Preposterous!

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHO527-picsay.jpg

All great things come to an end. Today the good lady had the whip out. Not the top sauce kind that involves her dressing like a rabbit but instead the chores whip.

It didn't start that way, however, oh no.

In the morning I got up and had breakfast with the family. Like any bloke does I hid the pain and the suffering from the previous night's birthday celebrations so as to maintain maximum mannity. Whilst I crunched on some exceedingly dry toast which went well with my dried up insides, the good lady became all chatty.

15sp_20180204152153817_20180205205054540_20180209213248786_20180211174812375_20180212154539588.jpg

You don't seem very hungover?

She enquired.

Oh, nah, I'm not. You know me ladychick. The beer machine.

I lied, whilst my dessicated insides groaned and creaked.

Did you have a lot to drink?

Not really, just a few beers.

I lied again, whilst in my head, the tsunami of last nights beer retreated leaving just empty bottles and shot glasses glittering on the shores of my memory.

Did you get in late?

She enquired with a kind face.

No, I don't think it was too late. It was all fairly civilised.

Civilised eh?

She remarked with what could almost be described as a smirk.

Yes, civilised.

She was being a little obtuse I felt. Although I did have a nagging feeling of something being slightly amiss. I dismissed it with a mental flourish.

How was your kebab?

She threw at me from left field.

15sp_20180204152153817_20180205205054540_20180209213248786_20180211174812375_20180212154859933.jpg

Uumm, it was fine. Yes, it was fine.

I lied with a mild desperation. What kebab? I don't remember a kebab. Dang. I must have been a little more stocious than I remembered. Hmmm, perhaps that was the problem. My memories toward the end of the night were indeed a little hazy.

And the snow, that snow was wild eh?

Wild snow? What was she talking about? I could see out the window, there was no snow? Although now that she mentioned it, something about snow tickled my memory.

At least by going straight to bed you will have gotten lots of quality sleep!

She exclaimed as if her best cow had just won a prize.

Erm, yeeeees. I suppose so.

I suspected I might be in trouble. I couldn't really remember getting home. Always a tricky situation.

15sp_20180204152153817_20180205205054540_20180209213248786_20180211174812375_20180212161744897.jpg

She stood up and swept her arm towards the sofa behind us.

So you didn't come rolling in the door at three AM shouting about the Damn Snow with a kebab in your hand. Nor did you spill said kebab all over the floor to the sofa. Nor would you have then sprinkled little bits of kebab meat around you whilst attempting, I presume, to put bits of it in your mouth?

I made a face and squirmed in my chair as if lifting a bum cheek to let a cheeky out.

And of course you didn't fall asleep on said sofa and I didn't have to get up at 4AM to come down and rouse you up and into your bed? Which was comedy in itself.

I decided there was only one way out.

Of course not milady, how preposterous to even suggest such a chain of events!

She smiled.

Well I am glad you enjoyed it.

Then the chores came but I didn't mind. A hazy memory and a kebab is always worth it.

Sort:  

I know comments are supposed to be more than just complimentary. All the newbie tutorials advise to strive to add valuable content to the post or whatnot, but I just have to tell you that I can't. I have nothing to share but my gratitude because in the short time I've followed you, I've learned this. When I'm having one of those days where the 4 kids are somehow all timing their tantrums and hormonal issues to land on the same day and I want to pull my hair out and run away, I can count on you @meesterboom for a chuckle, sometimes even a guffaw! Thank you and please continue your good work sir! Cheers and happy belated birthday!

Aw, that's lovely. Thank you for such a lovely comment. I do my best to entertain :0) is funny how kids just seem to all go into meltdown at the one time. I struggle with two let alone four!

Hey, this is one of the best comments I've seen in a while. In more than a little while. :)

Loading...

Top comment! I approve. I too enjoy reading the shenanigans of Mr. Boom. It makes my day just a little brighter.

I always enjoy reading your episodes when I catch them. Now I did because my notifications showed me your name. Sad to see you “leave” me. 🧡 it was my pleasure Dear @meesterboom

Hello lass!! Forgive my hungover head. I have been too free with the unfollow button today. In fact I think I was getting drunk on it. I fixed it though. I shall never leave you again! :0)

Hahaha got yaaaa!
I don’t dare to leave you but I just did and will also correct it as a human reaction🤖
One thing, I am a little annoyed with is that I follow too many that I can’t see my Favourites anymore.
I should get drunk as well and just push those buttons 😉

Hehe, you did get me. I was like oh my god how positively rude of me!!

