You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to give helpful praise instead of harmful praise

in #life7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your story! It's great you are trying to help your mom move from fixed mindset to growth mindset! What I like about a growth mindset is that it is literally never too late to learn and grow! You just need to be willing to try something and like you said, be willing to "fail."

Although I try to put effort into writing posts that might be useful to the Steemit community, they also don't get much eyeballs. I try not to get bogged down by that - I just think, hey, at least a few people read this post, and maybe it was helpful to them! I think it was my brother who told me that if we want to help make the world a better place, we must start with taking small actions instead of waiting to do something grand.

Sort:  

You know what a friend of mine said to me recently?

"You just keep doing what you're doing. You're on the right track. Keep going for it, don't stop, and you will gain momentum. All of sudden things will start to happen, mark my words"

He wasn't referring to Steemit, but to a business venture I've been working on for months, and for a long time it was hardly producing any revenue. But his advice pushed me to keep going, and the last month I've seen a nice increase in revenue.

The same advice applies to Steemit. I think we both believe in this platform, and enjoy posting HQ content. That means we bring the right attitude to the platform. Combine that with a growth mindset, and I'm sure financial rewards will come, eventually. But if that were our only driver, we'd probably give up soon.

I really enjoy sharing and contributing on this platform. The prospect of making some money down the road (perhaps next year) is an added bonus. But even if that weren't to happen, I'd still have a good time here.

Coming back to your emoji post: I just found out there's an Emoji Poetry Challenge!

Here's my entry: A Lion 🦁 , Robot 🤖 and Clown 🤡 Strolled 🚶 Through Town 🌆 ...

I encourage you to also participate, I had a lot of fun coming up with mine!

Hey @sizzlingmonkeys,

I would never promote my own posts in comments. But we have been going back and forth a bit with our comments.

Perhaps you would like to know a bit more about who you are communicating with?

If you do: I just published my Intro post. It's a special one for me, I really put a lot of thought and effort into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52