Writing Humor and How It Will Lead to My Death

in #life6 years ago (edited)

@NoNamesLeftToUse The Writer/Artist Himself is surprisingly still alive.

But how long will it last?

NoNamesLeftToUse - Untitled .jpeg

When They Don't Get It

A small piece of me dies inside.

I can still remember the first time I made a group of people laugh.

I'd say I was about five years old. My brother and I were playing in his bedroom while the adults were sitting around the table playing cards and drinking adult beverages. They were distracted, it was the mid 80's, and us kids could do whatever the hell we felt like doing.

Inside the forbidden closet was a long jacket. Gray in color. Inspector Gadget attire and that man, well; he just so happened to be my hero of the day.

I put that coat on, I walked out to the dining room, they all looked at me and probably thought, aw. What a cute kid.

I had a different plan though.

Before they had a chance to think and with that dance within my soft little man voice, I sang a line from the show's theme song.

Do do-do do-do Inspector Gadget

Then I ripped open the coat and gave them all the suddenly unforgettable glance at my tiny little setup of cock and balls.

The Room Erupted

Drinks were spilled.

My little face smiled at first but they could not control themselves. Laughing and laughing and laughing. My little mind did not know how to process that, I think I started to feel as if they were laughing at me and not with me so; I cried and ran away.

It was for the best though and I'm glad I grew up when I did because if that happened today I'd probably be in counselling and eating Ritalin disguised as marshmallows in my cereal every morning for breakfast.

~~~

They Didn't Teach Anyone How to be Funny in School

I guess they forgot?

I think it was grade two.

The first time I ever wrote something funny was an accident.

We were all tasked with writing a short story. Mine didn't take long, I was finished, I handed it in to the teacher. Her body language reeked of don't bleeping talk to me now, I'm busy; so I made my way back to my seat near the window and started to imagine what it would be like if I could fly like those birds outside.

I was still soaring through the sky when I heard her first snort. I looked in her direction as my imaginary clouds began to fade. I saw a smile; a certain glow. She was still focused, reading, but everything about what she was saying without words to the rest of us now watching told me her day just became a whole lot brighter.

It Turns Out

That was my story she was reading.

It was a story about a family of skunks messing with a family of people. It was supposed to be scary.

She gave me a good grade but unfortunately, I was not allowed to read that in front of the class like all of the other kids did with their stories.

I didn't really know what dark humor was even while she was attempting to explain it to me in the hallway. My parents told me all about how the skunks manage to produce that friendly aroma so of course I incorporated elements of that into the story.


So, basically, this family of people is tied up in their basement while papa skunk stands on their faces and shoots his "smelly pee that comes from his bum" directly into their nostrils. The people deserved it because they inadvertently destroyed the skunk family home to put in a swimming pool. Baby skunk couldn't swim and ended up drowning. You'd be mad, too. It was all a dream though. The man wakes up feeling frightened, rushes to the bedroom where his children sleep, then tells them they're not getting a swimming pool. They cry, and that's the end of the story.


Hilarious!

Is socially unacceptable?

That's something I learned in school.

In grade six we had some workbooks sitting on a rack, just for show. Some students would flip through them though, from time to time, and I was one of them. Inside was a fill-in-the-blank game that challenged the child to select verbs and nouns that fit the context of the story. The young rebellious version of me filled those blanks with obscenities and absurdities, then placed the book neatly back on the shelf. Nobody knew I did it.

A few weeks later, the teacher is handing one out to each student. I'm thinking, oh shit.

Moments later, one student is laughing as she's walking up to the teacher's desk. The teacher looks, she too starts laughing near instantly but then stops herself. I admitted to it so the other kids could go for recess. She told me it was funny but I shouldn't do things like that. I was punished for being funny, but I guess that was fair, because I wasn't supposed to write in those books.

In grade ten science class I was paired up with another student. We were given the topic of coal power and asked to do a report. We got up there in front of the class and did our best.

The teacher then had questions ready to ask and we were to answer those questions with no way of being prepared. She asked, "What kind of pollutants are released into the environment when coal is burned?" I proudly declared, "I'll field this one," as if this was some sort of a press conference. I intentionally placed a stone-cold serious look on my face, I looked at the students, then the teacher, then the students again and said, "Smoke."

The kids laughed, the teacher didn't. She frowned. My answer was a joke, it was part of the presentation. I wanted it to be fun, the teacher took me seriously and thought I was that dumb. She never gave me a chance to explain and that was her final question.

The report we did was terrible, our presentation sucked. The student I was paired up with received a passing grade of 51%, I was given a grade of 49% and she told me that answer of, "Smoke," was the reason I failed.

I didn't just fail the report though. I failed the entire class.

