Long Term Effects on Your Children of SpankingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Parents often try their hardest to raise their children the best way that they know how. Whether it be just going off of the example of the past generations that raised them, a trial and error microexperiment, a deep study into cause and effect, or a blend of all three, parenting can be either an easy or a hard experience. Regardless, it is a journey that we as parents dedicate ourselves to do, and at different levels of understanding.

An often controversial topic that hits home to all of us, challenging personal mores and dogma, and challenging thoughts of past generations' success is disciplining children. I realized after my daughter's second birthday even more from the first moment that I held her that she was the most special person in my life, and my decisions regarding her upbringing should be made with love and a fine amount of knowledge on the topic.

I was disappointed when speaking to other parents hearing vague answers like "Just love her" and "if you're tough on them, they'll listen to you" and other useless garbage like that which can be found inside a fortune cookie with the same amount of adaptation and thought of a random generation computer. However, the peaceful, non-violent parents that I spoke to seemed to have a lot more information than "I was spanked and I turned out ok". I liken that to "I do heroin and I didn't OD" kind of advice. Peaceful parents had more meaningful analogies that hit home with more insight. After speaking to several of them, I came up with a few of my own.

Imagine if you grew up with your closest confidant telling you "If you don't do what I say, I'm going to beat the crap out of you!". Now for a second, imagine that person isn't your parent, but instead is your classmate, boss, or significant other. Would this foster a good school learning environment? A positive workplace full of productivity and idea sharing? A healthy marriage? Of course not. Now my only question for you based on this is WHY THE HELL WOULD IT WORK WITH RAISING CHILDREN!

If my boss came over to my desk and told me I did a report incorrectly, and then swatted me on the ass with a paddle, would I stay there and work hard? If I was stupid enough to stay at that job, would I be more or less open to communicating future issues with my boss?

Even though about 70% of parents agree it's an acceptable punishment, a new study suggests spanking is way, way worse than a smack on the butt. According to an article by Caroline Picard in Good Housekeeping:

"Researchers from the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Michigan used data on more than 150,000 children over a 50-year period to come up with a fairly damning conclusion: Spanking is linked to aggression, antisocial behavior, mental health problems, cognitive difficulties, low self-esteem, and a whole host of other negative outcomes. As for the upsides, there were absolutely zero — the practice revealed no redeeming effects but consistently strong links to 13 bad ones."

If you are still skeptical about my point of view, below are some studies on spanking and the results they came up with:

  1. Tulane University researchers polled 2,500 mothers and found that 54% of them have spanked their children at least once. Out of these mothers polled, two years later, it was found that the children who were spanked were more aggressive, prone to violence and would fight and threaten others frequently... You don't say.. Kids don't learn this stuff on their own.

  2. Elizabeth Gershoff, PhD, who researches physical punishment at the University of Texas at Austin, made the claim that spanking has no positive outcomes. Why? When parents see that spanking doesn't have any effect on calming their children, they increase the violence. Does that change anything? No. children do not learn discipline lessons from spanking, but instead begin to fear the parent and develop aggression. Starting to sound more and more like the examples I listed above yet?

  3. Whites, on average, are 11 percent less likely to spank their children than African-Americans. Non-whites and non-blacks (classified as Asians, Native Americans, etc.) are 5 percent less likely than whites to approve of spanking. Remember folks, statistics cannot be racist. However, they can help us explain aggression within culture that may explain inequalities in our lives. Not color, culture.

  4. Spanked kids are more likely to lie. When researchers and study authors polled 3- and 4-year-old students from both punitive and non-punitive schools, they found a significant increase in how they reported information. Turns out, children who are spanked are more likely to lie than those who are not. This further proves the lack of transparency in a relationship between a parent inciting fear and a child trying to find any means necessary to avoid physical aggression.

These are just a few of the gems I picked up that has led me to believe that I cannot raise a freedom-loving child with liberty in her heart by having her raised by an authoritarian dictator from the time she is out of the womb.

Let's create a more peaceful and loving world, starting at home. With Our Children.

For more statistics, the following video was extremely helpful for me:

Sort:  

Spanking just teaches your children that 'might is right'. I never spanked my children, however I did slap my daughter's hand once when she deliberately attempted to destroy my speaker grill to challenge my authority or just to see what would happen (not sure what was really going on in her mind). Even that slap is something I probably should have handled differently, but she was the eldest and I was still learning how to be a good parent. Neither of my children ended up as trouble-makers and in fact I think they turned into wonderful adults.

I did get spanked, and sometimes when I didn't deserve it. However I knew my parents were not perfect and made mistakes. I also knew they loved me. Somehow I turned out OK and am a non-violent person. All those spankings I got did not turn me into a raging bull.

Thank you for your response, happyme. I'm glad to hear your story about your kids and spanking, as I had a similar upbringing and growth pattern with my daughter. I spanked her hand up until she was two, then after learning more I got rid of all of that. You're right about the might makes right being present in the spanking method.
When it comes to "it didn't turn me into a raging bull", I don't think the spanking helped you be a peaceful person, I think that you became a peaceful person despite being spanked. The love parents have for their kids can dominate a lot of the negatives that spanking brings and there certainly appears to be a correlation between intensity and frequency of corporal punishment and anti-social behavior.

Thank you for your comments!

