Feast Or Famine?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

“While the righteous feed others fools starve themselves.” - Matthey Henry



AX Image
Image Source


We have a choice when we wake up every day.

Are we going to look out for our own self-interest or seek to help others?

For myself, despite my desires to do better, I spend most days doing the former.

What can I do more to help others?

What one thing a day can I do for one other person?

What can I do to make sure I do this every day?

Why don’t I do this more?

Usually the excuse is money.



Money Image
Image Source


When I try to imagine a life where money is not something I trade precious moments of my fleeting life for in order to pay for things, I struggle.

“What would I do instead with my time?

What would make a difference in other people’s lives?

What is worthy of pursuit?

What really matters?”

These thoughts were on my mind when I came across this article by @rok-sivante:

The Billionaire Game: What Plays Would You Make With a 10-Figure Net Worth...?

He had written these thought provoking questions:

“If you were a billionaire - let's say the crypto markets exploded well-past the moon, granting you a 10-figure net worth - how would you manage the responsibility over this newfound wealth?

Would you selfishly focus on fulfilling your own needs for a mansion, collection of luxury cars, private jet, yacht, and all the toys?

Would you establish a private foundation to allocate that wealth towards projects and initiatives focused on solving global crises?

What business structures would you set up through which that wealth could flow to be put to constructive use?

How would your choices benefit the networks you plugged into and chose to support?

What ideas, talents, and visions would that wealth be directed to fund?

Would you invest in technologies that could help solve world hunger and provide access to clean, healthy water for every man, woman, and child on earth?

Would you support organizations working on solutions to clean up the environment and transform industrial processes to introduce sustainable practices conducive to this planet's restoration and long-term wellness?

Would you back educational campaigns that empowered the next generation with entrepreneurship skills and foundational knowledge to make a difference in the world, that our generation were never provided?

What businesses would you grow that provided extraordinary value in the world?

How would you utilize your wealth to leverage others' value benefiting society?”

Truthfully I wouldn’t really have a good answer, except I had been thinking about some of these Big Heroic Audacious Goals a few weeks before.



Big Heroic Audacious Goals Image
Image Source


In @stan’s recent article, Big Heroic Audacious Goals, he asked people to think up what they would want to see happen.

“Heroic Goals have the potential to inspire and unite all of humanity -- and make a permanent global difference!”

At first blush, I didn’t have a clue…

Then I consulted my lovely wife who jogged my memory of what similar life goals we had previously discussed as possible BHAGs.

Given the chance we would like to see the following happen to help humanity:

  • Leveraging this technology to help charities, such as Makers and Means International, complete their missions at lower costs due to low transaction fees for sending money overseas

  • Build a resort property

  • Provided rest and rejuvenation programs to people doing charitable work so they can get a break when they feel they are on the brink of burnout

  • Develop a refuge center for women that will help them escape the traps of sex trafficking and the sex trade

  • Open a dog rescue or at least have some fun thing dog related :)

  • Own our own brewery and

  • Anything else we come up with between now and then!

So I guess I do have some ideas to feed others and I hope I don’t starve myself before I get the chance.

What would you do?


Stay tuned.
Stay interesting.
Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because OCASH is comming!


Join me on the OpenLedger/BitShares Decentralized Exchange
in The Billion Hero Challenge!


BitShares Title Block
Image Source


Get Giga Watt Tokens and join the world’s first full-service mining solution provider.


Cryptonomos


See the latest adventures and creations from my wife Sarah on steemit!

Also Check Out Some of My Other Posts:





Do you want to take out a loan to consolidate debt?

If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a special offer if you take out a loan.


Sort:  

This post has received a 21.43 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @strangerarray.\n\nSend 1.000 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.\n\nOh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness\n\nHave a great day!

Thanks, what are your goals or plans?

Thanks!

I hope it got you to start thinking of some things you can do to help others!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01