Papa Rodin Weekly Recap #4 - Oh, what a week!

in #life6 years ago

Greetings, Steemians and Steemettes!

Since I was posting a quick recap on how my previous weeks have been, I decided to just keep the tradition and give out this weekly report on my adventures on this platform and muse about what has happened to me. This week has actually been quite eventful, surprisingly enough, so let's get right to it.

62566+.JPG 50 Greyshades of Rodin

I got a job to do!

As I said in some of my earlier posts, I started working in a new working enviroment today. It's a cozy office job for the most part and I am still learning a couple of things, but overall, I am quite pleased. Conditions are acceptable and my traveling time is shorter than expected. That is, of course, if the train does end up arriving in time. Which it rarely does these days because....well, when have trains ever been differently? Yesterday, after I had finished work, I had to wait for an extra 20 minutes because reasons. It's amazing how patient I can be regarding certain situations while others leave me with nerves stretched thin.

But alas, I made it through the first week and was able to keep the chain of daily uploads going, so I am pleased with myself.

There were contests!

A lot of different people on this platform offer different kinds of contests and I took part in some of them. One of them was related to the SBI raffle. This one was particularly exciting because it asked me to do my own SBI contest, which I did. The winner of that contest is looking forward to 3 SBI shares that are just waiting to be processed. @sultnpapper made that contest possible and one I have a more regular income around here, I want to make contests like that a regular thing to happen as well. The main contest is still running and I hope that I will be able to win something there as well. Winning is almost as enjoyable as losing after all.

Speaking of winning, I also took part in the @minnowfund contest. This one I actually ended up winning thanks to the support of a certain few people. The price was a 100 SP delegation for 45 days. It looks great to see that my upvotes are finally worth more than just 0.00$. While not lasting forever, I want to make that duration count as much as possible.

My personal favorite

This week, one of my posts ended up being one of my personal favorites so far. We as human beings like to take pride in what we are doing, especially if we are doing well and I think the one I am referring to here may be one of my best so far. My post about bookcases was a special case to me because it involved a different approach to creating it while also involving another person than just me in the process. If able, I would like to do more posts like these and I actually have a topic for that in mind already.

Read up on that post here, it will be worth your while.

Comment sections become more and more lively!

I noticed that more and more people are replying to my posts over time which is something I was really hoping and looking forward to. Many people that do I got in touch with why initially visiting their own blogs, others just happened to stumble over me by accident. One way or the other, both are equally welcome and appreciated. I want blogposting to be more than a one way trail, more than just me dumping words on this page. I want the exchange with people, I want to read on their opinions and further everyone's horizon, my own included.

With that being said I will continue doing my 100 comment challenge in the future whenever can. It has given me a lot.

Status of Steemit

By now, everyone is feeling the effects of sinking Steem and SBD prices. The amount of Steem related memes is off the charts, people are crying, raging and busy finding other ways to express their emotions. Overall, I am not really concerned by that at all. For one because I still do what I came in here to do, providing content to people who want to read it, making new and interesting contacts and gathering new experience. On that front, the prices dipping is actually good for me. That means that only people who really understand and live Steemit and care for the platform and the content provided will stick around.

Of course, everyone who leaves the boat now will return eventually. And I will be here, waiting for them with open arms, having made a lot of progress until then. Sounds like a decent enough plan, doesn't it?

While I am not the one to hand out financial advise around here, I do intend to use these times to actually purchase some Steem myself as soon as I'm able to. I will be around for a while and as long as I treat this as a passionate hobby of mine, spending an appropriate amount of money is reasonable enough I'd say. Others spend hundreds of dollars a month on games, drugs and alcohol. Me spending 50, 100, maybe 200€ on this hobby of mine once or twice a year is harmless compared to that and a "risk" I am willing to take even though I do not consider it as such. I am not in a position where I can lose with Steemit right now.

Illuminati?

Yesterday, I came home feeling super beat. I don't even know why. Maybe the first week of work was more exhausting than originally thought. I ended up sleeping in for three hours and was awake way later than it was good. Still, I wanted to write a post, so I did. When I finished it up, I took care of some other things and went back to bed again.

Next day, I noticed a ridiculous amount of upvotes on that same post. Apparently, the @illuminti-inc found my post and deemed it worthy for yet another Curie upvote!

These people really know how to catch me off-guard, let me tell you! But that is good because the appreciation for these kind of things happening is most intense when it happens without any kind of indication.

My plans for the upcoming week?

Well, first of all, I will visit a friend today and watch how Germany will fair in todays game. To be honest, I have a hard time enjoying soccer these days, but who am I to deny the invitation of a good friend who is also a pretty lady? I think we will also do some BBQ, so I won't be leaving hungry.

Afterwards, I will enjoy my weekend some more, being around here and taking some time to relax before the upcoming working week starts. I hope you will do similarly pleasant things!

Read more of Papa Rodin!

Papa Rodin Quotes #2 - Black Thoughts

Papa Rodin Recommends - Dustsweeper

Papa Rodin Reads #3 - "Rough Draft" by Sergej Lukianenko

Papa Rodin Presents - Bookcases

Papa Rodin announces the Winner! - Also some miscellaneous stuff

Papa Rodin Challenges #2 - Steem Basic Income Edition

7 Day Positivity Challenge - Recapping

Papa Rodin Profiles #1 - The Black Panther

Sort:  

Keep up the good work - you are proof good work pays off on Steemit - another @curie upvote. Im a huge fan of sbi might run another giveaway soon

I want to make SBI challenges a regular thing as soon as I can afford to make it so.

Hey @paparodin I just signed you up for 2 shares for SBI - my present to you :) I can see you are doing a good job and have the right attitude on here!

Keep up the good work!

Wow, thanks a lot! That's awesome!

Do you know how long it takes until they take effect? I had that contest last week where someone won three shares from me and I am still waiting for them to kick in.

A pleasure! Was guna run a competition but dont have the time to organise so il just give away a fee shares to deserving steemians.

Should start getting the votes in 3 or 4 days if not i think they have a discord and you can contact them through there

I will look into their discord, thanks for that.

3-4 days is a bit less than what I have been waiting for now.

Let me know if you have any problems - just remembered if you look on their blog a while back they posted a excel sheet which they update as to who has shares and how many

A share that was put into effect by a friend of mine is now working. Those that I put to use still aren't. Probably have to wait a bit longer.

You have been defended with a 9.09% upvote!
I was summoned by @paparodin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74