Dr. TLK _ Perspectives _ LOA #3

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The LAW of ATTRACTION (LOA), what is it and how does it work?

From the perspective of Dr. TLK

I wrote in a previous post about LOA and how it can lead us to feel as if we are working with magic, which may sound unreliable to some. I also discussed the first principle of LOA and what it resembles in layman terms.

Today I would like to share another principle of LOA

The Second Principle of LOA

...

Source

If you know what you want, it is very important to be as clear and as specific about it. Don't just say "I want money!", "I want someone to love me!", "I want help!", ...etc
I will give you some examples why these are not specific enough and tricky.

"I want money!":

1 dollar (or less) is as money as 1 million dollar. The difference is in the amount but you will still need to do your share of work for both. (You may end up finding the 1$ lying on the ground, but you will have to walk around that location to find it)

""I want help!":

When I started my post-doctoral training in mid 2014, I joined a lab where the supervisor (I found out few months later) didn't like strong women. He hired women to be mainly beautiful faces of the lab and do/say what he wants them to do/say (to the point he will record himself speaking and ask them to memorize it).

Unfortunately, or fortunately, I was not that type of woman. I like to be neatly and cleanly dressed but I mostly care about how comfortable and efficient I work. I never cared to use make up, neither to dress fancy, so I was considered "Not a real (girly) girl!". I was also branded a "trouble maker" in the lab, because I like asking question and discussing results or orders. Ooops!

Anyhow, I ended up ranking top on the dark list of my supervisor after few months from the time I joined and I was very unhappy there. I didn't feel that I belonged to that place, neither I was having freedom to work and do any adequate research

It was the easter weekend, just few days before my birthday. My American friend wanted to visit the Notre-Dame Basilica Church in Montreal Old Port and asked if I would join her. I never was interested in churches as a religious entity, but I loved their architecture. At that time, I have already discarded any beliefs I had in "God" and any religious teaching I grew up with. Actually, I was doing everything possible that I wasn't supposed to do according to my religion.

SUNDAY, we went to the church and the minute we entered my friend went immediately to a secluded area to sit down, held her palms together and started praying. I didn't go after her to let her have her space.

I scanned the space, found a place shaded with a ceiling and went to sit there and admire the beautiful art...


Source

The moment I sat down and started looking at the sculptures and the ceiling, a stream of hot tears gushed down my face and I bit on my lips to stifle my cries. I cried silently holding my breath as I was trying not to make noise and gasped for air between tears. I took tissues out of my bag to dry my face, unsuccessful in my attempt I covered my face with the tissue in my hand and wept silently. All I could think of was "Please help me! If you are there. If you exist. Please help me! I am not happy. I am losing myself. I don't know what to do or where to go. Please help me!"

MONDAY, I went to see my supervisor to tell him about the collaboration I was able to secure with the principle investigator (PI) of another group. As I was telling my supervisor, excited an all, he cut me off and said:

"Why don't have that PI as your supervisor then?" Then continued "You have another month to give me your results, write a paper and look for another place if you want. I never committed to you more than a year to begin with." Despite the fact that when he hired me we agreed on a 2 year contract.

I felt devastated by his words. I know I wasn't happy there but to hear him kicking me out like this was unexpected, especially that on this day I came to him to tell him about a collaboration I secured with another group.

"Why do I have to deserve this? I asked you "God" for help and this is how you help me? Are you making fun of me? How cruel can you be?"

I was furious. I felt like a failure and like an imbecile! I was angry at myself for not abiding the rules and play by the politics and more angry to think that there is a "God" out there who would (or even care to) help me if I asked him sincerely. I felt lost and hopeless. "What am I going to do now? This will be very bad on my CV and my future career?". My supervisor was a well known name with lots of connections and collaborations. If he gave a bad word about me or someone knew that I was kicked from his lab, they will not take me in and risk his disapproval. He was that influential. I felt that I lost my whole future with those few words and I have no one in the whole world to turn to to help me...

Long story short:

The PI I secured collaboration with, became my supervisor :D
He turned to be THE MOST AMAZING SUPERVISOR/PERSON any fellow could have. He was very supportive and understanding, more like a friend and a mentor than a superior. Nonetheless, I continued to be unhappy in the research environment itself and now I finally decided to leave it for good.

