I am Really BORING 💤 . So I Hired BADASS 🔥 BIG MIKE to Introduce me!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

@LiveNowandWow Introduction Steemit Cover.jpg


If this video doesn't pump 💪 you up, nothing will!

Big Mike: take it away.

The floor is yours.

watch-this-vid.png




Aaaawwwww, thanks Big Mike!

HI EVERYONE 👋 !

My name is Peter, aka @LiveNowandWow.

UPDATE: Want to know why I chose this username? Then check out my most recent post:

How My Cute Little Niece Norah Taught me to Say WOW to Life (TIP: Learn How You Can do Too!)

I joined a few weeks ago, and spent a lot of time getting to know Steemit.

Before I start, I want to give a big shoutout to:

  • My good friend @robcubbon, with whom I discuss Steemit on a daily basis.
  • @tuck-fheman for his hard work on setting up the Steem Poker League. Do you ever sleep?
  • Witness @timcliff. I’m following your stuff, and really appreciate all that you do for us!
  • Fellow minnow @chiefmappster, for being so positive and sharing your life-changing story in an epic post.

Now it’s time that you learn a bit more about me!

First Things First: Are You Real?



This is me. Look, I’m holding a piece of paper:

@LiveNowandWow Introduction Steemit.jpg

It has the Steemit logo, my Steemit nickname and the date on it.

So I must be real.

Not convinced yet?

I am making a cup of coffee.

Bots don’t drink coffee.

Gotta have my caffeine...my precious...

Who Are You?

Glad you asked!

I have worked as a lawyer for 8 years at a top law firm, in the Netherlands (fellow Dutchies: hoe gaat het? Leuk dat jullie hier ook zijn!).

Look, here I am at my desk, all serious:

2000X1500 template (Festive Filter).jpg

Me pretending to be in deep thoughts. I guess it's good thing that I didn't go into acting!

Then I called it quits, after a burnout knocked me off my feet for some time. I packed my stuff and moved to South-East Asia. This is 4 years ago, and I haven’t looked back!

My original plan was to travel for 1 year and then go back home.

Along the way that changed into finding a new home.

Around Christmas, we would always get a Merry Christmas card from this firm on Mauritius, a tropical island in the Indian Ocean. We never worked with them. We did not even know anybody there. I'd like to imagine that they just sent out a bunch of 'Christmas on the beach' cards around the world to show off and make us all JEALOUS!

Well, in case you are working at this firm and are reading this:

IT WORKED...

But hey, fast forward a few years and I found myself living on the tropical island of Koh Phangan, Thailand for one year.

1500x1500 px (Festive Filter).jpg

My office on Koh Phangan, when it wasn't too hot

And I didn’t even have to practice law. Win!

Law Firm Phangan.png

Leading law firm on Koh Phangan. How's that for an office? 😁

On Koh Phangan, I did over 900 hours of different yoga teacher trainings, and then was faced with the question: do I really want to teach yoga for a living?

I realized that – for now – I missed doing business too much.

The adrenaline of deadlines, the satisfaction of accomplishing what I set out to do.

What I did not miss though was the corporate world, working for the man.

Nope, no more T.P.S. reports for me...

What I wanted was – and is – a truly location-independent lifestyle, where I can support myself and live wherever I choose.

So I started to learn how I could make money online.

And I moved to Chiang Mai, in Northern Thailand. Recently, Chiang Mai has gotten a bit of a bad rep among some, because it attracts its fair share of people starting out on a budget. Personally, I don’t understand the bashing: didn’t we all start by taking our first step on the path?

I myself learned a lot, with trial and error. I tried different things:

  • drop shipping
  • blogging
  • creating video courses

I picked up valuable skills along the way, and met amazing people!

Working in Punspace, Thailand LiveNowandWow Steemit Introducion.jpg

I never take pics of myself working, so you'll have to do with this blurry one...

But I was trying too many different things, with not enough synergy between them.

There’s a story about a farmer who set out to dig a well to water his land.

