Thursday's With Uncle Boom

in #life7 years ago

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

You've goat a swagger that wid dry washin mate!
in Glasgow parlance an attempt to say that my confident strut was one of which, if wet clothing were hung to me, it would be dried by my confident sashay.

I looked at the blighter. Of course my stride bespoke a confident air. It was only fitting for a gentleman to convey his mastery of the environment around him.

Begone you drab faced felon.

I threw this aside at him as quickly as an Irishman throws himself at a pint of Guinness before leaving him in my wake to gnaw on the raddled bones of his self confidence like a mangy dog.

Later, as I sipped a gin with the fellows in the Gentleman's Club, I thought of the pale fingered fellow. Doubtless he wished to know what lay behind the swagger.

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803171452682.jpg

Perhaps he even wished he could emulate the ways of a gentleman, dare I say, such as myself.

It occured to me, given the approaches I have had in Steemit chat recently there may be other chaps or chapesses that wish for advice that could set them on the straight and narrow?

Well, in the interests of community it would be wrong for me to deny those fellows the advantage of an honorable man's knowledge.

Should I offer up myself? Perhaps I should devote an evening to those steemians in need. Yes, I think so.

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803172010500.jpg

So here is my offer. Proposition me, Uncle Boom, in chat with your requests for advice and knowledge. I shall edit them as I see fit until they are ready for human consumption and regurgitate the best ones here on my very own blog on a Thursday.

Why should we listen to you?

A very good question. Perhaps because if you were standing before me right here and now I would give you a damn good thrashing with my cane for your impertinence.

As this is a new initiative, I shall present a couple of past advisements I have given via the medium of chat.

Please note: names have been changed to protect the foolish.

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803172706243.jpg

Spam_Farmer1: hello how can I attract the whales

Uncle Boom: Ah the whales. Always the bloody whales. Well as it happens I have precisely the answer to your question.

Firstly, smear yourself in shrimp paste and avail yourself to the nearest sea where whales have been sighted. Throw yourself in. The shrimp paste should draw them to you like flies to a cow's arse.

Next.

Spam_Farmer2: How can I increase my followers?

Uncle Boom: Ah followers. Well you have approached me in Steemit chat so I could presume that you mean followers on steemit. But as my Great Aunt Ethel used to say 'Never presume, young Mr Boom. So in this case I will presume you mean in the grand scheme of this thing we call life.

One of the best techniques I have found for increasing my followers is to wear a coat fashioned from pigs vaginas. You will have quite the following in no time. They might not be human mind.

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803175417428.jpg

And with that I will wrap up this post. Remember. If you have a life problem which you feel may benefit from some gentlemanly wisdom, please. Drop me a line in steemit chat. I may use it. I may not. I guarantee anonymity if that's your concern. After all...

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803174641395.jpg

Sort:  

I am reminded of the anecdote from Winston Churchill regarding an exchange at a buffet lunch. Going back for a second helping of chicken, he said, "May I have some breast?" The hostess said, "In this country, we ask for white meat or dark meat," and served him. The next day, he sent an orchid to the lady with a note that read, "I would be obliged if you would pin this on your white meat."

(Note: as a relatively new Steemian, my reputation score is too lowly to show on your list, but I am among your upvoters.)

I welcome you new steemian! That is a very funny anecdote. He was one for the quips!

And there is no such thing as too lowly :O)

Such great advice, I am going to implement your excellent ideas and look forward to my impending whaledom ;-)

The north sea is a good spot!! Steem on Shrimp man!! ;O)

Well met, good Sir Boom,

Might I request your wisdom for the following matter pertaining to social etiquette on this wonderful platform?

There is this chap repeatedly requesting me for a certain "follow me for follow".

What would be the correct response?

Ah such a simple one!

A good length of stout wood with a bit of bend in it and administer the personage a dashed good leathering!

Failing the nearness to your vicinity perhaps some strong verbiage with the mention of one of those flag thingmies!

Flag thingmies 😲😲😲. Sir Boom, you are a beast!