Although, now I think, with the knowledge of hindsight, that I was super lucky that things ended this way, the happy results didn't keep me from wondering why things happened in such roundabout way! There are diffidently many other ways this could have ended, but none of them took place.

This incident happened before I knew about LOA. But after I read about LOA, everything made more sense to me. The fact I asked in anguish "Help me, I am not happy, I don't know what to do!" was not going to make my supervisor suddenly like me more or magically be happy with my efforts. Had I been more positive and asked instead"Help me leave this lab on good terms and find another lab where my supervisor and colleagues will accept me better" or "Help me deal with this issue in a positive way without burning bridges", I would have possibly had different results.

The other thing that we should take in consideration is the state of mind we are in at the time we ask for something. When I am in a negative state of mind, it will be hard for me to expect positive results or react positively to any outcome. Hence, I am basically priming myself to look at the dark side of the issue no matter what. The same applies to the positive and confident state of mind

The bottom line is: Whatever you asked for, it will be answered. However, if you are ambiguous and negative when you ask, you will may get answers that (on the surface) look ambiguous and negative, even if their final outcomes is positive. So you need to be careful to see the wisdom and reason behind what happened to you. It is your responsibility to make things positive or negative, so don't blame LOA or anyone else for that.


I received this comment from one of the readers of my first LOA episode and would love to share it here with you
doityourway-LOA.jpg


.... Till next episode

Dr. The Leaping Koala :D

Thank you very much for following, commenting and upvoting.

LEAPING_KOALA_cover_1.png
Logo made by @orcheva

Sort:  

The owner of a used car lot once said, "When I fire a salesman, I'm actually doing them a favour."

The reason is that for him to fire someone means that that person is not selling enough cars. To be a good salesman, one needs certain qualities and that person who gets fired lacks those qualities. By being fired, they are forced to try something else rather than stay where they don't fit. Eventually, the fired person should find a job that suits them.

In the same vein, your being let go freed you from that particular supervisor and gave you the freedom to find a spot where you fit in better.

Although it worked out for you, the supervisor remains in the position where he can manipulate others beneath him and that is not good for the next person that fills your vacated spot. It would be great if this person could be exposed for the rat that he seems to be. No matter his credentials or how smart he may be. If he is full of himself then he is not a good person and deserves little respect. It is he who should have his career ruined.

I get very upset by people who would ruin someone's career because they wouldn't kiss his feet. It is those who display humbleness that are the people who deserve the most respect for they are the ones who respect others.

Dear @happyme,

Many thanks for the comment and for your kind support.

It is unfortunate that many people like him exist in the research field. They love the power and fame that comes with it. What is even more unfortunate is that people working with him or know about him, don't tell the truth or even hint about it when asked. Is it fear? Is it vengeance? I have no idea.

Only after I joined his lab I started hearing people talks about the many students who lost their time/careers when they were part of his group. If the student was in an early stage (i.e masters) they could still rescue their future careers since they still have time after. But for post-docs time is limited and every day passes without productivity is a day where their careers gets closer to the grave

Your words:

It is those who display humbleness that are the people who deserve the most respect for they are the ones who respect others.

Are indeed true words. I love the wisdom in them

I personally think knowledge only humbles those who are wise to understand how great the privilege it is to know that the more they learn, the more they find they actually don't know much!!

Thank you very much for the visit and for engaging with my posts :D

I personally think knowledge only humbles those who are wise to understand how great the privilege it is to know that the more they learn, the more they find they actually don't know much!!

Absolutely! So in other words, your previous professor actually doesn't even know how little he knows! That is why he is puffed up and doesn't deserve the recognition he chases. He is a phony and an evil person.

Guess @morwhale, @resteem.bot and @abasinkanga will also distribute a little to curation of this nice post ;)

This post received a 59% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @honolulu! For more information, click here! . this is @originalworks . steem @steemprice BTC

$4346.26 USD/BTC
Volume: 32226.34 BTC ($140064199.05 USD)
Last Updated Sat Oct 7 09:18:32 2017

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Leaping Koala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Thanks @honolulu Don't forget to Resteem and Upvote as well.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a $6.38 @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @theleapingkoala
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theleapingkoala to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79