Living the Ordinary Life

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've been a student for pretty much most of my life, first primary school then highschool and finally university. Now going into the workforce I'm starting to reflect on my life and how I might make it a bit less ordinary, a bit more exciting and hopefully as a result a bit more enjoyable.

The big question I ask myself is how do I do that? In this day and age social media is becoming more and more like a journal, people document and take photos of their lifestyle and record their thoughts, only nowadays it is public. Travel has become one of the most common and most publicized way of living an exciting life but what is it about travel that makes it so exciting? Why does everyone want to travel? From my personal travel experience it has to be the exposure to a different culture, the satisfaction of going to a place that you have always wanted to be and experiencing new and different things.

So how do I live an amazing life without travel? In my opinion the reason why we enjoy travel so much is because it provides us with three things; satisfaction, a new experience and bragging rights. Of course there are other things but to live a slightly less ordinary life I'm not only going to travel because that will make me broke, but I will try to find things, activities and skills which satisfy those three points.

I'm going to try accomplish one hundred different things, I wont put a deadline and I'm completely open to suggestions of any kind as long as its not too dangerous. But please help me out and maybe you guys and girls can also try to complete this list as well so we can all live a slightly less ordinary life.

What's one of the most exciting or satisfying things you have ever done and would recommend? please leave a comment and maybe I'll add it to the list.

Alright first six!

  1. Learn to skateboard and at least one trick on it

  2. Go skydiving

  3. Make a working bow and arrow

  4. Travel to New Zealand - this one is already planned with a mate of mine. let me know of the 'must do's' over there.

  5. Try talk to someone new everyday - or whenever I get the chance and learn something about them.

  6. Do at least 5 pullups/ chinups in a row

After making this list I noticed its also sort of like a bucket list. Oh Well, Cheers to a slightly less ordinary life!

Sort:  

Well written

Very interesting

Congratulations @oblivoren! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @oblivoren! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33