"Conspiracy Theorists", a Derogatory Term?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Alt Text

Conspiracy theories, whether you love them, hate them or ignore them... One thing is sure, some of them tend to be extremely intriguing.

On the surface, there seems to be to two main types of conspiracy theories.

Those that sound like they were scripted for people who are easily impressionable due their tendency of over-simplification and their penchant towards the boogeyman story archetype.

And those that came about as a consequence of connecting two (or more) tangible elements together, regardless of accuracy.

One question comes to mind:

Can certain conspiracy theories be proven right?

Well, not only they can, but they have been proven accurate on countless occasions.

Just Google Conspiracy Theories That Turned Out to Be true and see what happens.

And by the way, you might wanna grab some popcorn, some nice drink, lean back in the sofa and enjoy the show.

There might be some mind-blowing stuff waiting for you in there.

Alt Text

My personal favorite is the one where they drug people with LSD and drop them in brothels surrounded by hookers, just to see how they react.

You can’t make that up!

Now I know, there is no shortage of conspiracy theories that could make Stephen King stay up at night, crying at the skies and wondering who the hell could have so much imagination.

We've all heard those, I'm sure.

And on the opposite side of the spectrum, we find a different kind of theories that actually sound quite rational and logical. But here’s the crazy thing, they are also frown upon nonetheless.

One can speculate but the reason they are frown upon is because they may taint the image of politicians, or some sort of ruling class.

“The limits of debate in this country are established before the debate even begins, and everyone else is marginalized and made to seem like some sort of disloyal person, or a “cook”.

There’s a word! See, they made that. Something that should not be even entertained for a minute that powerful people might get together and have a plan.” ― George Carlin.

Alt Text

The interesting thing with conspiracy theories is that very few people that can connect two things together, the problem is that crazy people have that ability too.

So one day you hear a theory that the Lyndon Johnson’s administration may or may not have torpedoed the USS Maddox to sway the public’s support and bomb Vietnam into oblivion.

That’s one type of theories.

And then another day, you’d hear that Rihanna is a shape-shifting reptilian illuminati priestess that doubles down as the 66th bride of the antichrist who is hiding in plain sight while dancing Work, Work, Work, Work

Under her umbrella.

Alt Text

The thing is, one type of these two theories actually get declassified from time to time.

So the question inevitably becomes, why do we apply the same label to two things that have nothing to do with each other?

And since we’re at it, do we have to apply labels to ideas and thoughts to begin with?

Are we putting everyone in the same basket by doing so?

Feel free to share your thoughts below.

Image Sources: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4

Sort:  

STOP using Google .. Lol ..

Haha! James, not for me... Just saying for anyone else who is not familiar with these things, even a simple Google search will show them that so many "conspiracy theories" were shown to be true actually.

Must we always wait until it's late? I'll do my best to raise some effective awareness.

But you're right, I might be using the wrong tools :(

You can use it. Just don't let it be your ultimate answer. Do you know of a good alternative that is effective at this time? (not argumentative... truly interested if you know of one)

They work in subtle ways.

Like by using hidden sense in words, logo or sentence.

These are called subliminal stimuli. They work as "subconscious order" and they are more efficient with repetition and subtle reinforcement words group. Wikipedia article is not very complete about sentence subliminal stimuli.
To understand better it takes to search deeper...

I found two article on how they works, the first, the second (more detailed).

Everyone conscientiously or unconsciously use these.
Unfortunately, their is some people using these consciously with bad intention or reward in exchange.

The only way to be protected from theses messages is by knowing their exist and how they works.

Google is still great for inquisitive minds that know how to use a search engine properly. Just not for the millenials who think Wikipedia must be right on every topic because so many people agree on its content.

That was my thought as well. I use whatever I can find as a tool, not as a bible. :) Yet I thought perhaps there was some new search engine that was doing a great job I hadn't heard of before.

I know and I would like to know too. ^

The label is completely valid. The problem is the kneejerk response society has been conditioned to have to the combination of those two words. It's actually gotten worse as simply the word conspiracy by itself is enough to get such a reaction these days.

Yet those words have very valid meanings. Kneejerk reactions are STUPID and are a sign of you being controlled. You should be able to look at anything without saying "heretic" before you've even thought about it.

For let's face it the term Conpiracy Theory/Theorist these days is used EXACTLY the same way as the phrases...

"Heretic!"
"Blasphemer!"
"Heresy!"
"Blasphemy!"
"Non-Believer!"

All of these also fall under a logical fallacy called the Appeal to Authority. This is the false idea that someone is an authority and because they told you something that makes it true. To challenge that is considered a CRAZY thing.

Yet, who gave these other human beings authority over you? Who gave them the right to do your thinking for you?

Are they omniscient super beings that can see more than you can?