Drinking is definitely good for helping with the button mashing lol :0D

No worries! I’m happy that at least I caught a little chat with you again. It used to be so much more cozy in the old days 😺

Me too, you know you are right there. I was talking to another old timer and we were saying exactly the same thing. So many people on now. Progress brings its own challenges!

True true! I have to admit that I lost a little bit of my passion and My articles are kind of lame but I guess that’s called burn out. I hope that I will find my Mojo again. Anyways sending you a big hug 🤗

Big hugs to you chica. Mojo comes and goes but it never leaves completely so fear not :0)

Haha. It's been years since the Mrs. has had the opportunity to mess with my hungover persona. Now, I find other ways to wind up working on that chores list. Truth be told, I don't really mind either. Gives me a way to stay out of trouble. :)

It's all about that staying out of trouble. I don't generally get to show off the hungover persona too much myself now. It's good to give it an airing though :0)

@inalittlewhile i don't know of any other person but i have to read you like four times, my laughter increasing each time. Funny to me, your comment

Well I can write in (close to) perfect AP English. But I think people would rather read me as I speak. :)

I'm following you @pulchritude. Now we got to get you to post something. :)

So you didn't come rolling in the door at three AM shouting about the Damn Snow with a kebab in your hand. Nor did you spill said kebab all over the floor to the sofa. Nor would you have then sprinkled little bits of kebab meat around you whilst attempting, I presume, to put bits of it in your mouth?

What is your good lady going on about? Of course that's the only way real men end their birthdays! Do the chores, but for Gob's sakes man, hold your head up high. You performed like a real gentleman! I mean, who complain about the snow if not for a man, right!? Kebabs are the best food after drinking, so that's a given. Of course you would eat it, in your sofa no less because you didn't want to wake her up out of concern for her well being and sanity. I fear that the Red Tent has grasped your good lady's mind even further than we anticipated!

She had certainly taken a peculiar turn! I mean I can understand if I rolled in at 4AM snarling of another women's scent. But no, I was the perfect gentleman!!!

Ugh! That's right! Perhaps a different red is influencing the missus?

Oho!! Bada boom tsh!! I see you, I see you!! Hehe

Hohoho! That means I haven't done a good job hiding :S

One could be forgiven for thinking that the good lady wife was "having a go". I believe good kebab handling skills are instinctive; like breathing is or our fight / flight reaction. It's no more possible that you messed up the couch with a kebab than it is you forgetting how to poo. Beware of such trick questions @meesterboom and never doubt your own (kebab) mastery!

I think there was definitely am element of trickery and attempting to put me on the back foot. Oh yes, I am sure of it. Fortunately today I seem to have ingested some kind of laid back pill and am doing with the punches like Ann old pro!

Hehe, those skills are instinctive. I hope I don't forget them ever!

It would be horrible to forget how to breathe and poo wouldn't it? I'm sure there's a joke in there somewhere 🤔

I was thinking that myself!

the tsunami of last nights beer retreated leaving just empty bottles and shot glasses glittering on the shores of my memory.

This was such a brilliant mental image! And one that I probably would have sketchified if I wasn't supposed to be going to bed XD

Of course not milady, how preposterous to even suggest such a chain of events!

And her response to this is one of many reasons why you two are together isn't it XD I'm kind of impressed that all she did was smile, I think I would have burst out into a fit of uncontrollable laughter (okay so that's pretty much exactly what happened but as I said silently because everyone else in the house is asleep and I should be too, now my ribs hurt and I am reminded why I usually do these things in the morning XD)

Glad you had a good night out :D

goatsig

When I wrote that it struck me too. The frustrated poet in me lol.

She is a cracker. I can be a fruit the loop as they say here. She does very well coping with my eccentricities!!

Naughty you staying up late and looking at things!! ;0)

Haha it sounds like you have one amazing wife!

Oooh, I know this feeling all too well. Not so much since the kids arrived on the scene, but back in the FLAFF days this was a regular occurrence 😂😂
Thanks for the entertaining yarn @meesterboom

Ha, FLAFF, had to think about that one. Yeah it's rare for me too since the kids. Makes it more special even the aftermath!

I hope you enrolled the kids in the post hurricane clean-up effort

I was full of a mad energy, there was no need!

😂yep, I get thst

The good lady knows better with all your habits you practiced at home. She is just sneering at you hoping that you remembered what you did last night.

Yummy kebab man. I love kebabs with their juicy meat. Upvoted!

Lol, yeah, a bit of harmless Mickey taking I think :0)

hehehehe so you say the celebration of your birthday was wild ;)

Wild like horses!!! :0D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29