The Cheapest Act of Kindness Could Pay Off Someday

in #life6 years ago

image

Image

Some time ago, it was late one fateful evening - I was seeing off a female friend (a soldier by profession) who came visiting.

From just a couple of blocks down my street came this well-fed and fierce looking Alsatian Dog - ran out from a gated compound and was coming after us with so much rage.

Before I'll say 'jack', my Soldier friend ran and left me. In that split second, I could decipher that: joining her in running was not an option, cause both of us wouldn't outrun the Dog.

Therefore, someone had to stand back and receive what the Dog has to offer, which is obviously a bite.
.

So I just stood still, probably because I was with a Babe, cause I didn't even act like I was a little scared, though I was.

Lo and behold, the Dog got to me and halted like a car Learner: stepping on the brake pad for the first time. And instead of a bite, he began sniffing me from my foot up to my groin - wagging his tail until someone came out from the gate and summoned him, and he quickly ran back into the compound.

.
Then my runaway friend appeared from the blue;

"If this Dog had bite me eh!.. I would've shot him to death", she said.

And I was like:
"Well done Madam Soldier. After you ran and left me to be bitten".

Though I wouldn't have forgiven myself if the Dog had bitten her, because I was the reason she found herself walking on my Street, that evening.
.


So on my way back (after I was done seeing her off), I was still pondering on what transpired for the Dog not to have bitten me.

Com'on, they say, "A barking Dog doesn't bite". But in this case, the Dog wasn't barking. He just came after us.

Then I remembered a couple of months ago, prior to that incident, I was strolling down my street and a Puppy came out from that same compound. He was so adorable, I couldn't just pass by without saying 'Hi'.

And I did spend some minutes with him - patting his head and running my fingers down his fur. Thereafter, I put him into the compound and closed the gate.

"So this is obviously the same Dog", I said to myself. But I couldn't tell of the possibility for the Dog to have still recognised me.

Then I got into some research work, instead of assumptions.
.
Obviously, it's no secret, Dogs have an amazing sense of smell. But a lot of people are still under-informed of the degree to which a Dog can sense through a smell.
Actually, the average human being has a nose which contains only 3% of the number of odor analyzing cells that can be found in the nose of a Dog. Not to mention the Bloodhound breed, and even the little Beagle, which both has a more higher odor analyzing cells than other breeds.
.

And these cells found in the nose of Dogs are more sensitive to pick up pheromones (the chemicals unique to each animal species that advertise mating readiness), and even in humans too.
Dogs could clearly perceive the chemical (pheromones) that your body unconsciously emit whenever you come in contact with your Crush. That means your Dog (if you have one) would know who you're crushing on, if he or she comes around you.

Then I clearly understood what attracted a Dog to come after us that night. Bae was obviously emitting pheromones, hehehe.
If so, maybe it means the Dog got the wrong guy, that's why he didn't bite?, or maybe there is more to it.
.

Finally, after further findings, I also learnt that Dogs associate the human's scent with positive experience. That association makes for a strong emotional bond, as your smell becomes a pleasant aromatic for him.
Wow!, that means: that Dog obviously didn't recognise me, but rather he perceived the act of kindness I showed to him when he was a puppy, just as he approached me that night.
I've always known that even the cheapest act of kindness could pay off someday.
But who would've known: it could pay in so many ways.

image

Sort:  

wow, that is a cute dog and thanks for sharing your experience with us. Well, I too have heard that a dog which barks doesn't bite, but you met a dog which doesn't bark and doesn't bite too. :)

Thank you for using eSteem and you have been chosen by eSteem curators for Encouragement Program .

Please join our growing community using this link and check our Mobile and Surfer (desktop) apps using this link.

Thank you very much @coolguy123

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rheda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @rheda! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rheda! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rheda! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rheda! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97