NO they are not.

Yet, that is how most people treat THEM. This them is generally known as the State (aka The Government) and they are the new religion. Worship them, the politicians are the priests and what they say must be true. Otherwise you are a blasphemer!!!!

Wait they don't use that word. This religions replacement for "heretic" is "conspiracy theorist".

The problem is that there are too many conspiracy theorists that give conspiracy theories a bad name. Too many formulate or are willing to believe a conspiracy theory based on the flimsiest of evidence. Like Mulder, I want to believe but I'm a sceptic. I don't need proof but I do need evidence that shows a particular conspiracy theory is not the least plausible explanation.

Sure. Skepticism is good if it is based upon reason. It can be bad if it becomes a thing based more upon stubbornness than reason. I too am a Skeptic. Yet I don't close the door on possibility because it comes from a certain person. I more treat it like a sound in the woods. Do I have time to go investigate and learn more about the sound, or am I too busy at the time and simply shrug and go on with my life?

I guess it really depends upon two things. How interesting is that odd sound I just heard, and is it interesting enough for me want to divert from the plans I was pursuing?

I don't take anyone's word as being the absolute truth. I do consider certain people when they are talking about areas they have focused on as having a high probability of being correct.

Yet even high probabilities have that slim case where they don't happen. Thus, why people still buy lottery tickets. ;)

There are indeed some very whacky conspiracy theories... and sometimes that is a familiar sound and is annoying. I will likely ignore it and move on. However, there might be some other sound mixed in with them that is not something I have heard before. Is that something interesting enough for me to dig further on my own?

It is a good thing to be a skeptic. It is not a good thing if it becomes the I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE WRONG type of skeptic. The "I believe that is highly unlikely, show me evidence" type of skeptic on the other hand is a good and wise thing. It does not close the door on possibility.

Absolutes (aka closing that door) are usually wrong. There are usually exceptions to absolutes.

To me it's not about closing doors on possibilities. Anything is possible. But if you are going to make a claim then it is up to you to prove it or at least provide some convincing evidence of its possibility. Otherwise there is no reason to believe your particular theory over one I randomly make up.

It's not "I'm right and your wrong". It's "you've made a claim now its up to you to provide some convincing evidence".

There are an infinite number of possible explanations and links between events. The theory of Occam's Razor would tell you that the simplest explanation is usually the correct one. If you are going to suggest another then you have to show me why it is more likely to be true. Too often conspiracy theories consist of nothing but a theory and absolutely no evidence or evidence that is circumstantial at best and even then only if you twist interpretation of the evidence in the most unlikely ways.

As far as considering people who have focused on an area and believing them, it depends on their history of accuracy.

The theory of Occam's Razor would tell you that the simplest explanation is usually the correct one.

I encounter this a lot. Yet it has an important keyword there USUALLY. That is not the same as always. ;)

If you are going to suggest another then you have to show me why it is more likely to be true.

I agree with this. Yet we must be open to what is presented rather than immediately defensive. Like I said Skepticism is good. Stubborness is not. ;)

It still requires evidence, yet there are those that can get fixated on their view and claim to be open... yet they will do whatever they can to ignore information that challenges a current belief. Is that really skepticism?

I am not claiming this is you by the way.

As far as considering people who have focused on an area and believing them, it depends on their history of accuracy.

Yet that is still just a probability. It is a high probability like I said (assuming they've got a history of being accurate) yet that also does not mean they may not be wrong.

In addition, it is not always 100% right, and 100% wrong. People can also be partially right about some details and wrong about others.

I don't bother with believing. I observe the facts. Can you present me with data. Then I make a projection based on that data. But even then I don't say something will for certain happen based on that data until it in fact does happen because the world is a big place and new data can always present itself and new things can happen. In my experience one of the many problems with the whole conspiracy theory thing is lack of citations. People read something in one spot, make some connections in their head, write an article in another spot and then don't cite where they got their knowledge in the first place. Sometimes this can't be avoided given the nature of information leaking but still it seems to be a common problem.

Funny you should say that, I almost made comparisons with blasphemy and heretics (well the heretic's fork) but I decided to use that part on a comedic take.

I can't agree more, similar principal apply.. Aside from torture. No one likes to be associated with such term, so the ruling class benefits by people policing themselves.

However, I can't blame people who use the term but rather people who push those ideologies.

Thank you for the great comment and taking the time to share!

Undeniably true, but the reverse is also increasingly the case - "MainStreamer!" .. "zombie!" "sheep!" .. and so on .. so f'n ridiculous. Everyone is so desperate to be in a club of one kind or another, they throw away their own fundamental capability to discern what is true, and what is bullshit - I mean, there are a great many people who have spent some time in a post-secondary setting, and know how to do some basic research .. as long as they understand and respect the meaning of objective truth, then there is some hope.

