Fear vs. Progress. A Healthy Balance Or A Limiting Hindrance?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We all have experienced fear. It takes many forms and visits us with varied frequency and for different reasons.

Fear is integral in what keeps us alive. It's a primal urge intended to avoid injury, death or circumstances that may cause us pain or reduced prosperity in the future.

epic-horse-fail-pictures-26-wide-wallpaper.jpg
funnypicture.org

It's also something I'd love to be able to temporarily tone down, if not switch off. I've been thinking of fear over the last few days. I'm accustomed to it and use it to good effect in my career and personal decisions in life. When it comes to fear of physical injury however, it's a different beast to tame, fundamentally I think.

This has recently come about from the great success we've had with our horses on our recent beach camping trip we took with them. One of the horses we are slowly breaking in. She did well with a number of firsts recently including seeing waves on a beach for the first time and cruising through her first tick spray booth experience. She even did well saddled again with no rider on the camp grounds.

The next logical step then is to start mounting her under saddle. I've done most of the risky stuff with her to date including her first bareback mount which I posted a video of at the time. For some reason however I've hit a fear wall. My mind is fixated on the risk of injury and the chance that she'll react physically to the new invasion. I've had falls from horses before and even the most tame fall hurts.

I don't think it's the pain that I fear, it's the chance of breaking or damaging myself in an irreparable way. What if I'll never be able to bicycle or ride a motorbike again, what if I'm unable to make a living with my desk job any more? These palpable scenarios have been limiting my ability to take her training (and consequently my life achievements) to the next level.

Is there some reason for this heightened fear right now? I mean I've always had a healthy done of it. Is this a premonition? Just yesterday I got kitted up to attempt a saddled mount and it started to pour. I had to abandon the plan and I caught myself thinking that the weather (and fate) may have saved me from a life altering injury. I find these kinds of thoughts, especially when they occur frequently, a little odd.

How do you face fear? How do you find that balance between shying away from risk only to live a boring life and throwing caution to the wind only to learn life's lessons the hard way?

I'm of two minds still as to whether we will try something today. Stay tuned I guess and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

In life, it's not bad to be scared for fearing something shows you're intelligent enough to know the consequences of your actions if something wrong happens but letting that fear stop you from doing what can make you grow is more like stupidity.

That's what I figure, but I've found I've had to push the limits of comfort at times. Actually here's an update for you @tiffanyreg, we saddled Nayyerah up just before and she did very well. I didn't get to sitting in the saddle but on both sides I got a foot in a stirrup and was able to jump and place some weight on here. She didn't even move from where she was standing. What a good girl!

Fear is a healthy thing as long as it doesn't rule how we live. If it changes the way we want to live then it is unhealthy.

So hard sometimes to know where that balance point is however, right @cecicastor? Well there's a minor update to this post. We saddled Nayyerah up just before and she did very well. I didn't get to sitting in the saddle but on both sides I got a foot in a stirrup and was able to jump and place some weight on here. She didn't even move from where she was standing. What a good girl!

Next step we can improve on that. Trying that out today went a great way towards confronting my fear wall.

Kudos to you! You will get to ride her and soon too!

Looking forward to it. I'll be sure to post about it 😊 Thanks!

Sometimes when your gut feeling tells you something (yeh maybe I'll stay home today instead of driving to the shops for a thing I don't reaaaaaaaallllllyyyyyyy need right now, I'm all kitted up but I don't think I should get on this horse just yet...) it could be a premonition and maybe it's better to listen at that stage.

If it's happening pretty much every single time though maybe it's something you should examine and see if it's just an insane fear controlling your life for no real reason XD

Are you old enough that injury happens easier and recovery takes longer? That could heighten fear response sometimes into the illogical.

goatsig

A great thought provoker. No I'm not of an age that would make injuries more severe but that's a good insight into how such a feeling may arise.

I think it's been more common of late possibly because this step in training could result in her bolting with me attached... so arguably more dangerous than previous steps in her training.

Yesterday we made some progress however. She saddled up fine and I managed to get a foot in each stirrup and apply some weight to her. She's also getting much better at jumping motions next to her. So no saddle sitting yet but it feels close and my session yesterday aleviated some of the fear by confronting it.

Thank you @ryivhnn!

I forget if you've mentioned this before, is she the first horse you've trained? Or if she's not have other horses dumped/bolted with you before at this stage? As one will be fear of the unknown and the other will be once bitten twice shy XD

You seem to be getting a handle on it anyway, yay for progress :D

goatsig

We do have another horse but Yeah she is the first we've trained. I think there would be a bit of the unknown about it but we've been impressed with our progress so there's a degree of confidence that goes with that.

To keep this fresh, we did another saddled session with her this morning and I think she's getting more accustomed to it. Many would just go for broke at the first try but we attribute our success to giving her the time to adjust to new things and doing everything slowly.

Thanks for the ongoing support!

I remembered you had multiple horses but don't remember how many (I recall seeing two) and that you were training one. Nothing wrong with taking things slow and easy like you are, you'll probably have one of the most bombproof horses going around after :D

goatsig

That's what we're aiming for! :-)

you write it so nicely mate. cheers

Great to hear! Thanks @rifkan!

Dangerous
It seems like stunts are happening. but

That's where the fear is born from!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Great post there, keep up good work !

This replay was created using STEEMER.NET Alpha ( support STEEMER.NET Transactor / Wallet / Exchange Project here: https://steemit.com/investors-group/@cryptomonitor/steemer-net-steem-blockchain-transactor-for-windows-android-app-funding-update-243-1200-sbd-28-12-2017 )

greetings leaving my vote up here, I hope in my blog thank yougiphy.gif

Greetings mate. Cute pic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36