A Year of Fruit: A photo journal of how I healed from depression, PCOS, hypothyroidism, IBS, chronic pain and much more!!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3056.JPG

Aloha Steemit Family!!!

A year ago today...on my 39th birthday I made the commitment to start loving myself more.

Today marks my one year anniversary of eating 100% raw, high fruit, and low fat...and combining that with intermittent dry fasting. This has been quite a transformative journey as I knew it would be.

I ditched all my supplements, protein/green powders, and herbal formulas...and WENT ALL IN!!!

This is my photo journal of some snapshots I took of myself and my fruit. My goal...to integrate detoxification, nature immersion, and radical self-love to heal my body, mind, and soul.

I invite you to enjoy the breath-taking sights of Southern Utah that have nourished me FAR more than any food or supplements.

IMG_3276.PNG
I started off my journey with a week long fruit juice fast. On this day I enjoyed fresh young Thai coconut water near a local Spring-Fed Reservoir.

IMG_3055.JPG
This mesh bag made sticking to my juice fast really easy. Melons are super simple to juice on the go. This was me at a local park on my lunch break.

IMG_3058.JPG
Enjoying my melons water side (another local spring-fed reservoir) with our son River, and a pretty good book about the "Ice Man" Wim Hoff. Learning how to use cold water immersion to optimize immune health and adaptation.

IMG_3283.PNG

One of my favorite treats is papaya boats with cilantro or parsley and lemon/lime drizzled on top. Another day at work.

IMG_3059.JPG
Enjoying the view of rain clouds over St. George, cliffside. These mutants are called Moon Drop grapes!! So much flavor!!!

IMG_3268.PNG
Peach season in the urban food forest was soooooo appreciated this year!!! I could just sit in the tree and gobble a dozen or so...happily!!!

IMG_3063.JPG
Oranges might be the easiest fruit to carry in your backpack on a long hike...and truly...they're like a handful of sunshine...pure energy!!!

IMG_3061.JPG
I very well might be the first person to eat an entire melon on a kayak. Another shot of one of the local reservoirs where the water is insanely tranquil on most days.

IMG_3060.JPG
Pomegranate season was also a gift!!! Home grown is the best!!! Our son River loves these juicy sweet rubies!!

IMG_3284.PNG

One of our favorite local hikes is water canyon. In the heart of the local polygamist community. We collect our spring water here.

IMG_3069.JPG
Eating this way...fruit by the water...always makes me feel like I'm on a tropical island. My own private one. So healing!!!
IMG_3066.JPG
Having some fun looking out at St. George...the busy suburbanites going about their day. Gosh we are so blessed to be able to get away from the frenetic energy.

IMG_3068.JPG
This was me, mid-winter, still enjoying my melons and my sunshine. Feeling so high on life and so grateful to be out of pain.
IMG_3052.JPG
Mmmmmm we're hitting grapefruit season now and I'm just excited to be able to eat more local and homegrown produce now.

Well...that concludes my photo journal!!! Whoever made it this far deserves a fruity fist bump!!!! 👊🏽👊🏽👊🏽👊🏽👊🏽👊🏽

Thank you for joining me on this journey. I'll be sharing more photos of my fruit and outdoor adventures here!!!

I'd love to hear from you and I invite you to share what you have done to heal. Or what your health goals are this year!!!

Loving all of you!!!

Pachee

P.S. here's a blog post I made last week on the benefits of eating outside.

https://steemit.com/fruitarian/@thegiftofself/five-months-of-eating-outside-only-fruit-2018-04-04-17-33-37

And if you wanna check out what we're growing in the food forest...click here...

https://steemit.com/gardening/@rawutah/100-fruit-trees-cascading-from-blossoms-into-green-food-forest-tour-vlog-4

Sort:  

Hey! I love this post and your blog in general...so I featured you in Helpie's curation report, where you will be paid for your content from the post payout.

Here is the link

https://steemit.com/helpie/@helpie/helpie-s-homesteading-curation-report-6-by-helpie-curator-llfarms

Happy birthday I hope you and your little family have an awesome day! Great post! Have been readying for a fully home-grown and raised diet! No more store bought food. I know it will be tough, but I think we can do it! We did it for a short period last year, and what a difference, this year I have a garden planed through Jan, so we should be able to can enough during the summer and have greens with our meat during the winter... as long as the weather does not do a presto changeo on us again...

Sooo kewl brother!!! Now that's my kinda life goal right there!!! The past three summers I've been able to sustain myself 100 % on homegrown fruit and veg for about two straight months. Hoping to expand that every year!!! We're so excited to share ideas with y'all!!! Loving your blog!!! Thank you for the support!!!

Beautiful! I’ve already been connected to you on here and was drawn to this post this morning from @llfarm’s curation report! I’ve had PCOS since 14 and have undertaken a healing journey committing to myself and healing my womb this year.

I did make it through your fruit journey- such yummy and connected vibrancy!! And will look forward to hearing more about your healing journey, especially regarding PCOS :)

I'm so greatful for @llfarm for featuring me in their post. Such a gift!!! I'm sending your precious womb so much CareBear love right now!!! We can heal this...we got this!!! ❤️🌈

Thank you for your support and for all that you do!!!

🌿😘❤️❤️🐝💯💯🌹🍃

Such beautifully colorful photos in this post! It's awesome you were able to feel so much better though changing your diet.

I feel drawn to visit Southern Utah now. Are you willing to share the names of the spring water reservoirs?

I really appreciate your feedback and support brother. You won't be sorry if you do decide to explore Southern Utah. Magical!!! Here's a link to a list of reservoirs here. There are several...all are worth a visit! Aloha!!! https://stgeorgeresortrentals.com/lakes-and-reservoirs/

Thank you!

hey brother....check out this hike...and scoop some spring water! http://www.findaspring.com/locations/north-america/usa/sawmill-springs-water-canyon-hildale-utah/

Awesome, thanks for the links @rawutah!

you're so welcome @cahlen!

here's a good trail map. the whole 11 mile loop is ammmmmmmazing! http://www.zionnational-park.com/water-canyon-arch.htm

Hello! Actually, I was doing some research on PCOS and IBS and... God... you're quite the fighter! That confirms to me once again that reconnecting with nature can truly do amazing things! We don't know what we're missing... well, at least when we are in the city.

「sirheich」

This is an amazing post! Thank you very much! Thumbs up!

「sirheich」

I found this thanks to @llfarms's curation post! You're sure surrounded by breathtaking scenery...I find it so majestic. My favorite fruit photo was the grapefruit because the rich color just pops out at you!

Aloha!!! Thank you for your deliberate feedback!!! I love that photo too!!! Makes my mouth water and my heart leap every time I see it!!!🤤 ❤️

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

so much beauty in this post! thank you!!!!!! the land...the water....the little one...the fruit...and YOU! shining! they call this area...color country. i can see why!

Awwww!!! I can't wait for another year of fruity adventures!!! Thank you for teaching me to grow fruit!!!

cheers to that spt! the year.....of melons and comfrey!!!!!!!! thank YOU!

happy birthday!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60608.55
ETH 2411.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59