How much flight separation do you have from other US domestic airplanes ?At any given time

in #life7 years ago

Flying in the United States ? There are approximately 7,000 airplanes in the skys at any given time. Ever wonder how near or far you may be to other aircraft in flight ? Commercial aircraft in flight at altitude approach speeds of 500 miles per hour. An approaching aircraft from opposite direction combined speeds reach 1000 miles per hour. At a 1000 miles per hour combined air speed,what is the flight separation between your aircraft and the other approaching aircraft ? According to the flight regulations that I've seen 3 miles is permissible.More separation for altitudes over over 10,000 feet. I've had the opportunity to fly between Los Angeles and Washington DC many times over the last twenty years. Having worked with aircraft for over a decade,I find aircraft to be interesting and am very comfortable with air travel. I enjoy spotting other aircraft in flight cruising at altitude. Sometimes taking photos of the other aircraft.Really is amazing watching other aircraft miles above the earth,silently overtaking the cloud formations.Judging from the size of the large commerial airplane,I'd guess we usually miles apart. Very relaxing and enjoyable. Ive crossed the country many times. One particular flight about three hours outside of Washington DC at altitude, heading to west coast I briefly looked out the window and saw in a blur an aircraft go by in the opposite direction.I could make out the window shades that were particularly drawn.Couldn't make out any of the Passengers or seat shapes,as this pass happened in a half a second.I've worked around aircraft and routinely walked amongst them on the deck. Ive personal wittness high speed low altitude runs of Attack aircraft from close proximity. The commercial aircraft that went by my window that day,thou impossible to know actually separation was in my guesstimate was about a quarter mile away.I Know what I just wittness, stunned.I didn't get excited,as I've said wittnessing aircraft high passes at close proximity before.I was just kinda waiting for the second "peanut and soda" pass by.Instead I turn my head to look out the window and wittness something absolutely amazing. Minutes go by and I begin to realize that everyone else on the flight is completely oblivious to that Half Second in time. I crossed the US dozens of times since that day and still enjoy taking photos of aircraft miles away slowly making their way thru the beauty of the high altitude skys heading west chasing the sun. Three miles sounds good to me..I can live with that.

-1.jpg]()

Sort:  

Great article!

Congratulations @nated! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nated! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66041.52
ETH 3064.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69