You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Long Term Effects on Your Children of Spanking

in #life7 years ago

Punishment models don't work. They may get obedience at the surface but they also generate deep resentment and avoidance behavior.

Teaching your kids consequences for their behavior, good and bad, is what creates well-balanced, emotionally-mature children. And this goes far beyond spanking. Verbal abuse, like what was dished out to me and, at times, I've been guilty of dishing out to my daughter, is just as damaging.

Children need consistency and follow through, which result in them taking responsibility for their actions. Those are the lessons you want to stick. Not the memories of flinching and wondering whether your parents love you or hate you.

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. You summarized my technique probably better than I did :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57