hunger to exploit our sense of concern about healthy eating is only matched by our own hunger after finishing one of their meals. For example, there is no scientific definition of 'organic' with respect to food, it is entirely a marketing term. Yet these days the 'organic food' industry has grown exponentially into the billions. On top of all this, we have fad diets endorsed by celebrities all fighting for our attention - the Paleo diet boasts the quickest weight loss results, the Atkins diet promises to keep weight off in the long run, while the Fruit Cleansing diet supports up to 4000 transactions per second and is only 5% away from activating segregated witness.


Don't get too excited, it's not Democrats vs Trump's approval ratings

It's not wonder we can't find the facts under all this noise. The voices of the competent and honest experts are being drowned out by the dishonest and competent as well as the honest and incompetent experts and are insufficiently aided by the dishonest but incompetent ones who, through dumb luck, just happen to be right as well. Most of the information that seeps through are merely marketing gimmicks trying to sell us something. While I'd like to think I'm too smart to be susceptible to this type of manipulation, the 3 piece deep fried deluxe chicken meal with a diet coke I had for lunch speaks otherwise.

My Recommendation

Well considering that everything other than a bottle of Listerine a day is a contender for a healthy diet, I'm pretty much above reproach here whatever my recommendation. Our taste pallet and appetite were evolved to suit an environment where there was a scarce supply for caloric intake, rather than an excess of it as there is today. Things that our ancestors desperately needed just to survive like sugar and fat, are now slowly killing us. On that basis, I would hazard a guess that most foods you enjoy are probably bad for you and foods you despise are all superfoods. So if you love ice cream and hate Brussels sprouts then just grit your teeth and embrace a diet that's exclusively comprised of the mini cabbage. Unless of course, you actually enjoy Brussels sprouts, then you should avoid them at all costs for they'll probably give you herpes.


mmmm....just like how mama use to make it

Of course the more disgusting you find the food the better it is for your health. You're likely to develop an extraordinary constitution and physique as well if you gave up burgers and fries and ventured into the wilderness to adopt a strict diet of diarrhoea juice being wrung out of a large clump of elephant turd directly into your mouth, a la Bear Grylls. But what would I know? I'm really just as confused as everyone else, so you might want to take everything I say with a grain of salt, not that anyone actually knows whether that's good for you or not...


Image Sources 1,2,3


If you enjoyed this article please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow me @trafalgar, especially if you think non Steemit/Crypto related posts are good for the growth of this platform

Sort:  

I find it pretty Ironical that half of the world is in dilemma what a healthy diet is and what to eat, while half of the world has nothing to eat.

Great point! I was just leaving a restaurant yesterday and I noticed the outside tables were full of mostly uneaten food that people had just left, like several plates of chips with tacos uneaten near them. I must say it made me sad.

Yes, very well put
although I think we've made some gains in fighting poverty and famine over the last couple of decades, there's still a lot of work left to be done

@trafalgar lol on this

so you might want to take everything I say with a grain of salt, not that anyone actually knows whether that's good for you or not...

well .. I like eating healthy food but I found out that some of the food I'm eating actually falls on certain "diet tags" - all I know is that Im eating healthy cause YOLO and though am eating healthy - I indulge on the poisons of the food industry once in a while cause YOLO haha
as for what's healthy - it all depends on your body
we aint all the same - one man's poison could be a meds to the other yeah I wrote it the other way around whatever~~ like ginseng is said to be superfood but it would send one with a kidney problem to his grave or cucumber - is alkaline but no good for those who have arthritis and though ginger can cure and prevent cancer it would not be good to anyone with a liver problem and suffering from ulcer - I guess... one will have to know and be aware of whats good and bad for them - in my case .. eat all you want hahah YOLO but I don't really do that either cause YOLO and my health is my best asset so I choose to eat healthy more often and if you happen to be creative in the kitchen - what tastes and looks like shit could actually be turned into something chic and yum wink wink

True that.

The truth has competition from the agenda - which makes it all very confusing and controversial.

Diet should be adjusted to match the goals of the individual. Balance and moderation are key. When you strip away all the bullshit, simple physics leaves you with one thing: Calories in vs. calories out.

Want to gain weight? Increase your intake beyond your caloric expenditure.

Wait to lose weight? Eat less than you burn off.

It's that simple. Genetics may play a role requiring you to tweak things a bit, but no one is exempt from the laws of nature.

Most people, with the exception of professional athletes and the like, need not concern themselves with the optimization of their diet through macro-nutrient ratios and meal timing.

Now as far as a balanced daily diet goes, I believe that eating meals made with fresh greens and lean proteins is the way to go, but we are highly adaptable omnivorous creatures with digestive systems that have evolved to handled all sorts of diets.

That Big Mac combo probably won't kill you every once in a blue moon.

