Consideration: Guard Your Heart

in #life6 years ago

Of everything that you watch over, watch over your heart, it is the source of your life. - Proverbs 4:23 (NIV)

Proverbs 4:23 says to watch over your heart because it determines the course of your life. Think about that. What is in your heart will eventually be seen in your daily life. Whatever is inside, eventually finds its way out ... where everyone can see it.

Only that makes it very important to keep an eye on what things we allow to shape our hearts. I do not want something annoying, sinful and selfish, to find its way out and my relationships with others, and I think you would not want that either.

Much of the monitoring of your heart means learning to control your thoughts, your words, your character and your view. What you think usually comes out through what you say. What you say influences how you feel and that becomes visible in your attitude.
In the course of daily life, this is what determines how you deal with your circumstances, whether you have peace or that you collapse because of a stressful situation. It determines how you react to others, either with compassion and understanding or with condemnation and arrogance, especially if you do not agree with them!

You can try to prevent your inner thoughts from affecting your words and attitudes, but I find it easier to have Divine thoughts first. Spend time in God's presence, and let the Holy Spirit fill your heart with His goodness.

Short prayer:

Lord, I want my heart to be filled only with thoughts and desires that are yours. Because I spend more time in Your presence and focus exclusively on You, I know that my heart will change for the better, affecting my life for the rest of my life in a godly way.

Image by geralt on pixabay


A Selfless Service! @Altruisticbot. Join Us On Discord Today

altr-banner.png


Support @godwaves. God-Waves-Christian-Network on Discord


Support @christian-trail


FlamingHelpers-7.jpg


itestify banner.jpg A support project for those that testify in the christian community.


seyiodus.png

Sort:  

Your posts are very good

Jesus Christ is the way the truth the light no one comes to the father except through him. Thanks for sharing

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 10.30% upvote!
I was summoned by @seyiodus. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72