I'll resort to travelling the globe to deliver a well-deserved leathering to bash some sense into the bastard.

Advice well appreciated and put into action.

Well a bit of globe trotting never hurt a soul! ;O)

Very kind of you to offer these services, I'll check my swagger with a load of wet clothes-- we'll see how long it takes to... oh, all dry, nevermind!

I like the artwork at the top there, trying to figure out how it was done.

Cheers!

I do most of my steemiting from my phone so do the artwork on that too.

I use a collection of android apps. One to remove my head then plop it onto a free pic from pixabay. Used a cartoon filter, expanded the canvas with another app so it was more landscape'y. Then stuck some text in with another then aged it with a grunge filter from another before putting a frame on it. No real artistry I am afraid but I do enjoy making them!

Ah the drying washing with the swagger. I have yet to see how anyone could come up with such an ingenious turn of phrase!

I bet it's that cartoon filter that got my attention, I could see the original photo under there loosely guiding the filter-- looks like fun to play with.
That dry washing thing would have to be explained to each new generation of swaggering youth to have made it this far into the culture, how it survived is curious indeed.

It is a lot of fun to play with. I tend to use that then filter it further and add additional lines close up. I am a bit obsessed with digital manipulation :0)

Tonight I am trying out my swagger ;0)

Ah laundry night! Enjoy.

No real artistry!? An alchemist of picturary then, perhaps?

Ah you are too kind!! I like that very much actually!

I have found for increasing my followers is to wear a coat fashioned from pigs vaginas.

I guess you'll never run out of pockets. :-)

Such wisdoms!! I detect another gentleman!! :OD

"Do you have a coat fashioned from pigs vaginas?"

"Yes."

"How much?"

"One million steem."

"Cheap! Gimme. Gotta become Steemit famous."

That is cheap!! Those coats take a lot to make!!! :0)

Thank you very much dear friend @meesterboom for all these tips, in my case I'm dead with getting the whales to follow me, in My province there is no sea, for more shrimp paste that I will not get the whales, I have to resign without Votes for whales.
Very creative dear friend, to say that you have balls filled with questions, I admire your way of insinuating things, congratulations
Have a great day.
Here in my province when we get tired and we send to m, we say I suck an egg

Hehehe, I am laughing at the sucking an egg

No sea. Definitely a tricky one, perhaps a lake? Freshwater whales, is there such a thing. Alas not but that doesnt mean we cant make it so!!

Oh my, this will be a smashing success! Of Hulk-like proportions, I may add!! You are a gift the keeps on giving, Uncle Boom. I am certain that all of these youngins will learn from the teachings you will impart. These advisements would be worth more than STEEM could ever hope to be worth. One can only imagine the gratitude that would pour out. It'll send the blockchain to maintenance mode once all the requests come in. The Steemit Inc team better upgrade the backend now, or else they'll face catastrophic consequences haha!

Oh yes the backend will needs upgrading to cope with the demand and no mistake!!

I already have 1. Just 1 reply in chat sob

However I am sure more will pish in as the week goes on. My advice just positively aches to be dispensed!!! :0D

I implore you to forgive them, for they can't help but feel intimidated by your presence. They seek to impress you with thought provoking questions, that's why they're taking their time.

Since I'm already here, allow me to ask a question that waits to be answered a week from now:

How do I get rid of my writer's block? I tried selling it but nobody wanted to buy.

That's is a tough question indeed!!

I forgive them all, they know not what they do :0)

For some reason I now have that ridiculous song, not even sure of the name just the line Moves like Jagger, in my head haha!!

This is hilarious, I now find myself hoping more people hit you up with ridiculous requests. Did you ever get the one asking for steem because they don't have any? I did. hee.

No!!!! That would have been awesome!! Can I have some steem cos I dont have any. Fantastic!

I had a cracker where the person was quite aggresive asking why I earned so much and why didnt they because there posts were Just as good if not better I had a look at there posts and came back and said

Sorry mate, your posts are shit and stop regurgitating news artivles from the web and you might get somewhere, now beat it

Now I have that song stuck in my head. Basturt

giphy.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41