You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fear vs. Progress. A Healthy Balance Or A Limiting Hindrance?

in #life7 years ago

Sometimes when your gut feeling tells you something (yeh maybe I'll stay home today instead of driving to the shops for a thing I don't reaaaaaaaallllllyyyyyyy need right now, I'm all kitted up but I don't think I should get on this horse just yet...) it could be a premonition and maybe it's better to listen at that stage.

If it's happening pretty much every single time though maybe it's something you should examine and see if it's just an insane fear controlling your life for no real reason XD

Are you old enough that injury happens easier and recovery takes longer? That could heighten fear response sometimes into the illogical.

goatsig

Sort:  

A great thought provoker. No I'm not of an age that would make injuries more severe but that's a good insight into how such a feeling may arise.

I think it's been more common of late possibly because this step in training could result in her bolting with me attached... so arguably more dangerous than previous steps in her training.

Yesterday we made some progress however. She saddled up fine and I managed to get a foot in each stirrup and apply some weight to her. She's also getting much better at jumping motions next to her. So no saddle sitting yet but it feels close and my session yesterday aleviated some of the fear by confronting it.

Thank you @ryivhnn!

I forget if you've mentioned this before, is she the first horse you've trained? Or if she's not have other horses dumped/bolted with you before at this stage? As one will be fear of the unknown and the other will be once bitten twice shy XD

You seem to be getting a handle on it anyway, yay for progress :D

goatsig

We do have another horse but Yeah she is the first we've trained. I think there would be a bit of the unknown about it but we've been impressed with our progress so there's a degree of confidence that goes with that.

To keep this fresh, we did another saddled session with her this morning and I think she's getting more accustomed to it. Many would just go for broke at the first try but we attribute our success to giving her the time to adjust to new things and doing everything slowly.

Thanks for the ongoing support!

I remembered you had multiple horses but don't remember how many (I recall seeing two) and that you were training one. Nothing wrong with taking things slow and easy like you are, you'll probably have one of the most bombproof horses going around after :D

goatsig

That's what we're aiming for! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36