Your quote; "Are they omniscient super beings that can see more than you can?" .. has a double-edge.

But hey, I am a utilitarian in that if the quality of life of the STEEMIAN majority, will greatly improve if STEEMIT is allowed to become the home of such material, then we who think otherwise must accept our fate. :)) .. or .. if sufficiently embarrassed, we can always split and build anew.

Oh and those supposed "Conspiracy Theories that Turned Out to Be True" .. many of those were revealed by journalists and academics employing Freedom of Information / Access to Information statutes, or waiting for classified material to be released - or were suspected but unproven, based on evidence (whistleblowing, witness testimony), until eventually proven ... it helps of course to be seeking truth about something that is 'provable'.

I know you've read a number of my articles. So you by now have a sense of who I am. My big battle is really only one thing. When thinking of the problems of the world I really only can think of one thing that could at some point (perhaps generations away) save the day... That simply is if the majority of the population has the opportunity to learn critical thinking. So I post about things and I try really hard to get people to think about things in a different way. I don't try to get them to agree with me, that would defeat the purpose of my efforts. I simply try to get them not to feel that they need to conform, to be willing to ask questions without feeling it is wrong to ask those questions. They must be okay with disagreeing even if they are alone in their disagreement.

I kind of put it this way... I am walking a path. We each are walking a path. Which path is the better path is hard to say because it is being created somewhere in that place called the future. Though if I were to try to force you onto my path, not only do I think doing that completely is impossible, but I might also be doing you a great disservice. That path you were on may have been perfect for you, and in the future your path might continue while mine may have reached a sudden end.

So instead we look around and see each other walking our paths. If you've decorated your path with something I think is cool I might add similar decorations or decorations that were inspired by what you did, but my path will still be my own and will still be different.

That's me. At this time, and place. Who knows how I'll change as I walk the path. Yet I am certain you will provide me input that will influence my path.

My goal in this and other posts/comments is that hopefully people will start being okay with being wrong, because that truly does open up a world of opportunity. Then perhaps they will learn about fallacies and get better and better at noticing when they themselves are using them, and also see through it when other people use it. I am constantly trying to get better at this myself. Some fallacies are second nature for me to identify, others I am still very rusty at. I notice each one I get good at makes it easier to see past people attempting to manipulate an outcome. I am not afraid to be wrong. I welcome it. That is when I generally have a big leap in learning.

And closing a mind and mumbling "conspiracy theorist" or "put on your tinfoil hat" simply closes the doors to possibilities.

This does not mean BELIEVE what you are told. It means question everything with a critical mind rather than an emotional or conditioned response mind.

This is a very wise perspective, it is the higher road, which will leave you untainted by the muck generated by those handicapped due to poor or prematurely-ended education or driven primarily by hate and/or political partisanship. You are right that they should not be silenced, but instead encouraged to develop debating skills, research skills, presentation skills, for their personal benefit, the benefit of those visiting the platform, which is ultimately a potential benefit to all.

As individuals I entirely agree, we should not limit ourselves and find what is true .. for ourselves in life .. walk softly and carry a magnifying glass. We have to be careful only that we do not harm our ability to find that truth, by subscribing to obviously lacking, pre-teen clubhouse secret handshake n decoder ring baselessness. That sense of exceptionalism and superiority of knowledge was great as kids, even healthy, but not as adults who need to think about mortgages and procreation.

I am also of the opinion that education should never have an ENDING. It might end when we die, but who knows maybe not even then. We'll find out some day. ;)

It's a matter of who bears the burden of proof. History is full of examples of verifiable government, corporate, and private conspiracies. However, this does not prove that any given theory is supported by evidence.

As George Bernard Shaw said: All great truths begin as blasphemies.

Most reasonable free thinkers have done some research and realize that term was coined by GOVERNMENT to discredit anyone that challenges their official narrative.

I would like to see the phrase Conspiracy Truth used a lot more, becuse oftimes, that is what it is --- a conspiracy/cover up by those seeking to rule over you in a situation, that is full of truth those ppl. want covered up.

I have been a boots on ground activist publicly for years being targeted for truth speak, so I am one of the people who has put their time and money where their mouth is and lots of evidence of that out there.

Just look at how my file is being buried after being run over by a car and no AGENCY that is publicly paid is helping, doing their job, and or committing total mal/non/misfeasance against me to bankrupt me, all paid for by the state.

How's this for conspiracy truth?

Man, I don't know what to say. And we spoke about this in private, I really hope you get some kind of recompensation.

From the outside it looks like in Canada if you have a minor accident, they take care of you. I'm so sorry man!

I know you are sincere. And I thank you for that and your help and thoughts.