~~~

I Lost Friends

Because I was being funny.

Hanging out with people was always fun. We'd laugh and have a great time.

Then came texting and smart phones.

Gone were the days of friendly conversation. I'd find myself sitting around tables, with friends, the drinks are flowing; silence. They were all glued to their damn phones. I suppose this was all before it was considered rude to be like that. Without their words offering up subtle cues that trigger my mind to say something funny, or even interesting, it felt like I wasn't there; until they had a picture of cat to show me.

So There I Was

Sitting around the campfire that night.

I was visiting a good friend. A few of our other friends were there as well, along with his family and his girlfriend who I had met on one other occasion, briefly.

I was entertaining people with my drunken stupidity, having fun. Of course the friends were mainly glued to their screens, not really paying attention.

Nearly everything coming out of my mouth was making his girl laugh. She'd respond and give me even more to work with, then continue laughing. It went on like that for quite awhile until buddy scraped his brain away from the device for a few seconds to ask her, "How come I can't ever make you laugh like that?"

I quickly responded with, "Because you're not funny!"

I was joking, of course. I said that while his girl was taking a sip of her drink, she spit it out so she could laugh instead of choking on it, it all happened so fast; then he gets angry and starts telling me I'm not funny and that turned into him telling me all about every problem he's ever had with me for the past ten years or so. That verbal beating lasted a good ten to fifteen minutes and I then found myself walking home, alone, because I needed time to think.

We weren't friends any more after that incident.