After digging a few feet deep, he gave up. No water here! The next day, he tried another spot. Same thing: he dug only a few feet deep, found no water, gave up.

After he had done this about 10 times, his neighbor – who had been watching from afar all this time – couldn't stand it anymore and said: “What are you doing? You are never going to find water by digging all those different holes. Instead, find the most promising spot. Start digging there. And keep digging: 20, 30, even 40 feet deep. That’s when you will find water!"

The farmer realized his mistake. The next day he picked one spot and started digging, deeper and deeper. He didn't stop. And lo and behold, he found water, in abundance!

Perhaps this quote from Alexander Graham Bell, the inventor of the telephone, explains it best:

"Concentrate all your thoughts upon the work at hand. The sun's rays do not burn until brought to a focus."

Focus on the ONE thing, as Gary Keller says.

2000X1500 template (Festive Filter) (1).jpg

For the last 1.5 years, that has been selling on Amazon for me:

  • I have worked at a SaaS company for Amazon sellers for 1 year
  • I am a successful Kindle publisher, and
  • I am working for an Amazon FBA business. Eventually I also plan to sell FBA products myself.

This focus has really helped me in setting priorities as I grew my business.

However, life is not all business. Enter Steemit!

What Will You Bring to Steemit?



This is the sunrise at Phu Chi Fa, deep in the mountains of Northern Thailand, at the Laos border:

Phu Chi Fa Thailand Steemit.jpg

Wow. Just WOW...

It may have been the most spectacular view I have ever seen.

Visiting Phu Chi Fa was the highlight of a recent road trip I did in the mountains of Northern Thailand.

For the last few years, I have focused a lot on work. Still, I have also made time to go on amazing trips.

Livenowandwow steemit thailand roadtrip mountains.jpg

I have so many cool travel stories and photos to share! Yet they are just sitting there, in the waiting room.

Time to call out their number, one by one.

I was just waiting for the right place to share my travel stories, and Steemit is gonna be it. I love how positive everyone at Steemit is, and I want to be a part of it. I already am. And I’m getting more and more enthusiastic every day!

I have started two series:

  1. TravelNowandWow: follow me as I travel around the world
  2. YummyNowandWow: let me introduce you to lots of delicious nomnom food!

Here are the posts I have written so far:

TravelNowandWow

YummyNowandWow

And in this post I explain why I chose @LiveNowandWow as my username:

And many more posts will follow, STEEM ON!

Page Divider.png

So that's me in a nutshell: @LiveNowandWow.

I’m excited. Will you join me on this journey?

Can’t wait to connect with all of you!

Please don't forget to upvote, comment, resteem, and follow.

You wouldn't want to upset Big Mike, now would you? 😉

Big Mike Livenowandwow Steemit.jpg


Follow Resteem Upvote @livenowandwow.png

Sort:  

Welcome to steem nation

Thank you Richard!

Welcome and great avatar :)

Thank you @Paco!

Unfortunately I still look human, but at least the background is blue 😉 .

Haha Mike did a good job!

What a great introduction! :-)
Welcome and enjoy :-)

Cool intro! Welcome to steemit!!!

I really appreciate authentic and thoughtful intros like this and I look forward to seeing more of your content in the future. Hoping we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @livenowandwow :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

What an awesome intro post! I'm still cranking out the T.P.S. coversheets in my job but I'm so glad that you have produced your last one. I can't get enough of that movie, "Office Space."

Thank you @paul.atreides!

Appreciate it. Spend a good amount of time and effort on this one, really wanted to do it well.

Office Space is one of my favorite movies too! Sorry to hear you're still cranking out those TPS coversheets...

Welcome on board @livenowandwow

wow! What a great post. I really enjoyed reading it. Your background is impressive and I see why you are and will continue to be successful on this platform. You bring much to the table and I look forward to growing more jealous of you😀

I like toast 🍞

Haha, no need to be jealous @joelfriedman68!

I should be jealous of you, you joined Steemit before me...

Appreciate the kind words, that means a lot.

Alright Peter, Really good introduction!

Thanks @contentguy, glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61