Tuesday Ramble Through Steemit - My Favourite Reads Sept 6th

in #life8 years ago

Well, I left eleven tabs open to start my reading today. This morning I decided to reboot my computer and when I opened my browser the tabs didn’t reopen. I use Edge, which is the new browser in Windows 10, for Steemit. That way I can leave Steemit in one browser window and my other stuff in my Firefox window. Edge seems to be a tad fickle when it will reopen the browser windows I had in use when I close it. 

Had a nice early start to my day. My feline got me up at 5pm to feed her. The day has dawned bright and sunny. It’s supposed to get hot and humid for the next three days. I’m trying to hold off on putting the AC back on. I have volunteer duty again today so I’ll likely wait until I come home this evening. 

I’m starting out with 31 posts open for reading. A few of them were among the 11 that disappeared when I rebooted. Okay, off to read. 


Blockchain Technology for Beginners: Chapter One (from "Blockchain Revolution")

@antifragile has written a good piece here on the basics of understanding the blockchain. He’s using Canadian futurist Don Tapscott’s book as his primary reference source. This post is based on the first chapter of the book. 

Damn, that morning flew away quickly on me. By the time I stopped to get some brunch it was time to get over to the branch. I have to open early on Tuesdays as the seniors come in to play their cards. Anyways, have laptop, will travel and I’m back to reading for the afternoon. 


5 Effective NLP Copywriting Techniques You Can Use Immediately To Power Up Your Copy

Have you ever noticed how effortless it is to read some articles and some are a struggle? In this day and age of online communication we have to be more aware of the power of words in communication. @kreativ has written a great piece about how to write effective copy using elements of NLP. If you don’t know what NLP is, you should have a look at the article. 


Democracy: Worse Than Monarchy?

Many of the early adopters of Steemit are people who identify themselves as anarchists. A wide range of ideas and beliefs are present as more people adopt the platform. I would never be inclined to identify myself as an anarchist, I believe in the concept of ordered government even when I’m dissatisfied with it. 

I do have to admit, it is interesting to read some of the arguments that anarchists put forward. Some of them are very deep thinkers and really do think outside of the box that more traditional people are used to. 

@jakemccauley has written a well developed essay on the differences between how democracy and monarchy rule and how the people accept them. A very good read. 


True or False? - Repetition is not good for writing. I repeat myself multiple times!

@hitmeasap is not a native English speaker. He writes well in English. I’ve read many of his posts and enjoyed them. This one, is especially for writers to reminds us not to keep using the same words and phrases over and over. 


Finland is doing an experiment to hopefully eradicate poverty. - Through a universal basic income.

This post caught my attention as it is a subject I’m interested in. There has been a growing level of discussion on the subject of redistributing wealth to the lower income levels. The Canadian province of Ontario is currently preparing to run a test of a minimum income. The federal government has also been discussing the topic. 

@anarchyhasnogods writes about the experiment currently underway in Finland. I hope he keeps an eye on it and posts about it in the future. 


7 Proofs That Prove We Are Already Living In The Future

I just happened to pop into the Steemit Chat channel a few minutes ago to post yesterday’s Steemit Ramble. @sauravrungta upvoted it and I decided to have a look at the link he had just upvoted. I’m glad I did. 

As we all know, technology and what it can do is growing at an incredible rate. @sauravrungta has written up seven items which are coming into use in this part of the 21st century. I’d read about a couple of them, but the rest are pretty cool, like the 3-D pen and I thought 3-D printers were hot. :)


#22KILL 22 Push-ups for 22 Days - Raising awareness for Veteran Suicide through Steemit [Day 3]

If you look at no other link in this post, GO TO this one and upvote. You’ve seen the 22pushup challenge on Facebook to raise awareness about the number of veterans committing suicide. Veterans, and their well-being, is near and dear to me as an active member of the Royal Canadian Legion. 

@senseiteekay has not only taken on the challenge but is posting about it. Any funds he raises will go to 22KILL to support their work of veteran’s advocacy. I couldn't do a  pushup to save my life but I can sure give as much support as possible to this awareness campaign. 


The New '5 Vote Target' does NOT Reduce Rewards - It Democratises Steemit Curation!!

Upvoting at the right time on a post can get the member what is called a curation reward. There has been considerable debate about upvoting and curation and how it impacts user retention and participation on the site. 

@hisnameisolllie has posted his analysis of recent changes made to the voting system. Be sure to read the comments as some interesting debate is taking place. 

That's a Wrap for Today

Okay, so I’m going to wrap this up for today. I want to spend some time reading a book this evening so I’ll need to pull myself away from Steemit. I have about 45 minutes left of my volunteer shift and then I’ll be home and able to settle in for the evening. 

I think today, I’m going to click through to each of the posts and let the Steemian know that they were one of my favourite reads for today. I wasn’t sure if I should but decided that it would be just courtesy. 

This is day 4 of my 30 day challenge to post and share about my favourite posts I read on Steemit each day. Don’t forget to upvote the writer’s posts and comment. Feedback is always nice to have. 

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post. 

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile 

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, just sign up here

Sort:  

thanks for compiling this list.. imma have to check out that democracy/monarchy one for sure! lol

it was an interesting read. Am really enjoying making notes on my favourite reads.

I put a lot of effort into it, hope you enjoy

I do agree some posts are ready to read whilst others have to be read twice but still that's why wer are hear and that's what we enjoy. It was nice of you to mention your favourite reads for today. Happy reading

Everyone loves a ramble. Good work, I enjoyed reading through these and clicking on thru to the linked articles!

Thank you for featuring my article. Look forward to reading all the others too. This is a great idea for curating great content :-)

As you can see from my notes, I read a lot of posts , so I'd say you deserved the notice but thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74