I still laugh when I think about.

~~~

So To Keep a Short Story Long

After all that, and so much more...

What would possess me to come to a place like this and attempt to be a humorist?

The headline says this will kill me, right?

It's only natural for me to laugh in the face of danger. I've been having so much fun. If I could, I'd do what I do here most days, for the rest of my days, until I die. That's what I meant. Hopefully you'll be doing what you enjoy until you die as well.

A bit later, also near the top I say, "When they don't get it, a small piece of me dies inside." It's true. I can't keep these inner crazies of mine all bottled up. I need a place to put it. These days, that's here, and you get it. You get to see it, you get to laugh, and hopefully have some fun along the way. I don't want to keep it all to myself. I don't mind sharing and I get to laugh as well. Win-win.

I wanted you all to have an idea of where I'm coming from.

Recent events inspired this whole thing.

Yeah. It can be painful to watch. A tough pill to swallow.

I write something that's intended to be humorous and some take it seriously. Others make it painfully obvious they didn't even take a moment to actually read what I wrote before they leave a comment. That will always happen. My past proves some people just don't get it. It's not my fault, I try my best to avoid taking it personally, and really; a few mishaps like that here are nothing in comparison to what I've been through while bombing jokes in my past.

It's all good!
And thanks for putting up with me.

Have a nice day.

linebreak1
Credits:
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
"I guess I could write something here as well."

© 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse. All rights reserved.
Follow @NoNamesLeftToUse

Sort:  

As my dad used to say, "Screw them if they don't have a sense of humor."
If I wasn't married and started taking that advice I might be giving Debbie from Dallas a run for the money.... or maybe dad meant something else. hmmm...

The way this world spins some days, I'd suggest packing an extra tube of lube. :)

Oh man, this one hits home with me. I'm originally from Texas. People in Texas have thick skin, we basically insult each other as entertainment, and not like "safe" insults. More than likely it's that thing you're insecure about that everyone is going to go for, so you learn to laugh and not take anything too seriously.

Then I moved to California, and it seemed like NOBODY "got it". If I have to say "I'm just kidding" as a response to someone being offended, that same little part of me dies inside. I've had so many situations where I forget and loosen up and drop my filter for a second just to see that look of butthurt'ness. Drives me crazy. Uh...anyway, cool post :D

This story could have been a novel if I went into all the times I went for that friendly insult humor stuff and failed. I better keep trying though! Don't want to give up. One of these days they'll figure it out.

Thanks for the heads-up about Texas. If I ever go there and one of them says something heinous aboot my Canadian accent, I'll know to laugh.

Haha, glad to be of service, because I can predict with roughly 120% accuracy that someone would. Hell, I was about to, but then noticed you stole my aboot joke in your own comment and beat me to it. Unfortunately that's about all I have in my arsenal for Canadians...Hockey sucks. :D

I'm sorry but your humour (the inspector gadget + skunk bit) even caused unnecessary conflict in my life by sending me into a laughing fit at 3 in the morning, resulting in a noise complaint from my flatmates. Congratulations.

On the flip side, I've been through the same thing, and I have a habit of saying the most absurd things to strangers to see if they catch on, unfortunately most don't, and they think I'm stupid even though they didn't have the depth to detect a joke! I've found it's especially bad here on steemit, when I use the #funny tag and I get a politically correct response. All I wanted was a cookie.

Humour. I really need to start spelling that word properly again.

Steemit used to be far worse. I got a bit annoyed while feeling invisible when I started and since attention is important here I went all out and wrote one of the funniest joke blog posts around here. I titled it 'How to Fuck', then proceeded to teach people how to use the f-word. Someone had an f-word of their own and flagged that post into oblivion. I was called a low-life. I was told there wasn't a place for my work here... but I also made everyone else around laugh their asses off and that's when I got noticed by quite a few of the big voters and popular bloggers at the time. Good times.

As if "how to fuck nonameslefttouse" is now in my search history. I think the saddest part is that I didn't even find the post.

Your stories from school remind me of a time from my school life where the girl sat next to me in English wrote "AIDS" on a postit note and passed it around the classroom until it eventually found our violently feminist teacher. "who the fuck wrote this?" she asked. She eventually tracked it back to us, J just wouldn't own up thanks to her mother being a teacher in the school, but she was a teachers pet so the blame came down on me. Needless to say, I refused to take the blame and we kept the entire class in over lunch.
It was an awkward lunch, but I have nerves of steel.

They Didn't Teach Anyone How to be Funny in School

I didn’t know it was even possible. You just have to be born like that. Like you did with this “Inspector Gadget”. Fortunately, this joke came to you when you were 5 years old. Just like you said, today it wouldn’t be so hilarious 😆, or you never know people’s reaction. Just like you didn’t know before.
Very funny your other stories from your class with your humor. Teachers are usualy coming to class with very serious mind set and they just don’t get it when it comes to any kind of humor. You definately shouldn’t take it personally. Sometimes, I didn’t get your jokes either and you sometimes “did” let me know, but I never Got upset, or just a bit for that moment. Than when I cooled down, I just read it again until I got your joke. But it fortunately didn’t happen too many times.

It ruins the joke if I guide everyone. One of my best gags here is to write like I'm being serious and then turn it on it's head. If people are prepared then I can't catch them off guard. It's easy to say 'LOL' but to actually make someone LOL you have to be sneaky.

I usually respond to your posts with some sort of smart-ass comment, but this... is a masterpiece. Both insightful and funny, a little painfully true.

I laughed, I cried, I learned something about you. :) well done!

Those smart-ass comments I can handle. It's all in good fun. Today I put myself in a position where I'm at a loss for words though, so aside from this, all I can really say is thank you.

"Great post, nice information sir." I used humor as a shield for a long time. Kids used to actually come to me to ask if I could give them "insult lessons". One kid in particular, a new kid in my class in grade 4. He got picked on bad. Worse than me, he was new. And, he didn't insult you in front of the whole school at lunch if you picked on him like I did... I felt for him, I tried to help him and told him to make kids stop picking on you, you had to make the other kids laugh more than the bully picking on you made them feel big. I wonder if he became an asshole like me...

My Personal Theory


Wit is a shield, a compensation for the naturally sad. 'least that how it is for me and many others i have come to know. i dont want to talk about what eats me, give me snippets of headache or just plain right stabs me hard. no. i want to laugh it, up and out.

bottom line though: everyone can be funny. really. because we all have a pint of sadness no matter how small.

it is that sadness that often shapes the most imprinted memories/experiences of our lives which in turn shapes the "kind" of jokes we make.

PS: i so much agree with you on the pains of never-gotten joke.

"When they don't get it, a small piece of me dies inside." It's true. I can't keep these inner crazies of mine all bottled up. I need a place to put it. These days, that's here, and you get it.

I understand what you mean and appreciate your humor and your heart. Funny stories though. You started out very young. A prodigy! Thanks!

This is the funniest post of yours I have ever read. HILARIOUS. Like LAUGHING laughing. The skunk story!

LAUGHING laughing is pretty damn good! That is a COMPLIMENT compliment. I like it!

I've always enjoyed your writing. You sound like a goofy fun person. I wish I had friends like you. I love to laugh at silly things and sometimes silly people and I think it's sad that they don't encourage people to be funny. I think we can all use a laugh every now and then esp. in this stressful world that we live in. I relate to that last part about your friend who didn't find your reply funny. I remember one time saying something to my sister in jest and she totally took it the wrong way. It's good when these things happen, though, cuz then you know who you can mess around with and the ones to be serious and keep at arm's length.

Keep up the funny works and the interesting art, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58442.49
ETH 2554.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42