Restricting your diet to contain exclusively vegetables probably won't extend your life by several years.

All things in moderation, folks.

Anyways, I'm gonna go smoke some cat turds.

From my experience and the enviroment around me,
I noticed that different diets work better or worse for different people.
A diet that works with one person may not work as good for another.

This is another good point. I remember reading about an all starch diet, but I definitely know people that that wouldn't work for. On the other hand, I know many people who do certain diets that don't eat any starches at all. I couldn't go through the day like that.

ya individual genetic variation also serve to complicate things
almonds not great if you have a nut allergy, for example :)

This is a subject that has been on my mind a lot, though not for the usual reasons, like weight loss.
Actually, it all begins with my going on fourteen year old son.
He hit puberty at twelve, and began to grow, not just physically but mentally. About a year into it he stopped eating meat and began veering away from processed food. He is currently five foot ten, size 15 feet, 190 pounds with just a bit of baby fat left. His brain works so fast, even my husband (who is only five eleven btw) who has a mensa level IQ is sometimes floored by the concepts he grasps and the things he comes up with. Me? Forget it, that kid blows me away. When I asked him what made him decide on the food thing he told me "They are poisoning us, if you want to resonate at a higher frequency, quit eating the shit they push, mom. If you want your body to be at its optimum physical capacity..." here he paused for effect, "quit eating the shit they push." You might cringe at the idea of him swearing and me allowing it, but let me tell you that he is so supremely socially gifted and confident, on top of appearing and behaving like someone much older, my rules for how he should be are straight out the window. Especially since he actually doesn't swear that often, just when he wants to make a point, ha!
Needless to say, I did stop eating meat soon after him, and am slowly pushing out processed foods and stuff filled with additives, and it is making a huge impact already.
Farmer's markets, farm stands, and luckily for us a large Amish community complete with grocery stores nearby, makes it a lot more possible and affordable, so definitely don't take this as me preaching, I'm not that way, I believe in live and let live. The day I preach to someone about or judge someone on how they should live is the day that I'm perfect--which means never ;) It's just my own personal experiences and current beliefs, basically some 'food' for thought. And I realize that it's not always so easy for people to get their hands on natural, untampered with, organic foods. Especially without paying an arm and a leg for it.
(And I'm not there yet anyway, today I broke and had a bowl of Frosted Flakes and I gotta say taste wise? They are grreaattt, LOL!)

Hey good on him! I think there are non health reasons to adopt a vegetarian diet too
I think we raise like 60 billion chickens on the planet just to slaughter and eat them in a couple of months. I'm no tree hugging hippy, but that can't represent the moral epitome of humankind in the grand scheme of things. One day we'll probably look back and see it as one of those stupid irrational things they did in the past like duels and burning people at the stake. Would be nice if we threw war in there too, that's probably the dumbest of the lot and is taking forever to rid of.

Yeah, exactly. I didn't want to go into it too much, especially since that comment was monstrous LOL, but the meat industry is pretty damn barbaric. And I am totally with you-on not considering myself a tree hugging hippie LOL, but also thinking we should have evolved past war by now. Hopefully the age of crypto and blockchain will prove to be a huge step in the direction of ridding this place of the kind of greed that war is based on. And don't get me started on How in the hell are there still so many ignorant people who persist in race predjudice? It's ludicrous. We're all spirit beings wearing these meat suits like costumes, that's all they are, costumes of varying appearances. Nothing makes that more apparent to me than this site--I have more friends on here from other countries then I do the U.S., yet another reason I would love to see steemit catch on and become the premiere social media site, because it is the only one that is truly global.

meep

well said, you should hang out with groot

what rhymes with peep?

hahaha. funny conversation :-)
Resteemed :-)

I think one of the other factors that causes the variation (in addition to bad research, misreporting, confounders etc) is variation between different individuals. Much of this is likely to genetic differences and a person's microbiome compared to others.

ya that's probably true too
genetics would play a pretty big role in making it even more difficult to sort it all out and everyone has slightly different ideal foods

I think so but I also think your own genetics are only part of the issue. In many ways the bacteria in your gut are just as important for how you process and react to food.

Another brilliant post!

I did a post about food too, but completely forgot to talk about the colour of the Listerene...

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/health/food/-

lol thanks for reading sift

I am so amazed at you @trafalgar
The way you write for a post is so great, I want to be like you and can learn from your way.
Good job!!!

you are truly too kind
thank you so much for reading =)

You are also a good person, seen the way you speak.
I like your way @trafalgar
Thank you again!!!

There is no one diet fits all.. trial and error is the best way to find out! And it goes without saying that fresh veggies and fruits should be a big part of it! Great read!

Very good article, please allow for resteem @trafalgar

thank you so much, you're too kind =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39