When it comes to "it didn't turn me into a raging bull", I don't think the spanking helped you be a peaceful person, I think that you became a peaceful person despite being spanked. The love parents have for their kids can dominate a lot of the negatives that spanking brings and there certainly appears to be a correlation between intensity and frequency of corporal punishment and anti-social behavior

I think you could be very correct on that idea. We will never know for sure, because I can't live 2 parallel lives and compare (at least not that we know of at this point). It does make sense though and logic would support that theory. Thanks for the great article!

I completely agree with you. The "I turned out ok" excuse really tests my nerves. And the majority of the time those people really aren't as ok as they think!

My standard reply in that situation is always "No you're not, you grew up thinking it was okay to hit kids". People don't tend to have a good reply to that.

Agreed. "I smoked crack and turned out ok" or "I got hit by a semi and I turned out ok" are similar arguments to me.

Exactly! In paying careful attention to their behavior, they are almost always the same people who are complaining, miserable and have difficult relationships surrounding them too. My father was awful, and I would never ever think about hitting my child, because I've seen how detrimental it is (I took one route, my brother took the other, and he is no longer with us) With that being said, there's very little room for a middle ground. (Though possible, I find it very rare) Our daughter is 9 and will push buttons like any child her age, but I think it's so much easier to sit down and communicate with her. She's not only years above her peers as far as solving conflict but excels in most other aspects as well. ( the wild fire is still in her eyes from time to time though) haha. But I'm incredibly grateful to be able to communicate with her and not have the threat of force or physical harm being the reason that she listens. I think that is one of the most illogical ways to raise a child. The problem is that until parents stop seeing tiny humans as their property, this type of thinking will continue. It's disheartening! but I'm happy You speak about this as well! Nice to informally meet you and sorry about the long rant! Haha

My daughter is 9 too! Same stuff, her preferences are writing and she chooses me over other kids some of the time. I think it's cool when she wants to include me in play. It's like "Hey, dad isn't a tyrant". lol

Haha!! Mine is the same! I can't hold her hand in public because she's too old for that , but she still wants to bring her friends here around me, so I haven't fully embarrassed her yet. 😂 I do believe peaceful parenting will raise the future world changers! We are laying the ground work for them. 😊

Anytime. There are a lot of good resources out there. Molyneux, the guy who put out the video attached below was the first that I listened to and it seemed to be a no-brainer, but people still have a lot of personal barriers that keep them from accepting logical arguments, because they feel it would be disrespecting their parents by not raising their kids the way that maw and paw did. Hopefully logic and reason prevail.

Important issue. I realized I read more books about how to perform well in my career than about how to raise my daughter. That was a bit of a wake up moment for me, which made me think that I should but a greater focus on her upbringing than making money.

that i agree with you... she needs more of you around

Punishment models don't work. They may get obedience at the surface but they also generate deep resentment and avoidance behavior.

Teaching your kids consequences for their behavior, good and bad, is what creates well-balanced, emotionally-mature children. And this goes far beyond spanking. Verbal abuse, like what was dished out to me and, at times, I've been guilty of dishing out to my daughter, is just as damaging.

Children need consistency and follow through, which result in them taking responsibility for their actions. Those are the lessons you want to stick. Not the memories of flinching and wondering whether your parents love you or hate you.

I couldn't agree more. You summarized my technique probably better than I did :)

Well, that's a loaded parade of horribles. So is spanking bad or are parents bad spankers?

Since the physical act is not detrimental, then those against this practice claim that there is psychological damage. But when you examine psychology, you quickly discover that it is not a science based on observable conclusions. It is based on consensus of normalcy. This is why psychologists once claimed homosexuals were deviant, perverted, psychotics... and they are now normal. How is it that a severe problem in 1955 is normal behavior in 2015?

Simple. Psychology is a pseudoscience based on false premises. It's basis is in doctrine published periodically by the community of psychologists. It's a cyclical error-meets error. The criteria for mental illness change with every publication, every new-found deviancy.

You are advocating for the folks who medicate 1/4 of the American population with unnecessary psychotic medicines. You're trading a swat for a dose of Ritalin, or at least that's the outcome.

Moving to your spanking farce: You have made a good attempt at logic, and I'm not saying you need to go spank behinds. But the alternative promoted since Dr. Spock and the 1960s is to medicate and visit the charlatans who know so much better than moms how to fix unruly kids.

Did those "studies" adjust for pharmaceutical usage and fake diagnoses of hyperactivity disorders?

Sorry I didn't sing your tune.

1985 Article* about this:

Indeed, most child-care experts today disapprove of physical punishment. Dr. John F. Knutson, a professor of psychiatry...
Child-rearing experts also disagree on whether or not physical punishment deters misbehavior. Dr. James Dobson, a psychologist ...
Dr. Kenneth Kaye, a family therapist and an associate professor of clinical psychiatry ...
Other alternatives favored by psychologists include controlling the environment by placing expensive or dangerous objects out of reach, isolating youngsters for ...
Children, said Dr. Norma Deitch Feshbach, learn best in an atmosphere of reason and support, patience and understanding. Dr. Feshbach, a clinical psychologist ...

We are being trained (liked Pavlov's dog) to think that psychologists and the occasional psychiatrist are the modern experts on child rearing.... when we should know that moms and grandmothers are.

Who are we going to believe? Mom or the New York Times? This modernism and cognitive dissonance is the norm. To think otherwise is a mental disorder.... literally ... in the pages of modern psychology texts. If you go against what their textbooks say, look out for the diagnoses of mental illness pointed in
your direction.

*Source: http://www.nytimes.com/1985/06/19/garden/parents-and-experts-split-on-spanking.html

Total phillosophy crap.

Not an argument.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56