Sort:  

Hello @menta,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

@menta is fantastic.

This is a great article! Thanks Robinhood for sharing! And thanks, @menta for taking accountability! And then writing about it!

Bravo Bravo!
This is one of my favorite posts I have seen not just from you but on the entirety of my time on Steemit!
Very powerful points in very direct and simple ways!
I couldn't have done a better job writing this message my self.
I am stoked RobinHoodWhales decided to choose you as not only does this post deserve it but you your self.
To Steeminity and Beyond!

Thanks man, appreciate it!

Wow Menta! Everything I read from you, I'm like, "yeah, me too!"

I was doing the same thing you were, around the same time, just in London instead of Belgium; and I've come to the same realisations as you around the same time, and have had the same friend(s), also missing the same points.

Nice post. :-)

Cg

Yeah I've noticed the same happening to me when I read your posts :)
I think it's obvious we'll have to have a drink and a smoke together in the future! Let me know if you're ever coming to Asia, and I'll let you know if I come to Europe!

This strikes a chord! I too have a friend who chose his way and is in a precarious position, as far as society is concerned. But in societies like ours, we get nothing from the government as benefits and do not have to follow too many rules. But you are right, everyone is responsible for their self and their life. The problems start when there is a disagreement as to how to live life itself!

The European system is a care-state, which absolves people of their responsibility. His story might have been different in a different society

I was in a similar situation many years ago, the pills the parties and the friends who were taking benefits from the government whilst railing against it. But like you I chose to earn my way out of that trap and it still doesnt mean I have to conform. I see my old friends and I think time hasnt moved on for them and there is less anarchy and more grim acceptance now

I think the only way to escape is using the system to your benefit for a limited time while having a clear goal and plan to get out.

It's a sensible plan, one which I hope for!!

@menta

It's funny how someone who didn't want to be slave to the system, used them system, fucked him over and then complained about it.

The sad thing is that your friend represents 50% of all "anarchists" that I know. It is sad that anarchist came to be identified as lazy, spoiled western child.

I wonder what your anarchist friend would do if there was no goverment

I think the answer voids the question. If there was no government he would have been responsible for his own survival. Ill be asking him this question next time I talk to him.

He would probably still complain that the world is unfair, life is futile yada yada yada

This is the problem with many people whether they are anarchist or otherwise identified. Goverment is not the problem. they are. they just find someone to unload their responsibility

Temet Nosce hits me hard every time I watch The Matrix!

Nice article, and I find it interesting primarily because it goes a little against what I write. It sounds like your 3 steps have a lot of subtle components that need to go well or be in place. My ethos is along the lines of, we can only take actions that are there as an opportunity to take, and the steps must be taken from moment to moment.

Checkout this bit on freewill I wrote, I'd be interested to hear your opinion.
https://steemit.com/life/@newandold/making-better-decisions-a-discussion-about-free-will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43