OCTOBER ART JOURNAL REVEAL (A Depression Therapy)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

OCTOBER ART JOURNAL REVEAL | How I spent the first weeks of October and endured Depression

OCTOBERART JOURNALREVEAL.jpg

Last month, I knew that it was clear that Depression was attacking again. In times like this, I would always turn to art to convert those emotions to sketches and paintings and drawings. This time, I created page-to-page art spreads, divided into two journals, and completely filled up.


THE FORMER MARCH ART JOURNAL 2016

The last time I filled up two art journals was last March 2016. It was completely filled up, page-to-page with negative arts and doodles and I only consistently used the colors black and white. Because I felt limited with my supplies, the second art journal was left incomplete.

Now these two journals reminded me so much of procrastination and many bad memories. I ended up giving these two to a missionary friend who left last November 7 as a gift.

These are some of the pages of those journals:
art journaling.jpg


THE HEARTBREAK THE MARCH JOURNALS LEFT ME

Back to the month of October, realising I haven't been creating some art journals for such a long stretch of time, I figured I would finally start again. And I did.

Starting with one text block (created out of recycled printed papers), I easily filled the first one within three days. Realising I wasn't finished yet, I filled up another text block within four days.

By the end of the month, I have these two guys sitting in the dresser:
Untitled-2.jpg

And they're both so fat, I squeezed them! (so adorable!):
Untitled-3.jpg


THE BIG REVEAL! (Not really)

Now, I've prepared some art spreads from the October Art Journal. Hopefully, I'd be able to do this again by the first week of December for the November Art Journals.

Page 46:
23715097_10210442556604885_1555579019_o.jpg
Tery, what the heck have you been writing there?!
Just kidding, It's my secret writing system
This personal cipher was created when I was in sixth grade during one of my boring History classes. Even though it didn't look as pleasant as it is right now, I enjoyed using it. During the 9th grade, it went through a lot of revisions and just last summer, I finalized the whole thing. (I think it looks neat)

Page 47:
23732369_10210442552244776_575799033_o.jpg
Here's some Leonardo Da Vinci Drawing notes
This was the point where I realised I friggin' LURVE figure drawing. Since then, I couldn't stop doing it in random composition notebooks, pad papers, tissue papers, lecture notes, you name it.

Page 83
23730558_10210442554644836_1040083625_o.jpg
I had some Le Petit Prince hangover the time I was drawing the rose. Somehow, it reminds me of vulnerability of every individual sharing the same oxygen in this planet. The words written in the background are some lyrics of the worship song called Gracious Tempest by Hillsong Young and Free.

Page 85
23757649_10210442556564884_392910589_o.jpg
I'm an Eiffel Tower freak. I used to draw it everywhere!

23730984_10210442551884767_1627878935_o.jpg
Here's my Bug Safe
I thought they look adorable. I was going for some kinda 'icky' Bug Safe look but it turned out to be Galaxy Bugs. I'm not disappointed tho


The sketch on the left side was an urban sketch I made last March (I think). It was one of the urban sketches I've saved from my March Art Journals before I gave it as a present to a missionary friend last November 7.
Ugh, don't remind me. I feel terrible giving it up


See the Game Of Thrones reference there?
Some picture from a very very old poetry assisting book I found in our school's library.


Just some Greek Architecture notes


And I also kept a letter from a missionary friend years and years ago
This missionary taught me how to play the piano, I can still remember.

23698450_10210442554124823_1516680382_o.jpg
See that cringy line scribbled in the pink page? Yup, that's a line from our band's original song created two years back.
We were such youngsters before!

23698521_10210442553844816_282227013_o.jpg
This one is a picture of our temple in Manila. It looks fabulous.
The notes behind it contained my records of feelings and emotions I had during the entire Temple Trip

23698513_10210442555564859_1199322404_o.jpg
Here is a life lesson I've learned within 17 years being an old soul


I HAD TO STOP SOMEWHERE

You! Yes, you, thanks so much for stopping by and clicking on this post. See you next month, the first week of December. Hopefully, I'll be able to share some art spreads with you again.


CATCH MY LATEST POSTS HERE

KILLER ART JOURNAL IDEAS TO TRY #1 (What I've collected for the past two years in art journaling)
UNIPIN STORIES (The UniPin Addiction and awkward confessions)
DESATURATING MY LIFE (IntroduceYourself and My Lifetime Oath)


WHO AM I?

For more awkward jokes and art and journaling stuffs and stories, follow me here
And check out my poems here

Cheers!


UPVOTECOMMENTRESTEEM.png

Sort:  

They say when we are hurting that is when we are at our most creative.

I have in my drawer notebooks, pads, journals and even tissues of half written ideas of short stories, novel briefs and characters.

October was not a good month for me. That was when I started writing here in Steemit. Through it I was able to pour out some of the grief and depression I feel.

I am still not 100% ok but it's a start.

You are never alone and you have joined a great community here. Welcome to you and share your creativity.

@originalworks
@tippy vote
@steem-untalented

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tlthornes to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you for the welcome! I am happy to have found people with similar interest. Hope you had a great day!

Kumusta @tlthornes
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!

You have been spotted by a human @maverickinvictus to possess rare gem!
To remove barriers: 'Everyone must have something to offer'!
#untalented abolishes the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!
So if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, aren't we both genius? Oh, we both are!

'We are genius!' 'We are human!'

Join the steemgigs community on discord https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.
However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type 'steemgigs' in the first search box.

See this URL for more info
https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Thank you for your vulnerability, you are heard, seen and felt. Art is freedom, keep creating. Bless

Thank you! Hope you had a great day. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36