It is not lost on me. And I shall remember. I am loyal.

As I said before, people care, don't forget that! Stay strong man!

God bless ya man.


Just made this up now on the Steemit

I sometimes use the term Conspiracy Hypothesis instead of theory because it actually fits often closer to the Hypothesis stage in the scientific method.

I've not heard that, and you are super sharp.... so that seems legit for sure. good point, thanks.

It really me being silly. Yet it seems to fit. We are all hopefully "sharp" in our own areas. I just for some reason have spent a lot of time pondering why my mind works certain ways, why I do stupid things, wondering if perhaps that is also why other people do stupid things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about. I just have practice at sounding like I do. ;)

My dad told me when I was really young to try to put myself in other people's shoes. For some reason I understood that and I've tried to do that all of my life.

I can't always do it, but I try. I usually learn, or I hope I'm learning from doing this.

Anyway thanks for the compliment. You are a bright guy too. ;)

I hear ya..... good points and thanks a lot for that!

I appreciate it.

I think that people who are able to connect dots and devise theories are practicing their inherent human intelligence. Honestly, I find people who don't engage in conspiracy theory of some kind to be rather sheepish. There is a line, which is something along the line of substance use: when it is negatively affecting your life, that's a sign you're going too far. But, generally, if you notice that things are wrong, and are trying to figure out why, and that possibly there are unseen powers at work... I don't know, that just seems like intelligence to me. :)

Upvoted

@shayne

You know... That's a subject that I ponder about from time to time.. I don't see it as 'sheepish' at all, or that it has to do with intelligence but rather that people generally want to avoid pain, so when shame and guilt are attach to a subject..

Immediately many people stop thinking rationally, and let their instincts get hold, and then what happens? Their instincts want to avoid pain and so they dissociate with the subject and block their own critical thinking abilities.

Aside from politics, whenever there is something uncomfortable to think about, many people just avoid thinking about it completely to avoid discomfort.

Well, at least that's how I see it as of now and I may be wrong.

Thanks you by the way!

And of course let's not forget the CIA coined the term 'Conspiracy Theory' in the 60's in order to discredit truth seekers- one of their many psy ops against the American people. http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2015-02-23/1967-he-cia-created-phrase-conspiracy-theorists-and-ways-attack-anyone-who-challenge

Hmm crack down on dissent? If it wasn't an official agency I would've sworn it's sociopathy ;)

They are well stocked with psychopaths / satanists

The problem with Conspiracy Theories, to me is the way the words are used. Ever since the beginning of the 20th Century when the phrase came into common usage, the meaning has been dumbed down to now where, in a great many instances, it is nothing more than gossip wrapped in 'acceptable gloss'. It is often bar chat from the man with the prominent chest.
The vast majority of perpetrators will repeat what they last heard and add a little of their own spin as if to make them feel they own their own bullshit and hence try to believe it.
Many conspiracy theories have been found to be true. They often seem to involve governments and their officers! How very strange.
Good post, upped.

Haha yeah! "How very strange?" ;)

So Earth is flat and hollow. Totally​ true!

Haha flat and hollow, like a ring?

P.S Not saying anything is true. Just maybe we shouldn't put everyone on the same basket.

Thanks @the-alien!
Aren't all Steemians conspiracy theorists? Am I in the wrong place?

Sure. Conspiracies do happen, and I think sometimes all of us have Theories/Speculations/Hypothesis about them. Hopefully we are all truthers in the TRUE sense of the word as well. Simply meaning someone who only is interested in the truth, even when the truth is unpleasant.

I'm a conspiracy theorist and I approve this post! Just because there is a theory that something is a conspiracy does not mean it is not true.

I'm a Conspiracy Hypothesist

... or that it is. But I agree.

Truth is stranger than fiction my friend. I have stayed open minded through my awakening and have done my research. Tons of books and lots of hours studying the occult. I need to make very clear the fact that I'm not religious and am merely coming from a standpoint of what I have read over the years. The military conspiracies are just as true as the Hollywood conspiracies, as they are connected. Hollywood is their way of indoctrinating the masses and is their circus for the public. Almost all of the popular celebrities have pledged allegiance to the dark shadow group, and anyone that goes against them get killed or their career ruined. Rihanna does worship Satan, because all of them do. All of them worship Satan because the rothschilds do, and the rothschilds are in charge of everything, military or not. They own the central banks which control the currency of each given nation. They rule the world. Their family crest is a hexagram, I mean come on. So if Hollywood is owned by people that are generational satanists, I'd say it's safe to say that the things we see in these videos are not mere "shock value". It's not shock value if you see the same pentagrams in each video for every artist. It's called priming and we have all been conditioned to think this is normal! There are celebrities outright saying that they had to take secret oaths and sign their name in blood. It's no joke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13