You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Long Term Effects on Your Children of Spanking

in #life7 years ago

I completely agree with you. The "I turned out ok" excuse really tests my nerves. And the majority of the time those people really aren't as ok as they think!

Sort:  

My standard reply in that situation is always "No you're not, you grew up thinking it was okay to hit kids". People don't tend to have a good reply to that.

Agreed. "I smoked crack and turned out ok" or "I got hit by a semi and I turned out ok" are similar arguments to me.

Exactly! In paying careful attention to their behavior, they are almost always the same people who are complaining, miserable and have difficult relationships surrounding them too. My father was awful, and I would never ever think about hitting my child, because I've seen how detrimental it is (I took one route, my brother took the other, and he is no longer with us) With that being said, there's very little room for a middle ground. (Though possible, I find it very rare) Our daughter is 9 and will push buttons like any child her age, but I think it's so much easier to sit down and communicate with her. She's not only years above her peers as far as solving conflict but excels in most other aspects as well. ( the wild fire is still in her eyes from time to time though) haha. But I'm incredibly grateful to be able to communicate with her and not have the threat of force or physical harm being the reason that she listens. I think that is one of the most illogical ways to raise a child. The problem is that until parents stop seeing tiny humans as their property, this type of thinking will continue. It's disheartening! but I'm happy You speak about this as well! Nice to informally meet you and sorry about the long rant! Haha

My daughter is 9 too! Same stuff, her preferences are writing and she chooses me over other kids some of the time. I think it's cool when she wants to include me in play. It's like "Hey, dad isn't a tyrant". lol

Haha!! Mine is the same! I can't hold her hand in public because she's too old for that , but she still wants to bring her friends here around me, so I haven't fully embarrassed her yet. 😂 I do believe peaceful parenting will raise the future world changers! We are laying the ground work for them. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57