Do we judge people by their Appearance?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This incident happened with me sometime back but i do wish to share since it gave me a big lesson for life.
There was a time when I used to judge people from their appearance, clothes and the way they look. I guess this is nothing new and very common. A lot of us do this? Isn't it......
But I am glad I learnt my lessons and I am not any more of that old me.

I had just started with a very important Leadership role within my organization and that kind of had given me too much of air.
I was returning back home to Mumbai from Trivandrum after completing a Training program. Typically the people of Trivandrum region are dark skin.
On this particular day I was upset over a certain issue and I was kind of brooding.
On the flight I had a middle aged local lady of Trivandrum sitting next to me. She was quite dark and her dressing was a Saree which was shabbily draped. Her hair was also messy.
Typically in those days not my type with who I would have conversation with.
She kept looking at me and smiling. I just turned my face and chose to ignore her. I did not want to make any conversations with her, and anyways my day was not going great.
After sometime she tried to have a conversation with me and with lot of attitude I gave her one word replies and continued being to myself.
Then suddenly I felt a warm hand over me I look around and it was her, holding my hand, before I could react she asked me what's the matter my dear, why do you look so disturbed. I just replied that everything is fine with me. Actually I wanted to tell her mind your own business. It was not that I could not talk to her, but my feeling was she does not match my standards, what will I talk to her about.

Then she started further more, Look my dear you can share with me whatever you feel like. Now this gesture gave me a little shake and I felt I was being rude to her, so I decided that whatever little time of the journey was left I will be nice to her. I kind of assumed from her apoearance that she would be a typical Indian housewife who would be spending much of her time in kitchen, and looking after the family. By that time I also noticed that she was humble to everyone around and the crew. Very politely she would speak with them and I sort of liked this nature of her. Then I asked her, what does she do. The answer that she gave me left me stunned. She said she was the Secretary to the Governor of Reserve Bank of India. That's a very very big position one would hold. I was speechless for a couple of seconds, till then like a stupid thing I was talking to her in a way like I was on a CEO position. We also spoke about some of our qualifications stuff and after listening to her qualifications I was feeling like tbe most stupid person on this planet.
By that time she realised that I had got into a discomfort zone. She again hold my hand and said its ok, don't worry, I was just trying to lighten your mood. I was completly mellowed down and stunned by her humbleness.
As soon as we landed she invited me for a cup of coffee in her office, which due to some reason I could not accept. She gave me the contact of her office and invited me to the Head office promising me to take around the place.

After I reached home and for the next couple of days this incident kept running on my mind, I realised I was so wrong to judge her by her apoearance and think the way I did. And this happens with lot of people.

The lesson I learnt was that It's not wrong to feel superior about yourself but in that feeling how you look up to people is what matters. Do not look down to people just because of their dressing, or their make up, or their skin color.

As it is said by Richelle E Goodrich
Eyes, so easily deceived, might judge more rightly with lids closed, allowing ears and heart to remain wide open"

20170831_175348.jpg

Sort:  

my teacher do tell us that you cant judge a book by its cover that's how humans are you can't judge them by their appearance.

Very true and that's where I was going wrong, but I am glad that I am not that person anymore

you are very beautiful and thanks for sharing your thoughts, yeah we have to be free from judging so that way we can live a free life. big hello from Costa Rica ! :)

because i heard that you are only free in life is you do not judge. Thanks again.

Yes most of the time we judge people by the way we ourselves are.

I try not to because it is unfair.
Looks can be extremely deceptive.
Sometimes, the first impression is right but more often it is not.
You have to know a person a little better before making any opinions about her or him.
In many situations I met somebody, I thought that person is fabulous, in the end, it turned it was a blatant liar.

Very true. Looks are deceptive

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @nainaztengra. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nainaztengra to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I never close the door to anyone. Being on the cautious side can often lead to missed opportunities and meeting good people. Always have an open heart, life is full of surprises.

So very true, u never know next moment what unfolds in front of you

Very well said Drakos. Keeping an open mind om all aspects of life is the way forward. Thanks for your valuable comments.

thanks for sharing, very good moral to this story!

Many thanks for appreciating the efforts. Regards, Nainaz.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
The article will be Resteemed by @dropahead Curator - Witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!

Many thanks. @dropAhead has been voted as witness.

i am upvoted and reply your post plz visit me
upvoted,reply,follow and resteem when you work in steemit thanks alot,
my id = https://steemit.com/@pranashroy

Thank you and done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97