Traveling with Loka - A hike in Tully

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Tully

image
Not really a place that's on everyone's radar. In fact I'd be willing to bet alot of money that no one who reads this post has ever heard of it. To tell the truth niether had I so I had no idea what to expect. All I knew is that it was a small town.

It was, the main street where everything happened could be walked in about 3 minutes. There wasn't much there at all. You could tell that it hadn't been made into a tourist attraction which was a nice change from what I'd seen on my journy up north. Instead just freindly town folk living a simple yet peaceful life.

There are only two hostels in tully, one of which was a party hostel, the other being a quiet motel where I stayed.

As you walk down the street you can see Mount Tyson which was pretty much the whole point of our stop. It's not an impressive looking mountain, in fact doesn't look like a mountain at all.
image
Nether the less, the next morning we were going to climb to the top.

Up until this point I had never done any hiking which was why I wanted to have a go so we got up at 8, had breakfast and were heading to the bottom by 10am.

I thought it would be easy, but after walking up hill for 10 minutes and only just reaching the bottom I started to have second thoughts.

Tully has a very wet climate as it's surrounded by rainforest. Mt Tyson is a rainforset on a mountain. It's dense, wet, slippery and the amount of mosquitoes is something I'll never forget. They swarmed us, each of us had at least 10 mosquitoes on or around us at any time, I was glad I had my hoody.

Half way sneak peak
image

The climb wasn't just a path, we had to free climb parts which were not to difficult but you definitely wouldn't want to get some of them wrong. It was hot and humid and well...
image
We climbed fast! We were told there would be no mosquitoes at the top so we all agreed to up the pace. Instead of taking us 2 hours, it only took 1 hour and 20 minutes.

The view at the top was worth it though.
image

image

image

On the way down I slipped and stepped on a wooden stump and felt imense pain. But when I stopped the mosquitoes had a free meal so I pushed through. I don't have a photo but the bruise took up about half the surface area of the inside of my foot. Ouch!

It was worth it though, a challenge complete and I felt like I achieved something.


This experience further boosted my convidence and lead me to do something I said I would NEVER do...

Location can be found on @steemitmap

Sort:  

Wow that view is truly breathtaking. Even from the halfway point sneak peek it was pretty nice. I love little out of the way towns like that. Especially nice if you can find items by local artist and craftsmen. Thanks so much for sharing your trip, especially the great photos.
I found you because @zorank featured you in his pay it forward curation contest entry this week

Thanks for stopping by. I really didn't expect any attention from this. Maybe it was the main picture that grabbed the attention or my previous posts...I don't know. No idea what that contest is about but noe I'm involved hope I do well 😅.

Here is a link. The @pifc is a curation of quality content. It is a fun way to discover blogs and meet new people.

Pay It Forward Curation Contest

https://steemit.com/contest/@pifc/week-18-curation-contest-win-sbi-shares-steem-monsters-cards-and-steem-bounty-b95712dbd0a8aest

Hello There @tomaton! what a nice hiking story.. yup, I agree with you the view from the top is worth for the swarmed mosquitoes..LOL, but I hope that your foot is all right and won't prevent you from more hiking in the future and don't forget the mosquito repellent next time. Thanks to @zorank who has featured you in his entry post for the pay it forward curation contest this week. in case you want to see it.. here is the link Pay It Forward Curation Contest Entry - Week 18

thanks for sharing this with us.. and Good Luck!

Thanks for actually reading my post 😊. I forgot to mention in it that I did in fact have repellent on. So some of the others. But that didn't stop them. They were out in force and were blood thirsty, litarally.

I'll check it out, thanks again 🙂

Hahaha.. don't you know? Human sweat make them out of control😆 but natural mosquitoes repellent will do, if you can find it around... for example dust of the campfire and your saliva can reduce the itchy ..(yeaahh.. it's not hygienic but still it will help a bit) ahh you mentioned that the villager not really nice at all.. it's no way to ask them the secret of natural repellent from them.

What a nice adventure! I love exploring new areas! 😀

PS: I've encountered your post after reading @zorank's entry in the Pay It Forward Contest

Ah cool thanks! Honestly wasn't expecting this post even reach 1 $ so I've no idea why this has done so well. I'm not complaining mind you.

Wow, that's some hike, but you're right, the view is awesome! You were looking a little intense there :)

I found your post because @zorank featured you in our pay it forward contest; you are more than welcome to submit an entry next week too :)

Yeh I was sweating buckets! No way was I exposing my skin to the Mosies though! Thanks gor taking the time to read.

Looks like I owe a thank you to @zorank for featuring my post too.

haha @tomatom, I don't blame you at all!

Yep, maybe a little one 😎

Thank you for checking it out. I didn't even know these contests existed. 😅

Very cool adventure, the best places are usually protected by some sort of guardians, insects or otherwise.

I found this cool adventure on the @c-squared blog, and half way through your article I had to go to google to figure out where in the world you are. Neither Tully or Mt. Tyson was enough for me to know, although it was enough for Google to tell me that you are in Australia!

Yeh Tully is just south of Cairns, so on the East coast up north in Queensland. Thanks for checking out my post 🙂

Those are also places in Australia! I am pretty weak on Australian geography, though @jackmiller has informed me that that place has filled up quite a bit with people lately! One day I will visit and see some exciting and authentic australians for myself, and perhaps your blog will be my guide!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

@tomatom
I love traveling.
Nice view.
Keep enjoying

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

Thank you for checking it out. 😊

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-08-03-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00